We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't worry, it's fine!”
Review of Sulur Gistiheimili

Sulur Gistiheimili
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sulur Gistiheimili
Ranked #22 of 30 Akureyri B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 June 2010

This guesthouse was booked for my party of 8 by an Icelandic colleague. Having read the reviews I was alarmed but it turned out to be perfectly acceptable. We did have to check in at the hotel down the road and there is no one on duty at the guesthouse to consult with. Having said that the rooms that we were in - single, doubles and treble were comparatively spacious and clean. Some had en suite shower roooms others didn't but the shared ones were cleaned daily and very near. During our stay only one other party shared the shower room for one night.
The guest house has a perfectly clean and adequate kitchen with dining area and there is a 24 hour minimarket nearby. Breakfasts are not available but this did not prove to be an issue. The rooms are very central and there was some noise at the weekend - but far less than expected. My room had a lovely view up the fjord, a small balcony and very comfortable beds.
We were on a budget and found the accomodation to be very good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrancesMalvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2009

Noisy guesthouse, right off a main highway. Small dingy rooms. Owner was a total jerk who demanded my passport number, and then threatened to deny me accommodation if I refused. He said it was 'illegal' for a Canadian to not provide a passport number. Condescending and rude, creating an uncomfortable atmosphere for my entire stay. My advice: find another place to stay, or skip Akureyri altogether!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaboodleKaboodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2008

It was quiet and the bed was comfortable, which was positive, but beyond that...

Tiny room, felt way too budget. No real reception (you had to call to get in and they came with the key--at least when we arrived). Breakfast was included but not at the building...you had to go to another hotel! Was ok for us though, since we had a car.

Location was great though, right in the center.

Stayed: May 2006
Thank Daniel5153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2007

During my vacation in Iceland I booked a single room for one night at the guesthouse “Sulur Gistiheimili” in Akureyri in the afternoon of 06/14/07.
I had driven about five hours from the south of Iceland to Akureyri, a town in the north. I was then very tired and therefore booked the abovementioned room to spend the night there.
At about 11pm that night other guests arrived, obviously youngsters on a drinking spree. They occupied the room below mine and kept making loud noises (beer bottles, and the loud laughs the way drunks utter them). I was unable to sleep in this guesthouse. When I accidentally discovered that some other youngsters outside were urinating against my rental car that was parked on the guesthouse’s premises, I went to the owner and complained with him about the noise and the vandalism.
The owner refused to do anything about the problems whereupon I told him that I wished to leave because of these disturbances. I also told him to undo the credit card charge because I would not be willing to pay so much money (US$82) for a sleepless night and a defiled car. The owner just finally remarked: “Don’t you have parties in the country where you are from?” That was all he would do for me. I told him that I would now leave and that he should not charge me the money for this abominable stay. The owner muttered something unintelligible and left. He was highly uncooperative and was obviously not interested in reproaching his noisy guests. I then left the guesthouse at about 2am in the morning of June 15 and was lucky to find another guesthouse in Reykjavik where I could stay (after having driven back to Reykjavik for nearly five hours)
After my trip, I contacted the guesthouse via email in a nice way on many occasions and even from different email accounts to recover my money. They NEVER EVER responded. While I loved other parts of my stay in Iceland, the night at Sulur Gistiheimili was really, really awful. I can only recommend everybody to avoid this place.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zampano888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Letileti2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank asjemenou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F_for_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akureyri hotels
0.2 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Akureyri
0.4 mi away
Akureyri Backpackers
Akureyri Backpackers
#1 of 27 in Akureyri
339 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kea by Keahotels
Hotel Kea by Keahotels
#2 of 8 in Akureyri
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Skjaldarvik Guest House & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ibudir
Hotel Ibudir
#6 of 8 in Akureyri
37 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Kjarnalundur
Hotel Kjarnalundur
#7 of 8 in Akureyri
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sulur Gistiheimili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sulur Gistiheimili

Address: Thorunnarstraeti 93, Akureyri 600, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Northeast Region > Akureyri
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Akureyri
Price Range: £122 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sulur Gistiheimili 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sulur Gistiheimili reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing