We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - Lovely Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Viking Village Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hafnarfjordur
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Really nice hotel, beds are REALLY comfortable, great breakfast and really nice staff. They were all very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again. Only problem - and its not the hotels fault - but the smell of sulphur from the water is horrible but such is life in this part of Iceland

Room Tip: We had room 15 which was lovely with 2 walls all windows but is close to the laundry room - didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orliemouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

I stayed one night here recently while on a deliberate miss-connect between flights. Cheap, cheerful if you like all things Vikings, it is kitsch personified. Please note that this hotel is NOT IN REYKJAVIK. This hotel is located in Hafnarfjordur, which is a suburb of Reykjavik. This property is not close to downtown Reykjavik but the downtown can be reached by 30 min bus or taxi.

That being said, it's fun for a night or two, but don't arrive with high expectations. A lot of old wood, old carvings, Vikings history and varied collections that relate to the Vikings era. My room was very small, the bed less than comfortable, the washroom Scandinavian adequate (shower with the washroom door closed so as not to set off the smoke alarm - a common occurrence due to the geothermal heating in the country). The television in the room was tiny and ancient, the lighting rather poor overall, and besides the bed only one chair with a desk. Two hangers and several posts were available for clothes hanging. Thankfully the windows were operational and able to open to allow fresh air into the room.

There's a hot tub on site, and a sauna for guest use. Breakfast was the usual Scandinavian fare, with salmon a plus. The breads were fantastic, with lovely jams and jellies. Coffee, tea, juices.

There was free wifi on the property and a computer in the lobby area for guest use. There were many maps, books, and brochures, along with glass cases displaying several handmade articles of jewelry, carvings, and other interesting items for sale, made by local craftsfolk. The front desk staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Outside the property are also several wood carvings, rune stones, picnic tables and benches, and other interesting Viking kitsch and collections. It appeared the property had ample parking if you arrive with your own vehicle. This property IS on Gray Line's list of properties where they will pick you up and drop you off for tours. Other tour organizations provide the same service at this property. From speaking with the front desk staff, restaurants nearby are limited, with less than a handful, and most not open on Sundays. The property faces the water, where there's a nice walking trail. The Vikings have their own restaurant, mere steps from the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdventureLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I just came back from my vacation in Iceland where I stayed 2 nights at the Viking Village Hotel. The staff is very nice and treated me well. They´re a very helpful as well. The room is a bit small and the bed was okay. I thought it could be better. The breakfast was good. It had the basics (milk, orange juice, bread, cream cheese). The good part was that included salmon. There is a nice restaurant just across the hotel, which was good.
If you don´t have a car, the biggest disadvantage is the location. It´s about 30 minutes by bus. During the weekdays, it´s not a problem, but the first bus that stops near the hotel is at 12pm. I almost had to pay a cab to go downtown on Sunday morning. I had schedule a bike tour downtown and thought the buses are running every hour or so.

The bottom line is that if you don´t mind be away from the downtown area and don´t want to spend to much money, I recommended this hotel. If this is your first time visiting Iceland and want to explore the city, I´d go somewhere else.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Alexandre2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Room was small and not practical. No lamp for reading, no phone for wake up call; foam mattress on top of regular smaller mattress, not a great experience. Felt as if I was in a room in a monastery. Staff was polite but did not make an effort to make my stay pleasant. Paid less for a hotel in great location in Reykjavik.

Room Tip: Ask for a silent room and check the room prior; do not trust hotel website photos. Depending on your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Think of Norway @ EPCOT. Now move that to Iceland, make it a bit grittier, and know that the roots and heritage are REAL. Viking capitalizes on this. Even more so, when the "buses" come loaded for Viking dinners. We were one week ahead of Hafnarfjordur's annual Viking Fest (mid to end of June) and the hotel is Celebration Central. There are multiple buildings and even a little hot-tub/spa outside in a secluded area.

The place is sprawling (in a good way) with multiple dining rooms. The breakfast room also has the choice of eating in a cave! I have included a photo. The newest rooms are a series of beautiful, Nordic wood cabins/cottages (about 1 ft apart from each other) with little lofts, large flat panel tvs, and interesting architecture.

The older section has Nordic and regular rooms. We chose a corner Nordic...actually next to the road, but still quiet.

Harnarfjordur is an interesting village as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff, not only regarding hotel issues. good breakfast, if you can do without bacon and egg. If you have a car, this hotel will cost much less than in the center.

Room are a bit small, even in Icelandic standards. A bit "out of town", could be a problem if you don't have a car.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shesh-Pac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Hotel Viking is a very nice place, well decorated (based on viking theme), comfortable, clean, the staff is very friendly, specially one of the guys that assist on reception (I do not remember her name).

My husband and I just visited this week the hotel (July 2013), we are from Mexico, and decided to spend a mini getaway in Iceland

I believe this hotel is an excellent alternative if you want to visit Iceland but do not have a huge budget for the expensive hotels at Reykiavik. We made our reservation thru Hotels.com website for a standard room, and when we arrived there, first of all, they let us to make early check-in at 11.00 a.m. and they upgraded our room to a wood cabin without paying an extra!

It is very convenient referred to location too: Is located directly in front of the Reykjaness Bay, the first stop at the FLYBUS (coming from airport), so that you do not need to walk a lot for arriving to your hotel with luggage. If you want to buy some stuffs for eating or convenience goods, there is a small mall that has a mini market calle "1011" opened 24/7 around 200 mts from Hotel. Right in front of this mall, you can find the bus that will take you to Reykiavik Center, one way ticket costs around 400 ISK ($40 MXN or 3.50 USD) and takes about 10-15 mins to get to Reykiavik downtown area.

NOT SO GOOD: Internet access has a bad reception in the cabins, Breakfast is the same every day (they do not change not a litle!) and due to summer hours, and that wood cabins are mostly for families is very common that teenagers make some noise between 11.00 pm to 2,00 am!.

If you want a comfy, not luxury or pricey, very well-located and a nice quiet hotel this is the option.

Have a nice staying in Iceland.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viviancita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hafnarfjordur
1.1 mi away
Nordurey Hotel Reykjavik Road
Nordurey Hotel Reykjavik Road
#1 of 4 in Hafnarfjordur
523 reviews
23.7 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
679 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Laxnes
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 55 in Reykjavik
3,928 reviews
5 mi away
Kriunes Hotel
Kriunes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kopavogur
315 reviews
18.6 mi away
Hotel Berg
Hotel Berg
#1 of 9 in Keflavik
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Village Hotel

Address: Strandgata 55, Hafnarfjordur 220, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Hafnarfjordur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hafnarfjordur
Price Range: £99 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Viking Village Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Viking has 56 well furnished and cozy rooms including shower, WC and television. The décor of the rooms on the first floor is Viking style and on the second floor it is a West Nordic theme. When you enter the Hotel, you are greeted with fine art and crafts from these three countries, Iceland, Greenland and the Faroe Islands. We have access to wireless Internet and free parking just outside the hotel. In our geothermal hot tub and sauna you can recuperate and freshen up and relax after a long day of excitement.Our guests are welcomed to our Fjörukráin,the Viking Restaurant, which is open for dinner from 18.00 every day.The style is Viking whereby during these famous feasts there is never a dull moment and the guests can expect various treats and surprises offered by our singing Valkyries and Vikings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Viking Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Village Hotel Iceland/Hafnarfjordur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing