We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Viking Village Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Vellir(Hafnarfjordur)(Great Value!)
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nordurey Hotel Reykjavik Road(Hafnarfjordur)(Great Value!)
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Smari(Kopavogur)(Great Value!)
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kriunes Hotel(Kopavogur)(Great Value!)
US$393
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$329
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$287
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fosshotel Raudara(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arctic Hotel(Reykjavik)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (395)
Filter reviews
395 results
Traveller rating
138
119
81
35
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
119
81
35
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsviking villagehot tubthemed hotelthe cottagesnorthern lightswooden furniturerestaurant foodbreadrestaurant next doorthe busfood was lovelyporridgebreakfast roomrotten eggsa lovely stayblue lagoonlast night
Filter
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 395 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I led a school group here during half-term and as well as a few hotel guests, there were and additional two school groups there as well. Something to be aware of if you are travelling independently. We had a room in the hotel which, as others have commented, the traffic noise could be heard at all times making sleeping difficult. Our group had 5 of the chalets which were OK. All well heated, but the upstairs - accessed by what can only be described as a steep wooden ladder, was floored with only dry wall. No floor covering. The first room we were allocated had a double bed which was unsuitable so we were moved to another room by a very helpful receptionist. This room had NOT been cleaned so another trip to reception was required. After a long day travelling and a trip to the Blue Lagoon before check in, this was a disappointing start to our stay here. The nearest supermarket was a left turn from the hotel and at the first roundabout. Take a left a this roundabout a go to the end of the block and across the road is a lovely outdoor pool. We enjoyed a trip there. Our breakfast was cereal, toast, cheese, spam and tomatoes - the same each day. We enjoyed our dinner each evening but the dining halls were full of noisy school children. It was a nice location and we had an OK stay there. We found the staff helpful at all times.

Room Tip: Ask for a chalet rather than indoors in the hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tappy Feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I had such high hopes for this place and they were crushed! The hotel was expensive (compared to what we paid for other places throughout Iceland) and it lacked any sort of quality. The spare bed didn't even have a pillow on it.

The restaurant was way over priced and the food was not good. I had the fish and chips ($33 CAD) and the fish was rubbery and the batter soggy. The "chips" were skinny, pre frozen fries I'm sure as the ones at McDonalds taste better.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carly0285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Viking in the second week of October. We were only in Iceland for 3 nights and had lots of activities planned, so the time that we spent in the hotel was really minimal. For this purpose the hotel was great. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a great shower/bath. Some of the furniture was a little tatty, but nothing to spoil your stay. We enjoyed the selection at breakfast – smoked fish, meats, cheese, breads, yoghurts, etc, and made sure that we filled up ready for the day ahead! It was really quick and simple to get in to Reykjavik on the bus – just turn right as you leave the hotel and walk down to the bus stop across from the shopping mall. Take the S1 bus for 350Kr and it takes you straight in to town. Hafnarfjordur is worth looking around – there are some good shops to browse and you can stock up on any supplies/snacks that you might need for your room.

We used the hot tub and sauna on our last night and thought it was great. The water in the hot tub is roasting and just what you need after being out in the cold all day! The sauna is built in to the natural rock of the hotel landscape – pretty cool. The staff at the hotel were all very pleasant and helpful. My only criticism is that it was sometimes hard to find a member of staff – I think this is because we went at a very quiet time and there were very few guests in the hotel.

I would certainly recommend the Viking if you are looking for a base to explore the amazing sights of Iceland – the money that you save being outside of Reykjavik can go towards some of the yummy foods to try!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FuriousdScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Just returned from a long weekend break to this Hotel - please do not read the negative reviews!
Having stayed in Iceland previously I found the Hotels in the centre of Reykjavik to be a little lacking in character - this place is certainly not.
The whole place is based on what its called - Viking Hotel. The staff are dressed accordingly and yes, its a little dark inside but it all adds to the ambience.
The staff are extremely helpful and we expected prices to be high in the restaurant but the portion sizes more than make up for that and the food is excellent.
The centre of Reykjavik is only half an hour away by public transport which is very reasonably priced. On boarding the buses ( only approx. 3 minutes away from the front of the Hotel ) the drivers are more than happy to issue exchange tickets, valid for 2 hours in case you choose to break your journey and get back on another bus.
We booked a superior room which was perfectly clean and well furnished albeit the bathroom was a little small.
Tea & coffee making facilities are provided in the room , when supplies run out - just ask at reception for me & its immediately taken care of free of charge - what more could you ask!
A great place to stay for those with a sense of humour!!
Already looking forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This hotel was great if you don't mind not being in the middle of Reykjavik. We were about a 10-15 minute ride from Reykjavik, but since our Grayline Tour picked us up right outside of the hotel, it was fine. All of Iceland is pretty pricey - 25% sales tax! We pre-paid for this hotel through Booking.com. A nice, varied breakfast was provided in the cost, so we didn't have to look for a restaurant. The rooms were clean; there is an elevator if you don't want to take the stairs. The hotel is rustic looking with lots of whale/fish/Icelandic decorations throughout. The water was HOT coming out of the shower and it smelled a bit like sulphur because it's from a geyser, but everything was good if you don't mind being away from the bustle of the city. Another tip - our taxi ride from the airport was around $100 US, so it's really pricey even though it's around a half hour's drive - there is a shuttle run through a website - it had the word FLY in it that was much cheaper and if you stay here at the Viking, it picks you up in front of the hotel - across the street. If you can make arrangements for the airport shuttle for both pickup from the airport and take to the airport, it's well worth the effort.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Constance F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews