We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute but small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Viking Village Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hafnarfjordur
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed on a recent school visit, rooms were cute but small with extra beds in them. Restaurant was fun with singers during our meal, good hearty food with good options for special diets. Helpful, friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missjohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birna V, Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

Dear miss Johns

Thank you so much for your review always nice to get good review :)

Hope to see you again someday, have a good day :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

avoid this hotel at all costs, the price was very expensive and the room was tiny unbearable heat with one double bed and the only way you could describe the second bed was it was only suitable for a small child, at a cost of €140 for the night I would not recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank nmaKk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birna V, Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

Dear guest

I am sorry to hear that, like I respond to complains on the internet... you should have let us known right away and we could have move you to a bigger rooms, we have many types of rooms....

Hope you come again and then ask to get a big room :)

Have a nice day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

we stayed at the viking hotel accomodated in one of the cottages, it was really nice for our first night in iceland and the kids were excited. Very clean, good services, comfy and good wifi.
Good breakfast. A bit costy.

Room Tip: We didn't get to see the rooms, but cottages are very nice. Each one is different in decoration...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank francesca2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birna V, Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

Dear Francesca

Thank you so much for your nice review, we are so glad to hear that your family was happy here in our Viking Village :))

Hope to see you again someday :)

Have a nice day :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very special. We've just stayed at one of the cottages during the viking festival and it really feels like being in the old viking times. Worth visiting for a different experience. Easy to go from Reykjavic, bus number 1 leaves you next door. Memorable!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank vanessamjr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birna V, Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

Dear Vanessa

Thank you so much for your review :))

I am so happy to hear that you liked your stay with us and hope to have you again sometime as our guest :))

Have a nice day :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

From the review, this hotel seems a very interesting hotel. However, it is much more disappointing than I can expect. The description of the room is 'Spacious room that features a seating area, tea/coffee facilities and harbour views'. However, it is so small that after having 2 small beds and a small table, there is almost no room remained (by the way, I was requesting a double room but got none left). Instead of having harbour view, the one I got is ground floor facing the car park, so basically I can't even open the curtain without sacrificing any privacy. Toilet is very small even to asian's standard.
Even they claimed to have sauna and hot tub and the picture seems nice, I can't find sauna room and only saw a small pool of hot water outdoor. There can't be more than 3 people sitting in the pool without touching each others closely. Though the pool is outdoor, it is just a corner within the building and except the sky there is nothing you can see.
The breakfast is simple but still acceptable. Having tried the 'viking' dinner there because of the bad experience with the room, so not sure how good that can be.

Room Tip: At least need to ask for a room not in ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sam1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birna V, Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

Dear Sam

Sorry to hear about that you were not happy....

Did you ask if you could get another room? We always try our best to make our guests happy....

The hot tub is not big but can fit 10 people good... and most of the time there are not many people at the same time.. and you should ask in the reception for the sauna... and then we turn it on for you and it takes an hour to heat up. Many people are using the sauna and then the hot tub and like it much just to look at the sky outside.

Again I am sorry that you did not tell us at the spot so we could have fix your problem.

Have a nice day :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed in one of the cottages for one night on our arrival in Iceland. It was clean and the room was fine for our family. It was quite quirky but as expected for a themed hotel. Breakfast was fine - bread, ham, cheese, yogurt, fish etc. We also ate in the restaurant while we were there, which was pleasant , even if a little pricey. We had an enjoyable stay.

Stayed: April 2014
4  Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birna V, Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Kathryn

Thank you for your review, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Viking Village and hope to see you again someday :)

Best regards.
Birna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The room here was great value - we paid about £50 per night for a whole chalet. Our first night was disturbed for an hour by a random disco in the building opposite but it was only 10-10.30pm maybe so we didn't really mind.

The breakfast was good - great variety & the room was beautiful. All brand new, gorgeous natural wood, amazing shower & just a generally nice place to be.

Drinks in the bar were really expensive but so was everywhere else in Iceland so you just have to be aware!

We had a car so preferred staying out here to being in central Reykjavik but i guess if you didn't it might not be the best location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mazz1088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birna V, Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your review :) I´m happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us :)

Hope to see you again one day :)


For other guests I just want to say that we are are located in the Reykjavík area and if you have a car it takes you only 10 mintues to drive to Teykjavík city center and it is also very easy to take the bus that goes every 20 minutes. You take only one bus and the bus station is only 2 mintues walk from the hotel and the bus takes you all the way down town Reykjavík :)

Best regards,
Birna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hafnarfjordur
10.5 mi away
Hotel Laxnes
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,090 reviews
23.7 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
662 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nordurey Hotel Reykjavik Road
Nordurey Hotel Reykjavik Road
#1 of 4 in Hafnarfjordur
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,836 reviews
5 mi away
Kriunes Hotel
Kriunes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kopavogur
305 reviews
19.2 mi away
Northern Light Inn
Northern Light Inn
#2 of 3 in Grindavik
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Village Hotel

Address: Strandgata 55, Hafnarfjordur 220, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Hafnarfjordur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hafnarfjordur
Price Range: £90 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Viking Village Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Viking has 56 well furnished and cozy rooms including shower, WC and television. The décor of the rooms on the first floor is Viking style and on the second floor it is a West Nordic theme. When you enter the Hotel, you are greeted with fine art and crafts from these three countries, Iceland, Greenland and the Faroe Islands. We have access to wireless Internet and free parking just outside the hotel. In our geothermal hot tub and sauna you can recuperate and freshen up and relax after a long day of excitement.Our guests are welcomed to our Fjörukráin,the Viking Restaurant, which is open for dinner from 18.00 every day.The style is Viking whereby during these famous feasts there is never a dull moment and the guests can expect various treats and surprises offered by our singing Valkyries and Vikings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viking Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Village Hotel Iceland/Hafnarfjordur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing