We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Edda's Farmhouse in Town
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay.”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Edda is one of the friendliest, most helpful people you could meet. Wife and I honeymooned in Iceland and stayed here the whole time. Easy to get to from the airport (take the Flybus from Keflavik to Viking Hotel, she picked us up from there but it's only a half mile walk) and a great location away from noise and distractions. It's an easy walk to the bus station to take public transit to Reykjavik and is close to a few small restaurants, coffee shops, swimming pools, and stores in Hafnarfjordur. Edda provides a nice breakfast in the morning with freshly baked bread, jams/jellies, and fresh eggs if her chickens like you. It's a great option for animal lovers too with Edda's cats and dog who love her guests. The price is more than reasonable, for four nights we paid less than we would've paid at a nice hotel for a four night stay here in the states. My wife and I have a friendship with Edda that still continues today and we're greatly looking forward to going to visit her again soon. 5 Stars for everything, can't say enough good about the experience we had here. Stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
35
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed in Edda's farm house for two days and really enjoyed it. I think she has 2 rooms at her house and 3 rooms in the next building.

The breakfast is great (freshly baked bread) and Edda was ready to accommodate early breakfast if we have to leave early. Edda is very friendly person and provided us lot of information about Iceland.
We had big luggage and she provided us transportation to and from the bus stop and we really appreciated it.
Hafnarjordur is nice little town but bit far from Reykjavik (we knew it when we booked it). We took the bus ride to Reykjavikis around 15 -20 mins. If you are travelling by car she has parking facilities as well.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Cdntraveller15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hecla Island, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Although there are only two bedrooms, the rooms are a good size, tastefully decorated, and there are coffee machines in the rooms. There is internet available as well and that is not found in many B&B's. The breakfast was superb with freshly baked bread and fresh farm eggs and Edda is a wonderful hostess. She is a wealth of information about the history of Iceland, knows many people, places and recreational spots and is so helpful if you need anything. We would recommend this place to anyone coming from Canada.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Maxine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
166 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed our last night in Iceland after 17 days at Edda's Farmhouse in Town. Edda's home is in Harnarfjordur, south of Reykjavik, very near the harbor. It is a small home, but very comfortable with the main conversation area being the wooden kitchen table with coffee or tea, which is always available. Edda has two bedrooms which share a bathroom, but each room has its own basen. She offers a delicious breakfast along with homemade breads and scones. She customizes the time of breakfast to meet her guests travel needs. We had a delightful time at Edda's. What made our time special there was talking at the kitchen table with Edda and her other guests drinking coffee and tea with cookies. She is very knowledgeable and loved to talk about the sagas which we had spent a little time learning about while in Iceland. For our last night in Iceland, we decided to go out for dinner. Edda recommended a good place in the neighborhood and off we went walking to it. Unfortunately, it was the Seamans holiday. That restaurant was full, so they recommended another which we also walked to. That place was also full and they recommended another. As we walked, trying to find that place we found a lamb hotdog kiosk....perfect. We took takeout hotdogs back to Edda's very comfortable kitchen table. It was the perfect table to eat our final dinner in Iceland. We would very much stay at Edda's again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sinaigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

I cannot be more happier to write this review about Edda's Farmhouse in Town as I only have good things to say.

Firstly the owner, Edda, was very helpful during the booking process before we arrived, I highly reccommend you speak to her before you book.

My husband and I didn't want to stay in Reykjavik centre, so we searched for a more quiet area and found Edda's guesthouse in Hafnarfjordur right near a peaceful harbour, which is roughly a 15 minute drive from Reykjavik and a 30 minute drive to Keflavik airport.

When we arrived after a long day of travelling, we were met by Edda's friendly face and a nice, warm home. Edda's house is charming and has a true homely atmosphere, situated in a friendly and quiet town.

The bedroom is newly updated and a comfortable size for 2 people, enough space for luggage and winter coats etc. The bed was very comfortable as well as the pillows and bedding, which is definitely needed after a long day of sight seeing. A wash basin and mirror is included in the bedroom, along with your own coffee machine and complimentary coffee.

The floors are heated throughout the guesthouse which provides for a cozy temperture, you can comfortably sleep with your window open to get fresh air as the neighbourhood is quiet and safe.

The shared bathroom is modern and it was kept clean throughout our stay. There is no issue with waiting to use the bathroom since there are only 2 rooms which share it.

Edda puts together a lovely breakfast, fit for kings and queens! She made delicious homemade bread every morning along with a variety of jams, meats, cheeses, yogurt, coffee and juice. This is exactly what you need before setting out on a long day of sight seeing. Edda also has chickens who kindly gave us lovely eggs on some mornings. She was also flexiable with our daily schedule and asked us what time we would like breakfast; this is a service you won't get at any standard hotel.

Edda enjoys the company of her guests and has an abandance of knowledge to share with you during breakfast time, some interesting facts and places to go to which I would have never known about if Edda didn't tell me! You cannot get better information than from a local resident. You will also enjoy conversing with other guests at the breakfast table, it's always interesting to meet other travellers.

Sometimes we were met by Edda's chickens and friendly dog at the end of the day, they were always happy to see us!

Edda maintains a professional and hospitiable service and I highly reccommend you to stay at her house if you enjoy a "home away from home" experience. I hope to return to Iceland in the near future and without a doubt I will be staying at Edda's guesthouse again- thank you Edda!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SarahHarrisWatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Edda makes you feel very welcome.
Her knowledge of the Icelandic culture and history make great conversation at breakfast.
With her home made pancakes, apple cake, breads and delicious warm meals she will never leave you hungry.

Rooms are tidy and clean.
The location is easily accessible, quiet and a 15 min drive to Reykjavik.
And the animals are a joy (cats, dog, chickens, rabbits) :)

We'll definitively be back...

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B0J0H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We wanted a special place for our first night in Iceland and we got it just right!
Eddas place is both charming and full of character. The owner is really helpful and accommodating. Her two rooms are new and stylish, comfortable and clean. They share a nice bathroom and the kitchen where you have your breakfast served. There is even a Senseo coffee machine in the room and different types of teas for you to have. The neighbourhood is handy for the airport but also for Reikiavik, but away from crowds and noise. It is very peaceful.
It is a town house but also a little farm. You are welcomed by Edda's lovely dog, her playful kitten and her bunch of hens and rabbits. Book ahead, as she only has two rooms, and for the price, you cant get a better deal.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tacande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hafnarfjordur
0.5 mi away
Viking Village Hotel
Viking Village Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hafnarfjordur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vellir
Hotel Vellir
#2 of 4 in Hafnarfjordur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
5.1 mi away
Kriunes Hotel
Kriunes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kopavogur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hafnarfjordur
Hotel Hafnarfjordur
#1 of 4 in Hafnarfjordur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hotel Laxnes
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbourfront Guesthouse
Harbourfront Guesthouse
#3 of 5 in Hafnarfjordur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edda's Farmhouse in Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edda's Farmhouse in Town

Property: Edda's Farmhouse in Town
Address: Vesturbraut 15, Hafnarfjordur, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Hafnarfjordur
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hafnarfjordur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Edda's Farmhouse in Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edda's Farmhouse In Town Iceland/Hafnarfjordur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing