We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and 'cheap'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Norourey Hotel Reykjavik Road
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hafnarfjordur
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Of course 'cheap' is relative in Iceland. This place was basic but clean and cost less than the hotels in Reykjavik. You can drive into town in about twenty minutes. If you are interested in hitting the bars at night, you may want to consider staying closer to town. The breakfast is served in the basement and got the job done. When we checked in late at night, there was a mix up with the exchange rates (we'd booked in euros but had to pay in krona - in cash), which did not occur to us until the next morning - turned out they'd overcharged us by about 30%. Fortunately we had our receipt and they refunded the difference with an apology - do make sure you keep an eye on those exchange rates though! Overall a fine choice for a few nights in Iceland.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CBEB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
There are newer reviews for Norourey Hotel Reykjavik Road
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

398 - 404 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

We were really pleasantly surprised with this hotel as for the price we expected it to be a bit more basic and we were worried that it was a bit far out of Reykjavik. However, as we landed on the midnight flight from London we were delighted to find that the hotel is actually on the FlyBus route from the airport to the bus station so its actually probably one of the most convenient places to stay for the airport and as others have pointed out its just a 25 minute very easy bus journey in to the centre. Would highly recommend as your first or last stop in Reykjavik and nothing wrong with it for the rest of the trip too, but it depends what kind of facilities you want. We went for the optional upgrade to a room in the tower and were delighted, the room was so spacious that it is one of the best nights sleep I've ever had. Definitely worth the money. Staff were friendly and helpful, they had some snacks available late night but not much else so do bring food if you want to snack in the middle of the night. Breakfast was simple and felt very traditional of the nordic countries.

Room Tip: Upgrade your room for a really enjoyable stay.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skipn_easy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Just spent 6 nights here as basis for exploring Iceland, very happy with our choice. This place offers elements of a hotel (24 hour desk service, tour booking, breakfast included) and aspects of an apartment rental if you choose the upgrade (microwave, fridge with freezer compartment, dishes, hot pot).

The breakfast was more than adequate (boiled eggs, waffles, melon and orange slices, tomato and cucumber slices, selection of teas, coffee, oatmeal with skyr (Icelandic yogurt)) offered at a nice time range 7-10a. The location is perfect if you are looking to explore natural areas of the country, not just Reykjavik. Our double bed was very comfortable, the place is immaculately clean, bathroom new, upgraded room had good light and a nice sofa to spread out on. A few of the staff went above and beyond (printing out a map of places we could go to try to see the Aurora Borealis, suggestions about which clubs might suit our style in Reykjavik) and all were very professional and friendly. One pointed out coupons to help us save on our horseback riding and whale-watching tours. The only thing we didn't like was minor -- the daily clean-up wasn't that thorough, which we thought was fine for a short stay. We hope to come back to Iceland in the summer and will definitely stay here again.

Quick note, leaving early we were able to make it to the Ice Lagoon and back from this location in one day (late September) with time for brief stops at waterfalls, basalt columns, lunch.

Room Tip: We loved the upgraded room and are glad we had the luxury of space to spread out, full windows of li...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank windycitywoman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Spacious room, large bathroom and excellent shower. This hotel was just what we needed for our stay. Lovely breakfast. Short walk away from supermarkets and shops, and an easy bus ride into Reykjavik, as the bus stop is just outside of the hotel. All the staff were very helpful, they helped us book tours and advised us on places to eat - lovely steakhouse in Harnarfjordur! I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a very quiet room at the back of the hotel however we were overlooking a car park which was n...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hruth25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This hotel was a pleasant surprise for money! It was clean, spacious, quite and comfortable! The breakfast was extremely convenient and the coffee was wonderful. We rented a car and the hotel was easy to find off the main road and there was ample parking. The free wifi made keeping in touch with home easy and the connection speed was very good. I would definitely stay there again!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank 96aimees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Clean and convenient. This hotel is easy to get to on the SW outskirts of Reykjavik . Breakfast was Ok ; not much in the way of fruit though. We had a rental car so popping in to Reykjavik in the evenings was easy and had no problems parking .

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed here our first night in Iceland. First of all, Hafnarfjordur is a very sweet little suburban town outside of Reykjavik, and we liked just exploring this little slice of Iceland. Lovely harbor with a running trail, cute little city center with a mall and cafes. The hotel was fine--not luxurious, but not the most basic hotel we stayed at. They were very accommodating and let us check in 2 hours early (our flight got in at 6:20 and we were in desperate need of a nap by the time we were able to check in). The room was clean, comfy, and warm. We had some difficulty figuring out the shower, but once we did we had no problem. A good value for sure. The room got a little noisy when some darn motorcyclists decided to stay at the hotel (those things are LOUD) but the hotel can't help that. Perfectly fine hotel for a first night in Iceland.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the street, if possible. The street can get noisy.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hafnarfjordur
Viking Village Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hafnarfjordur
355 reviews
Kriunes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kopavogur
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vellir
#2 of 4 in Hafnarfjordur
135 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,060 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norourey Hotel Reykjavik Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norourey Hotel Reykjavik Road

Address: Reykjavikurvegur 72, Hafnarfjordur 220, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Hafnarfjordur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hafnarfjordur
Price Range: £98 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Norourey Hotel Reykjavik Road 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hafnarfjordur is a newly build three-star hotel in the capital area of Reykjavik. The centre of the harbour town, which is famous for its stories about elves and mystical beings, is just short distance away. The hotel is the ideal choice for independent travellers, companies and families for both long and short term stays. The hotel has a friendly atmosphere aims to make guests feel comfortable and to give them a home away from home.We offer 71 deluxe and soundproofed guestrooms with beautiful furniture. The range of accommodation is spacious, bright and well-equipped. The hotel is a non-smoking hotel with non-smoking rooms only. Many of the rooms provide a kitchenette with a microwave oven, a toaster, a refrigerator and all other necessary cooking utilities.Unfortunately we do not have a proper restaurant but if you wish we can recommend you some good ones which are nearby.Hafnarfjordur is Icelands 3rd-biggest community. Hafnarfjordurs harbour is just 10 minutes walk from the hotel. Here you can take a walk and enjoy the sunset. The town has its own culture and entertainment and hosts an annual Viking Festival plus the Bright Days Festival and the Christmas Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Norourey Hotel Reykjavik Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norourey Hotel Reykjavik Road Iceland/Hafnarfjordur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing