We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Hafnarfjordur” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hafnarfjordur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Hafnarfjordur
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hafnarfjordur
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel Hafnarfjordur”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Hotel Hafnarfjordur was a nice hotel the staff were really helpful and put up with out 10x daily questions without batting an eye. The rooms were nice they had wardrobe, draws, sofas, tv and a small kitchenette area all with fridge kettle toaster and microwaves. The beds only come with 1 pillow each that deflates some what but they got me a spare when I asked and they provide clean towels each day (they will let you take them to the Blue Lagoon if you ask, as the BL charges).

However 6 of the hotels rooms do not have a cooking area so if you are looking to cook there request a room with the cooking facilities (2 small hobs). A downside that they need to improve is also the lack of items they give for cooking, the rooms only come with one small cooking pot, we requested a frying pan and they did find one but if a few people in the hotel did want to cook they would have issues.

The hotel is about 10-15min out of the city on the bus or driving. You will need Bus No# 1 to get to and back from the city and it comes every 20min and 50min past the hour to and from hotel and town. It is pretty cheap and you can buy single passes a day pass or a 3 day pass.

The hotel will book all tours for you from the reception desk, don't book Northern Lights tours in advanced do it on the day. We used a company called BusTravel.is for Golden Circle + Blue Lagoon and a South Coast tour they were cheapest but the tours were great the drivers were informative and funny. Most tours will pick up from the hotel (some charge 1,000 krona).

There isn't really anything close to the hotel so night time if not on a Northern Lights tour you will probably want to go into the city for evening activities. I would suggest doing the Blue Lagoon in the evening rather than in the day too. Much quieter than the day and there is something lovely about sitting surrounded by mountains with the stars out in the warm milky blue waters. There are other outdoor pools in the city 2 bus stops out if you wanted the warm waters without the price and the hotel staff are happy to show you where they are on the maps too.

The hotel has one computer you can use to check emails or tour websites and print off your e-tickets the hotel does charge for the printing though.

Behind the hotel takes you to a main road and to the right of that they have a KFC, Taco Bell and one of their supermarkets Bonus if you want food. on the same road as the hotel there is also a pizza place and other take-a-ways. Tap water is safe to drink.

Breakfast at the hotel was good. They offered a choice of cereals, breads to toast and waffles. They had fresh fruit and a mixture of cold meats and cheeses, eggs. They had choice of teas and coffees as well as fresh juice and or squash. It runs from 7am-10am each day.

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have cooking hobs. So when booking request a room with or without if you wanted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lilly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    235
    70
    21
    5
See reviews for
92
220
50
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Hotel Hafnarfjordur is a perfect alternative to Reykjavik hotels, which tend to sell out fast, and also increase exponentially in price as travel dates approach closer. We were a group of 10 - I represent a travel company and I was traveling with nine guests. We were in Iceland for 6 days, specifically for Northern Lights viewing.

The Pluses:
- Location is excellent - it is about 35-40 min from the airport and just off the main highway, so very easy to get to. Takes about 10 minutes to be in Reykjavik city center. Very convenient. There are never any traffic jams in Reykjavik. Of course, it is assumed that you have our own transportation.
- Staff - very cooperative & helpful
- Rooms - the rooms are all different shapes and sizes. Presumably the building was not built as a hotel, but converted from something else. Nevertheless, the property is spotlessly clean - has an IKEA feel to it (in terms of the furniture and decor). All rooms have microwave and refrigerator.
- Heating is old style, no central AC, but we did not have any problems.
- Restaurant and Food - we had pre-booked a dinner for our group on the day we landed, to avoid going out that night. That meal was the best meal in our entire stay in Iceland. Breakfast is hearty, served from early in the morning. On our last day, we left the hotel around 5.30 am, but they still packed us a sandwich and had tea/coffee ready - a gesture much appreciated.
- The hotel has a small coffee/bar which is open 24 hrs, as it is managed by the front desk person
- they have a ton of information about Iceland in the lobby and the front desk can organize taxis, tours etc. (Although we recommend hiring a car and driving yourself).
-There is a small store in the adjoining building, and while it is not a fully stocked grocery store, it does offer some basic supplies (although it opens only at 10 AM, by which time, most tourists leave the hotel)

The Minus/negatives - the only negative feedback I would give is that the breakfast was *exactly the same* every day! There was absolutely no change, and perhaps a bit of variation would have made it interesting, especially since we stayed there five nights

Now for those heading to see Northern Lights- we went to lake Kleifarvatn, which is just 15 min drive from this hotel. Follow Rte. 41 toward the airport, then branch off on Rte. 42, once you see the lake on your left, there are several places to park. We went there four nights, and saw beautiful lights on two of the nights.

Hope this helps

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MapsAndStories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuyFls, Ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We had a room with a small kitchen for 7 nights. Large room with two small beds. Very clean. Wonderful breakfast! Desk staff was very friendly and helpful. They even tried to help me twice to pronounce the name of the hotel, but without success. Because we rented a car, this location saved us lots of cash compared to something closer to Reykjavik. We are new to foreign travel, but staying in such a welcoming place allowed us to relax and begin enjoying our adventure. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong by choosing one of the deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhioOrienteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Very nice clean room with a mini kitchen. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. They let us sleep in the lobby until they could get a room prepared for us, earlier than check in. They helped us manuever the bus system, booked tours for us, even tried to get my boyfriend a tattoo appointment. It's a little off the beaten path, but the bus does run right in front of the hotel, straight into Reykjavik, about a 15-20 min ride. It's within walking distance to the harbor, and some shopping, though the selection is greater in the city. The room was quiet, we never heard anyone else. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast is served from 7-10, a typical continental breakfast. A big savings in a country where dining out is quite expensive. My only complaints would be the refrigerator not getting cold and a "bathroom" smell which seemed to eminate from the drain in the bathroom floor, easily fixed by closing the door. Basically, if you need or want something, just ask. The staff here will do their best to accomodate you. It was our choice not to address the 2 issues that we did have.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krsshll70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We have just returned from 4 nights in Iceland, staying at the Hotel Hafnarfjordur. We hired a car so that we could make the most of our time in Iceland and the Hafnarfjordur was a perfect base with free parking. The staff were so friendly from the moment we stepped into reception. Our original room was double booked so the staff offered us an alternative room for 2 nights and then a move to the top floor superior room with complimentary wine and drinks at the bar. To be honest we weren't at the hotel much as there is so much to see in Iceland but the room on the top floor with floor to ceiling windows was very special. (the original room was perfectly ok but it was nice to experience the superior suite). The view from the room was amazing especially after heavy snow - the scenery changed in a matter of hours. Both rooms were clean and comfortable with facilities for self catering(fridge, microwave, sink, crockery etc) if you wanted them. Bathrooms were modern with plenty of hot water and the beds were extremely comfortable. The reception area was lovely and relaxing with plenty of information on tourist attractions and the staff were always on hand to offer advice if you needed it. Reykjavik was a 10 minute (if that) drive from the hotel. The breakfast was served between 7am and 10am and was really nice. Meats and cheese, toast, cereal, yoghurt, porridge, waffles - something for everyone including tea/coffee/fruit juice. It set us up for the day! We can't recommend this hotel enough and will definitely return very soon - we loved every minute of our Icelandic adventure and the hotel was the icing on the cake!

Room Tip: Room 402 was fantastic - floor to ceiling windows meant excellent views over Hafnarfjodur. We also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane_E_Young
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights (23rd-27th Feb).
We arrived at the hotel from the airport around 2am and were greeted by a hotel staff member (sorry don't know any names!) who checked us in very quickly and smoothly.
We had the family room - 5 adults - Room 119).


Room:
Very clean spacious room
Two large bathrooms
Very comfy/warm beds
Small dining/kitchen area - Combi Oven, Hobs, Utilities
Lots of space for clothing etc.

Hotel:
10-15 minutes from Reykjavik (by bus)
Clean hotel (inside and out)
Friendly staff
Lots of information in reception
FREE wifi through hotel (even in rooms) and laptop for use.
Very quiet hotel - not busy
Small bar and soft drinks for sale in reception also.

Breakfast:
Just a basic continental breakfast (Toast, Yogurt, Fruit, Cheese, Ham, Waffles etc)
The traditional Skyr yogurt is amazing!
Lovely food though and plenty aswell!
Also tea, coffee, juices available
Breakfast served 7am-10am


Overall:
Amazing hotel, even though out the way from Reykjavik sights, a quick easy bus trip from the hotel and only takes 10-15 minutes but lots to see on the way! Costs around 350 ISK (£1.85 single). Number 1 Bus.
Clean and spacious rooms, and a excellent breakfast served from 7-10am.

Only con to this hotel and not really a problem, just remember to have something with the hotel name on if using the buses/excursions its harder to pronounce than it looks and you may get laughed at by fellow Icelanders for trying!

Thanks for a great stay Hotel Hafnarfjordur !

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenTucker1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Very nice, clean, modern hotel. I paid the extra for a "deluxe" room, and it had a little fridge and hotplate, along with a larger footprint than the regular rooms. View was not the best, back parking lot, but they can't all be views, right? For the price I feel like I really got a steal!

Bedding was clean and comfortable, the bed was quite comfy too! The bathroom was big enough, as was the shower. The wifi worked in the room, and the front desk is happy to print items for you for a small fee (got my boarding pass printed before going to the airport!) They have a continental breakfast, which was comprehensive, with deli meats, cheeses, breads/muffins, cold cereal, skyr, fruit, and juice/coffee. Considering how expensive food is in Iceland, this makes this hotel a really great deal.

The front desk clerks were friendly and helpful, they confirmed a couple of tours for me and made sure my flybus driver was coming to get me when it was time to go home.

All the major tour companies pick up at your hotel, so that distance from town was not an issue. The city bus went into Reykjavik reguarly and was only 350 Krona. Plus the town was easy to walk, and there were several restaurants (pizza, burgers) within 10 minutes walk that made staying here very easy.

This was a really wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hafnarfjordur
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Viking Village Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hafnarfjordur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#50 of 53 in Reykjavik
3.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Hotel Vellir
#2 of 4 in Hafnarfjordur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hafnarfjordur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hafnarfjordur

Property: Hotel Hafnarfjordur
Address: Reykjavikurvegur 72, Hafnarfjordur 220, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Hafnarfjordur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hafnarfjordur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hafnarfjordur 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hafnarfjordur is a newly build three-star hotel in the capital area of Reykjavik. The centre of the harbour town, which is famous for its stories about elves and mystical beings, is just short distance away. The hotel is the ideal choice for independent travellers, companies and families for both long and short term stays. The hotel has a friendly atmosphere aims to make guests feel comfortable and to give them a home away from home.We offer 71 deluxe and soundproofed guestrooms with beautiful furniture. The range of accommodation is spacious, bright and well-equipped. The hotel is a non-smoking hotel with non-smoking rooms only. Many of the rooms provide a kitchenette with a microwave oven, a toaster, a refrigerator and all other necessary cooking utilities.Unfortunately we do not have a proper restaurant but if you wish we can recommend you some good ones which are nearby.Hafnarfjordur is Icelands 3rd-biggest community. Hafnarfjordurs harbour is just 10 minutes walk from the hotel. Here you can take a walk and enjoy the sunset. The town has its own culture and entertainment and hosts an annual Viking Festival plus the Bright Days Festival and the Christmas Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Hafnarfjordur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hafnarfjordur Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing