We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy cabins in quiet location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guesthouse Skalafell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Guesthouse Skalafell
Ranked #4 of 19 Hofn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cozy cabins in quiet location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night in a small cabin. The cabin itself was cozy, clean and charming. The heater worked very well and kept us warm during the cold night and the hot water in the shower was great. There are interesting whale bones and reindeer antlers arranged out front of reception. The location of the guesthouse is between Vik and Hofn in a fairly remote area. We drove to Hofn for dinner since there are very limited options in Skalafell. Breakfast was included in the price of the room, however the main building where meals were served smelled very strongly of sheep, which was a little unappetizing. However, it is a working farm, so I suppose the barnyard atmosphere is to be expected! Overall, it was good value for the price and set in an idyllic location. Nice people and a very cute dog run the property.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank southpole526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    56
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
87
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

We spent 2 nights at the Skalafell Guesthouse while exploring the area. The room was very clean, everything worked, Wonderful shower and very good breakfast and dinner. The hiking trail which leads from the back of the property wanders through a lovely field before starting a relatively steep ascent to the foot of a glacier. Easy driving distance to the beach, another glacier and the glacier lagoon. 2 nights gave just the right amount of time to explore the surrounding area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tatravler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Our second farm stay and again dinner was superb and great value. Really friendly owners and lovely peaceful spot, a nice alternative to staying in Hofn. Only negative was that bedding and towels etc were a little old and could do with replacing.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cs_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

During a journey in Iceland, we experimented with hotels, guesthouses, holidays Farms and B&B (price ca. 150 EUR per room). For this price, Icelandic accommodations generally have all you want (private bath and toilet, soap, towel, good bedding (twin beds), warm eiderdown, heated rooms, buffet breakfast, good welcome, …) but are often simple (few or no decoration) and small. If curtains were always present, some are too short to efficiently make the room dark. But this doesn’t bother us. This simplicity suits well with this beautiful country.
We never were disappointed, but some accommodations are best (A) or lower (C) than those of average quality (B).
This GH accommodation is certainly in the A category with its nice (but small) wood log cabins (other rooms are in the main building). Three course dinners are excellent, and for each a choice of three homemade, very good, and fresh plates are given. To recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABSKBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
97 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

This is a really nice guesthouse located in a good area. There is a very good hiking trail behind the property which is clearly marked. The rooms are basic but charming, cozy and clean. The setting is beautiful, it sits directly in front of a mountain and if you choose to eat outside (on the picnic table) as we did, you get to hear the waterfall in the background as you eat. We enjoyed our brief stay here and wish it was longer.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4EverTraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

we booked only 2 nights but were stuck an additional 2 nights due to road closure of volcanic ash/winds. We were lucky to be in such a great place! arriving very late the first night, our hostess graciously prepared a hearty meal of salt cod with zero notice, without raising an eyebrow. Another morning, we had a freshly baked apple cake. Delicious home style cooking! Rooms were clean and beds long for tall folks and very comfortable. Our host pointed out hiking options to a lobe of the Skalafellsjokull glacier. With extra days at hand, the location was close enough to Hofn for further exploration of the town and immediate area. A crazy late evening drive up eye popping F985 for a birds eye view. Recommended for travellers looking for more private accommodation within a stones throw of local sites of interest

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1hker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stratford, ct
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Waking up at this this beautiful setting was such a delight, I stood at the door of our cotttage each morning to take in all the sights and smells of Icelandic countryside. Listening to the sheep baa-ing in the field outside our door, tasting the fresh morning breakfast and smelling the clean Icelandic air was theraputic to me during our trip to Iceland during the Grimsvotn volcano eruption. Not to be too relaxed, our family of 4 made the easy drive to Skaftafell park, the iceberg lagoon at Jokulsarlon (ash blackened icebergs!), snowmobiling on the glacier and town activities in (relatively) nearby Hofn. For parents of teens- there is internet access in the dining room/TV area of the main house.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tuxedoavenue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hofn
2.3 mi away
Hotel Smyrlabjorg
Hotel Smyrlabjorg
#2 of 3 in Vatnajokull National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
14.7 mi away
Fosshotel Vatnajokull
12.9 mi away
Hali Country Hotel
Hali Country Hotel
#2 of 19 in Hofn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Gerdi Guesthouse
Gerdi Guesthouse
#8 of 19 in Hofn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
7.5 mi away
Nypugardar Guesthouse
Nypugardar Guesthouse
#1 of 4 in Hornafjorour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
14.9 mi away
Seljavellir Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Skalafell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Skalafell

Property: Guesthouse Skalafell
Address: Route 1, Hofn 781, Iceland
Region: Iceland > East Region > Hofn
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Hofn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Guesthouse Skalafell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skalafell Guesthouse And Cottages Hotel
Guesthouse Skalafell Iceland/Hofn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing