We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ultra modern, and great dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hali Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hali Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hofn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Ultra modern, and great dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Lovely, modern, and spacious rooms. We were expecting much less! Lovely bathrooms too. They say it's a guesthouse, but to me, it felt more like a hotel. We had our own private bathroom, and TV. Great location to the Jokulsarlon Lagoon (about 13kms). Staff were friendly. Dinner and breakfast delicious and fresh. Would stay here again. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    241
    54
    8
    3
See reviews for
116
300
32
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Guesthouse Hali was amazing, nice clean rooms, comfy beds and pillows, nice hot showers. The food in the restaurant was very nice. They had lamb and fish which were all farmed locally. The location was amazing. One side was mountains and the other the coast. We stayed one night to see the northern lights and we did see them. we laid down on the field behind our room to watch the lights. Was such a great experience. In the morning there was a beautiful sun set just in front of the guesthouse. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Was close to glacier lagoon, about a 7 minute car ride.

A magical place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaraWoodall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

This is the closest lodging (and one of the only lodgings around) to the iceberg lagoon at Jökulsarlon, but it’s easy to miss. If you’re coming from the south, it’s 12.5 km north of the lagoon, on the right hand side of the road. It’s a large farm with many separate buildings and quite a few cows, but the sign is small; we passed by it and then turned around and passed it again before our third swing by when we figured it must be the place because we couldn’t find any other B&B.

The rooms have private sinks with a shared bathroom and shared kitchen with a large sitting area. The room was small - fairly typical for Iceland - but clean, warm, and comfortable. Breakfast at the small restaurant on the property is included in the lodging price. You can use their computer with Internet access while you’re at the restaurant; it’s free to guests of the B&B. (The WiFi wasn’t working in the guest accommodations when we were there.) It’s a good idea to bring your own food for lunch or dinner, however, because the dinner buffet runs a little under US$40 per person and there’s no where else to eat!

The farm has a great view of the nearby glaciers, Jökulsarlon is a quick drive down the road, and Skaftafell National Park is an easy day trip. All in all it was a very nice place to stay in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amlbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

With the mountains as a backdrop this is a beautiful place to stop. Ideal also as it is only a short drive to Jokulsarlon. We stayed in the accommodation closest to the lagoon, very clean and tidy and the shared bathroom was no inconvenience at all. We were tired and weren't planning to eat in the restaurant, just have an early night. Fortunately we changed our minds as this was close to the best food we had during our stay. A 5lb salmon was the centrepiece of the buffet dinner which included roast lamb off the farm, smoked lamb and ham, four different cured or smoked salmon and trout, and an excellent fish pie. We managed to cram in dessert as well and waddled back down the slope to our room. The book shelf exterior of the reception adds an interesting dimension from the road.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flathead53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

We stayed in room #32 in the newly-built house facing the ocean side. Some of the rooms are with the mountain view and they're pretty nice too. We were 2 people but were given a triple room with a private bathroom. So the room is quite spacious for us based on Iceland standard. It's a simple wooden room just like a sample room in Ikea.
The location is unbeatable if your main point of interest is to visit Glacier Lagoon. We were the only 2 guests for 2 nights during our visit! So the noise or booking issue mentioned in some previous reviews are not applicable to us - We got 100% attention~ We had dinner here too - only 2 choices: Lamb and Artic Char raised by the farm. Both dishes are yummy and healthy!
FYI - Guesthouse Girdi and Hali are at the same location, just next to each other and very close to road #1. If you're driving from the west, the road sign would be on your right.

Room Tip: Guesthouse #31 to 37 are with private bathroom and at the end of the road, which could be quieter co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sleepywy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
256 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Must agree with the positive reviewer just ahead of me. Will add a few more observations. We had difficulty contacting them from outside the U.S. Received no replies to our e-mails, so finally contacted an Icelandic travel agent: kari@extremeiceland.is. She arranged this, as well as our stay at Country House Anna's, a little further west. She was very helpful in finding us accommodations, which were often booked 9 months in advance.We arrived late and had a friend call to tell them. When we got there at 9:30 p.m., the friendly man behind the counter said "we've been waiting for you". Very nice greeting. We were extremely fortunately, because we had booked a room with shared bath (15,200 isk or about $140), but got bumped to their brand new building, with 7 rooms with private baths because a large group wanted the building with the shared baths. The private rooms were quoted to us earlier in the year at 22,000 isk (about $200 U.S.). The new rooms are spacious, clean, and the private bath with stall shower was the largest we had in 14 days in Iceland. Unfortunately, we didn't stay very long, as we were off the next morning to see the lagoon. Breakfast was typical, with cold cuts and breads, but they made a special trout salad (like a tuna salad) that we assume was made from the trout they raised on their own trout farm. The view of the mountains from our room was spectacular (think it was number 36). Recommend that you don't try to find any of these smaller places in the dark. In the summer, it is light until about 9:30. The road sign says "Hali", not Guesthouse Hali, and that's where you turn. But there are no lights on any of the signs. So if you are coming from the west (like Reykyavik), check your km after you pass Jokulsarlon lagoon. Hotel is approximately 13 km past the lagoon. There is a large, modern (and slightly incongruous) guest center closest to the road, with sleeping quarters down the road. Lovely location.

Room Tip: If budget permits, go for the new ensuite rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

We arrived on the wettest day yet the welcome couldn't have been sunnier. Guesthouse Hali is just off the Ring Road and is set in several buildings, the first being Reception/info/cafe. We were in one of the buildings down the track and we were impressed on opening the front door to see an overflowing shoe rack, ensuring that the wooden floors in the lounge area, corridor and rooms were all pristine. Rooms were quiet and spacious, bathrooms well equipped and spotlessly clean and beds were comfortable. We ate in the cafe and the evening meal was a buffet of fish and lamb....but what a buffet! We all agreed that the food was excellent. The next morning the sun was shining, breakfast was good and we set off for Jokulsarlon lagoon. Hali is only a short distance from the lagoon (which opens at 9.00) so we had been out on the duckboat, ambled down to the beach and back and were driving away as the car and coach parks were filling up. Perfect timing!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beanandbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hofn
23.9 mi away
Fosshotel Glacier Lagoon
Fosshotel Glacier Lagoon
#1 of 3 in Vatnajokull National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hotel Smyrlabjorg
Hotel Smyrlabjorg
#2 of 3 in Vatnajokull National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
27.5 mi away
Fosshotel Vatnajokull
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gerdi Guesthouse
Gerdi Guesthouse
#8 of 19 in Hofn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
12.9 mi away
Guesthouse Skalafell
27.2 mi away
Seljavellir Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hali Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hali Country Hotel

Property: Hali Country Hotel
Address: Hali 781, Hofn 781, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > East Region > Hofn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Hofn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned country hotel. Located right by road nb 1. Only 10 min drive from Jökulsárlón, Glacier lagoon. We offer comfortable double and triple rooms and apartments. Restaurant and museum on site. Open all year around. Breakfast buffet, bed linen, towels, free wi-fi and taxes included in all room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Hali Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Hali Hotel
Hali Country Hotel Iceland/Hofn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing