We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still excellent”
Review of Hali Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hali Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hofn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Still excellent”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights due to it's proximity to the Jokulsarlon Glacier Lagoon and nearby "ice beach". One of the best things has to be the food and the welcome from the staff in the restaurant.

There is currently some building work going on ... it was supposed to be 10 am to 6 pm ... but they were certainly working before/after those times - however there was no noise at all after 5 pm and we were out before 9 am anyway. The wi-fi in the accommodation block is a bit tempremental and a re-boot is sometimes necessary. It was fine in the restaurant area. In the accommodation block is a kitchen/lounge area we mdidn't seem to get much use when we were there.

This was my second visit and I will probably visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin-Poole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    264
    56
    9
    3
See reviews for
136
316
32
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The reason for us to stay here was because we needed an overnight stay in the area after visiting the Jokulsarlon lagoon. If you drive from Reykjavik, by the time you stop along the way and get to the lagoon & beach, you will need a place to stay for the night. This B&B is about a 10 minutes drive from the lagoon, so just manage your time to get here by dinner time. While the view is very nice with the mountain and water, Hali Country Hotel is not your charming B&B with the ambition to please, but just a clean room to get some decent sleep before continuing on with your journey. They also serve dinner, which is basic but fresh homemade cooking, and breakfast is included in the room. With no other options to eat or sleep in the immediate area, this B&B is the solution, but again, don't expect anything more. Right now they are building new houses to respond to the increasing number of tourists who need accommodation in the area, it's quite a construction site and can look depressing. The "hotel" also has a museum that guests of the hotel can visit free of charge. All in all, you will be in and out of this place so fast there's almost no reason to look at it twice. Jokulsarlon, however, is worth all the time and effort of the trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank picolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The hotel consists of a main building with reception and restaurant and accommodation spread over several buildings. We had a very large and spacious room in building 2 which is being extended. We were aware of this at the time of booking and the workman could not start until 10 am and had to finish at 5 pm so this was not irritating. Unknown to us we could have booked B&B and cooked for ourselves in building 2 which had a fully equipped kitchen with fridge etc for the use of guests and a pleasant dining area. You would need to bring your own food as the nearest shop is some way away however at least 1 couple did this. We stayed here as it very close to the Jockulsarlon lagoon and glacier walks. The food was excellent particularly the buffet dinner; the only option in the tourist season was IKr 5,500 each which was expensive, no coffee or sweet. Also if you are a vegetarian and non fish eater there would be almost nothing to eat. Breakfast was also good but on both mornings they ran out of plates, cups, coffee and the pancakes maker never kept up with demand. The hotel was pretty full and we had to ask staff to replenish. We were told it was close to the end of the season and staff were hard to find, sorry as this was our most expensive hotel in Iceland that is not acceptable. We had high expectation from the reviews and it did not meet them consequently an average review based on price and service. On our second night as we were in the area we ate at the Pakkhus restaurant in Hofn, excellent food, our service was good but we noticed other e were slow, it was packed with people queuing to get in. Overall Hali is very convenient of ice lagoon, comfortable and clean but expensive, even by Icelandic prices.

Room Tip: If you want the cheaper option opt for shared facilities and breakfast only and cook for yourself in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

It was a clean hotel but I was a bit disappointed after reading so many raving reviews. Of the 3 places I stayed in Iceland (Centerhotel and Reykjavik Downtown Hostel) it was probably my least favourite. Not to say it wasn't nice - rooms were spacious and clean. But it was not great value for the money. Our room was on the end of building 2, so we had a beautiful view of...construction. The wifi signal was very weak and not accessible in our room. Dinner and breakfast was wonderful, but dinner was overpriced. Staff were just ok - it took a while for them to even approach me when I came to check in. Overall it is a convenient place to stay if you want to be close to the lagoon but I had high expectations after booking this on Trip Advisor reviews and was a bit let down. If I were to do it again, I would book a cheaper place.

Room Tip: None of the rooms I think are amazing or bad - try to avoid the end rooms where you won't get wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 122Courtney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We hadn't planned to stay at Hali, but were so glad that we ended up there. We were making our way from Hofn to Vik, but only got as far as Skaftafell before we had to turn back as a huge sand-storm developed, making continuing to Vik impossible. Our excellent tour company (Discover the World) hastily rearranged accommodation for us at Hali, saving us from the fate of other people we heard about who ended up having to sleep on the floors of local church halls. We ended up staying two nights at Hali, waiting for the storm to pass. What an oasis! The place is family run, and ALL the staff we met were genuinely friendly, warm, open and welcoming. The woman who seemed to be in charge could not have been more helpful with advice about the storm, and willing to talk. The place has a lovely calm and relaxed feel (maybe something about the farm having been in the family for over 1000 years!). It was such a contrast to the more impersonal hotels we had stayed in up to this point. The room was fine, with access to a shared kitchen being a big bonus. Free wifi. The restaurant was good (although slightly pricy); limited menu with no vegetarian option on the menu, but they were only to happy to cook a vegetarian meal for someone who asked. There is also a surprisingly excellent museum on the site, which is really not to be missed, and which is free to guests. It's also a great base for Jokulsarlon and Skaftafell. We will definitely make a point of staying there again when we are next in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulfranacist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

stayed here one night to visit Jockulsarlon Lagoon. Room was large and clean, but lacked character. bathroom was very nice. we had a view of the mountain. they are extending the building to add more rooms and there are construction materials that takes away from the view of the water a bit. no big deal. We ordered the artic char for dinner and it was excellent, probably the best fish dinner we had on our trip.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank paulandglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Nice hotel with very comfortable bed and excellent shower. Although this is something of a chain hotel, it does have character and is a good place to stay for those passing through on Route 1.

The hotel does not have an elevator, so if that's important to you, you may want to call ahead to see if they have accessible options.

Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spbutterworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hofn
23.9 mi away
Fosshotel Glacier Lagoon
Fosshotel Glacier Lagoon
#1 of 3 in Vatnajokull National Park
533 reviews
27.5 mi away
Fosshotel Vatnajokull
25.9 mi away
Hof 1 Hotel
Hof 1 Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hofn
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Hotel Smyrlabjorg
Hotel Smyrlabjorg
#2 of 3 in Vatnajokull National Park
304 reviews
25.8 mi away
Hotel Hofn
Hotel Hofn
#3 of 4 in Hofn
501 reviews
27.2 mi away
Seljavellir Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hali Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hali Country Hotel

Property: Hali Country Hotel
Address: Hali 781, Hofn 781, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > East Region > Hofn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Hofn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hali Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned country hotel. Located right by road nb 1. Only 10 min drive from Jökulsárlón, Glacier lagoon. We offer comfortable double and triple rooms and apartments. Restaurant and museum on site. Open all year around. Breakfast buffet, bed linen, towels, free wi-fi and taxes included in all room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hali Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Hali Hotel
Hali Country Hotel Iceland/Hofn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing