We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazed at the Hospitality”
Review of Pakkhus Restaurant

Pakkhus Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Hofn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$41
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Open all year round. Pakkhus Restaurant is located by the harbour of Höfn. The menu offers variety of local food from the surrounding environment like lamb, fish, lobster (langoustine) and many other choices.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazed at the Hospitality”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The night we went they were not open for dinner, which wasn't too disappointing because we had just come for a cup of coffee anyway. They had bands playing blues that night, and it cost 30.000 ISK per person for admission. When we said we just wanted coffee, they gave us some on the house and told us we could sit downstairs. When we handed back our used mugs, one of the waiters gave us two recipe books for food in the Vantajokull region as "memorabilia". Absolutely fantastic.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    810
    301
    33
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freetown, Sierra Leone
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lobster Sandwich.... AMAZING!”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

On a winter's day in the middle of January, there weren't many options for places to eat but I'm so happy the lovely lady in the information centre pointed us here for lunch.

The service was quick and efficient and the design simple and clean... the food was the real treat. The lobster sandwich was really excellent, loads of lobster pieces, fresh bread, a tangy sauce and a nice selection of stir-fried veg.

With two coffees to finish off it turned out to be one of our cheapest (and best) meals in Iceland.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emsmul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alva, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“delicious food”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

One of us chose lamb shank which was melt in the mouth and cooked to perfection (and it was the very fussy one of us!) The other had chicken salad. The chicken which was beautifully cooked was served on a bed of delicious leaves, grains and nuts. Best food we had in a restaurant in Iceland. Recommend it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Gearran_clacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Such wonderful, creative food with really slow service.”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

We were all very happy with our meals. Langoustine duo was fabulous- a must have. Great lamb and horse. The volcano Skyr cake literally exploded in your mouth. One of the most sensorily rewarding desserts ever.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank uoprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasne, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent but extensive for a famille of four”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We went there for dinner, four people. The food is excellent, from the pizza with langoustine to the cod to the vegetarian. Desserts are also excellent, from the parfait to the brownie to the Icelandic skyr. Two negative notes: expensive restaurant where it is difficult to find a main course for less than 30 euros. Some of the waitresses were a bit dry. The restaurant was full, with a rapid rotation so this may explain why guests did not attract much attention. We however recommend this place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KazzaBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pakkhus Restaurant also viewed

Hofn, East Region
Hofn, East Region
 
Hofn, East Region
 
Hofn, East Region
Hofn, East Region
 

Been to Pakkhus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing