We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful place with short distance to Glacier Lagoon”
Review of Hostel Vagnsstadir

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hofn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostel Vagnsstadir
Ranked #12 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Hofn
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
116 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Peaceful place with short distance to Glacier Lagoon”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This hostel is difficult to find at night when we were driving from Myvtan area, once you see the sign to Hofn, don't turned into it but drive straight ... it still needs over 45 mins driving.

But i find this hostel is really lovely, located in a very quiet peaceful beautiful place. and the hostel keeper's dog is lovely and she loves to play with all guests..

We stayed in a six bed dorm on the G/F, a washing basin inside the room. The room is small and the bed too..However. cannot complaint in this remote area. 3 share showers on G/F, the water tape is in "push" type, heat water is available all the time but slow running.. but fine for me.

No cooking and showers after 10pm. the kitchen is perfect with a beautiful view . Excellent location if you want to visit Glacier Lagoo. a very short drive .. Only a no-man petrol station nearby (5 mins drive to Hofn direction), get your N1 Petrol card in advance.

There are also cottages outside the main bldg with 4 beds each, toilets inside but shower only in the man bldg.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tofudon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    22
    29
    6
    3
See reviews for
15
23
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
98 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

A really nice hostel in a good location. Hofn itself did not have a lot to see but the natural beauty within easy drive was well worth the stay in the area.

The hostel was nice with good bedrooms, clean kitchen and basic bathrooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curious_traveller005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

It wasn't the easiest place in the world to find (follow a sign down a long dirt road), but it was impeccably clean with great facilities. The kitchen was huge and the rooms were decently spacious. The kitchen includes a huge dining room, but the common area with the couch was on the small side. I was traveling during the off season and was pretty much the only person there, so I can't say much for the social atmosphere. I was hoping to catch a glimpse of the aurora, which should have been fairly easy because there is no light for miles. Unfortunately, the weather was too cloudy during my visit, but the guest book was filled with comments of sightings.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Teach82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Beautiful setting surrounded by mountains and glaciers. Awesome views. Friendly helpful staff. Good public areas, kitchen and lovely dining room with great views. Nice room with views. Quite isolated and a good distance from anywhere. When we stayed there lots of sheep and lambs around plus some ponies and lots of birds.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Nice, quiet and clean hostel in an isolated location with a stunning backdrop of snow capped mountains behind and the coast (some way) in front.

We stayed in a four bed dorm with solid, sturdy bunks, the lower ones of which were pretty spacious. The room was clean and spacious for a dorm and the bedding (at extra cost) was in good condition.

Only a couple of minor drawbacks: the kitchen is pretty small so you might find yourself waiting in busy periods, but the adjoining conservatory/dining room is very spacious and airy and comes with stunning views. Also, all the showers are downstairs which can be annoying if your room is upstairs, but there's space to change in privacy. None of these minor issues are unusual for small hostels.

The place had a few locals staying which can only be a good sign. We would use again as a south coast stop off.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSLee53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

The hostel's location is very picturesque - mountains all around and fields running down towards the sea - one could take a long walk among the icelandic horses, sheep and very rich birdlife - it is a paradise for birdwatchers! We stayed there for 2 nights, and although it's a bit far from Ice Lagoon and Skaftafell, it is easy to get there with a car. The closest shop is quite a distance away and there's no restaurant in the neighborhood, so visitors are advised to bring enough food to sustain themselves.
The hostel can arrange ice driving/snowmobile tours on the Vatnajokull glacier which is a great experience, especially in the middle of summer! Generally, people working there are very nice and attentive - they even found a pair of sunglasses which we forgot in one of the snow overalls provided during the tour, and suggested to send it over to us, but we thought it's not worth the trouble.
The rooms are nice and clean, and the beds are very comfortable. Our double room had a real queen-sized bed, a table and a small sink with a mirror and of course lovely view from the large window.
The only thing I didn't like about this place is that it tends to get overcrowded in high season. The hostel itself isn't very big, but all the facilities seem to be located in the main building while also serving those staying in private cabins, mobile homes and camping tents. The kitchen, dining and sitting area are full of people, and there are queues to toilets and showers. Also, there's not enough privacy in the showers - the shower cabins have partial walls between them much like to those in public toilets, and you have your neighbour's soapy water running into your space.. I think this could be improved in the future.

Room Tip: Room for two with double bed on the top floor is nice - it even has a small sink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaarila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The hostel is set in a lovely natural location, with a 1 mile walk to the lava ash beach (although good footwear is recommended since the path can be muddy) and near to the Jokulsarlon glacial lagoon. There are no shops nearby but the hostel info also says this clearly, so guests are clearly told in advance to bring everything to eat with them. I stayed in a 6 bed dorm for two nights, first night did not sleep well due to other person in dorm snoring loudly all night, but hostel staff (who were friendly and helpful) gave me earplugs for the second night, thankfully did not need to use and slept very well. Room was heated at night and duvet hostel provided was warm. The hostel could do with more toilets since they got busy especially in the morning and evening, and the kitchen was also very busy at these times, and could have done with another cooker and sink. The wifi worked, but not very well.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hofn
3.7 mi away
Hotel Smyrlabjorg
Hotel Smyrlabjorg
#2 of 3 in Vatnajokull National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
20.3 mi away
Fosshotel Vatnajokull
7.2 mi away
Skyrhusid Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hali Country Hotel
Hali Country Hotel
#2 of 19 in Hofn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
7.1 mi away
Gerdi Guesthouse
Gerdi Guesthouse
#7 of 19 in Hofn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
5.9 mi away
Guesthouse Skalafell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Vagnsstadir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Vagnsstadir

Property: Hostel Vagnsstadir
Address: Skaftafell, Hofn 781, Iceland
Region: Iceland > East Region > Hofn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Hofn
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Hostel Vagnsstadir Iceland/Hofn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing