We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't see any dwarfs but might have heard them singing”

Springville, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Didn't see any dwarfs but might have heard them singing”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We had read about the legend behind this location and since it right on route 1 we decide we would stop there. I am glad we did, we were able to hike around the rock formations and do a bit of climbing around. It is a nice quiet location with a table or two and a nice grassy area to rest in. The basalt formations are quite interesting and provide some nice photo opportunities. We didn't hear and singing from the hidden people but didn't really expect to. It is a nice location to stop for a stretch and a pic nic lunch.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ken E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    32
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Cute”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stopped off on our long drive from Hofn to Reykjavik. We had a quick stop while we ate a picnic lunch, then took a short walk through the attraction. Ok to kill a few minutes or stretch your legs, but no comparison to Fjadraglufur canyon which we also visited.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DP_Canadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We initially stopped because I needed to de-layer and drink some coffee, but when we read the sign at the little car park we decided to investigate. I'm glad we did because down the winding little track not only was there a great view of the rolling farmlands that surrounded the area, but there were fascinatingly shaped rock formations. It was easy to picture dwarves peeping out from between the rocks.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank suzycatpope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Good for a 5 - 10 minute rest stop”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

If you are traveling road no. 1 from Kirkjubæjarklaustur in the direction of Höfn (about 15 km east of Kirkjubæjarklaustur) you will see a sign Dverghamrar. At this location, you will find columnar jointed basalt formations and an interesting story about fairy people who live in the rocks. Unfortunately for us, one minute after our arrival at this locale, a tour bus stopped and the place was overrun by a horde of tourists. The geological formation is small but pretty but it was difficult to appreciate when there are great numbers of people visiting at the same time. While at Dverghamrar, you can observe the Foss a Sidu waterfall across the street from the Dwarf Cliffs. For a similar but more interesting stop, I would recommend a stop at Dyrholaey or Reynisdrangar beaches where there are better geological formations and lots of room to explore.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank maloney1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
195 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Good stopover for a short break”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

These rock formations are just off route 1 between Kirkjubæjarklaustur and Hofn. Although the walk to see the rock formations is fairly short (it took us around 10 minutes - round trip which included time to take photos), their location provides a good stopover between the two towns. The story that goes with the place i.e. that fairy people live in the rock formations is also fascinating for kids. There is an information board but no other services like restrooms or cafeterias at the location. A narrow path leads down to the crags that are below road level so no pushchairs or wheelchairs would manage the descent.
GPS N63°51.020 W17°51.602

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dwarf Crags Dverghamrar also viewed

 

Been to Dwarf Crags Dverghamrar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing