We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Glacier / Hotel Jokull / Edda Nesjum”
Review of Hotel Edda Hofn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Edda Hofn
Ranked #11 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Hofn
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Was a little unsure how we'd find this place as neither Google Maps or our Garmin GPS recognised the address and it also goes under two names which is also a little confusing (a third now looking at Tripadvisor). Whilst driving along just had to keep our eyes peeled & eventually saw the sign saying 'Hotel Jokull' - remember that it has many names! It was very quiet & lots of empty rooms so the staff were nice enough to give us a free upgrade to a room with a private bathroom which was appreciated. The hallways have a rather sterile & school-like (or old hospital) feel to them. It's an old building but luckily the rooms are fine & more modern in comparison. The room was quite basic but adequate for one night. It's about 10mins drive into Hofn which doesn't matter too much given that there's so little in Hofn itself (can recommend dining there). It's a very small town. Given the lack of options in this region, whilst staying here was not all that memorable it did the job for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laguida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

The good points : beautiful location , the best in Hofn, right in front of the harbour with good restaurants close by.Great views from room and really kind staff.Small but modern bathroom. Comfortable beds.Good breakfast.
The bad points : expensive for what it was. They don `t have triple, family rooms or single rooms available so I had to book two double rooms for our family of 3. I have tried to book one double and one single but they told me that just double rooms are bookable. They charge for the wi-fi... are they in 2013??
I asked for two rooms side by side and away from stairs , at the end of the corridor. They kindly attended to my requests but even so the room was quiet. A Bus tour with lots of noisy people arrived in the early evening. They made noise, talking loud and dragging suitcases until late and in the early morning. There was one TV in a small living room between the rooms hallways. The people from the tour were watching Tv and speaking loud which was very annoying.
What a shame that a hotel with so much potential do not provide to the individual guests a pleasant stay... Good for groups. That `s all.

Room Tip: Before book a room ask if they have group reservations for the same date. Nice views from all of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margarida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My family and I stayed there for one night. It is a cheap hotel, nice and clean and all you need for one night. There is no television in the rooms, the beds are rather narrow and the entrance could be better marked. The reception is not very welcoming.There is some traffic and noise from the harbour if your room is on that side. The breakfast was very good (not included in the price), we had the dining room to ourselves after the very loud group that stayed there at the same time left! The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristín K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

The room was small with virtually no amenities (such as TV or mini-fridge or coffee maker, etc). However, the room was clean and bright, and I would have probably rated the hotel average but for the fact that it did not have free Wi-Fi (or, indeed, any Wi-Fi) in the hotel rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSR_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This hotel or motel as it should be listed is OK for a cheap place to stay in Hofn. In a great location right on the harbour. close to some really good restaurants. The foyer/reception is very bleak with dirty carpet. No lift and no wifi available. Only internet access if you are willing to pay. The bedroom we stayed in and the dining room were fully furnished by Ikea, It felt like I was having a sleepover in Ikea's showroom! The bedroom was clean and tidy but no television. They had a small lounge area on each floor with a TV if you wanted to see anything. I dont know how many channels were available or what happened if someone else wanted to watch another channel.
Breakfast was minimal.

Room Tip: If you have luggage, ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonnie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

It is a summer only place I believe.
It is 7-8km outside Hofn, so you'll need transport to go in to Hofn.
It is really a hostel, with a restaurant and a drinks' licence.
The room was newly decorated, clean, comfortable bed and bedding.
Great view out of the window of the glacier - hence the name! - and the Icelandic horse riders returning from a late evening ride.
No tv or much else in the room, bring your own - love mini speakers and mp3 players!
We just needed a place to sleep between Akureyri and the airport, so weren't there long.
Didn't have breakfast - extra and started too late at 07:30.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdsw12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

I was a bit nervous about staying in this hotel because we never stay where we have to share a bathroom located down the hall. However, I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. Our room was very basic. It was almost like a dorm room but what more do you need for a one night stay on our way around Iceland. The room was very clean and the bathroom was clean and never busy. They had breakfast for an extra charge but it was very good. I do not have anything negative to say about this place and I would definitely stay here again.

The hotel is located five mile outside of Hofn. Hofn is a lovely small town with a few nice restaurants. We enjoyed visiting.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMNMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hofn hotels
7.6 mi away
Fosshotel Vatnajokull
0.6 mi away
Hotel Hofn
Hotel Hofn
#3 of 4 in Hofn
511 reviews
3.7 mi away
Arnanes Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
51.1 mi away
Hof 1 Hotel
Hof 1 Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hofn
328 reviews
1.0 mi away
Milk Factory
Milk Factory
#1 of 19 in Hofn
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hofn Guesthouse
Hofn Guesthouse
#7 of 19 in Hofn
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edda Hofn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edda Hofn

Address: Ranarslod 3, Hofn 780, Iceland (Formerly Hotel Edda Nesjum)
Region: Iceland > East Region > Hofn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Hofn
Price Range: £146 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Edda Hofn 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Edda Hofn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Edda Hofn Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing