We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing”
Review of Hof 1 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hof 1 Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hofn
Seattle
1 review
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The "charming farmhouse" turned out to be modular compartments of a tiny size that are reminiscent of shipping containers. The lighting is poor, with dead bugs accumulated in the fixtures. No TV, no wi-fi in the room, no hairdryer, the light over the sink isn't functioning. No coffee service in the room. You have to hoof it to the main building and purchase tea! The "set meal" is buffet style...no choice, one soup, one dinner, and 5000 kronen each ($40 each - and extra for something to drink!). Window looks directly into a grass bank 10 feet from the wall. Lights too dim to even read by. Nothing nearby, so there's no escape or alternative for meals or activities. Thank goodness there's hiking and beauty 12 miles away, which is the ONLY reason a place like this can exist at all. STAY AWAY.

Room Tip: Choose a room somewhere else! There are plenty of other accommodations along this stretch of road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latehit44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    69
    106
    69
    34
See reviews for
44
172
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Basic rooms with shared bathroom. Warm staff, although when asked for hot water for a tea we were told no, as they sold tea.

As other reviews have alluded too, no wifi in rooms, and the meals are expensive. However, we read the reviews prior to arriving and brought our own meals. Breakfast was very good, although we were not expected a hot breakfast, so our expectations were more than met.

We had our window smashed in, and the farmers were exceptionally helpful in fixing it with ducktap.

If you read the reviews, they are accurate.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We had the most delightful stay at the Hof1 Hotel - for 2 nights, between our visit to Skaftafell and Jokusarlon (only about 20-30 minutes to each so great location). The cottage room was a little small, but very warm and comfortable beds. The highlight of our trip was the amazing staff - from all of over Europe - and were so friendly and kind. Dinner at the hotel was delicious every night (best lamb we've ever had), and the staff even gave us wine and champagne to celebrate our recent engagement. We absolutely loved our stay here - it made our Iceland trip so memorable!

Room Tip: We picked the shared bathroom - which is normally fine, except our neighbors were using it every tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed for two nights, as the location was half way between Skaftafell and Jökulsárlón therefore pretty convenient. The surroundings are quite nice.

We had a room in the main house with shared bathroom. We wouldn't normally choose shared facilities but the price drop was significant. The room was nice, good comfortable beds (twins pushed together) and enough space. The bathrooms were fine too, and we never had any problems with having to wait.

Service was okay, we did come back one night to find a couple who wanted to check in and there was no-one to help them. I'm not sure whether they managed to check in or not. There was no-one there and the phone they were instructed to call had been left behind the desk so that was useless.

Breakfast was just okay. It seems to be common in Iceland to have cucumber and tomato with cheese and ham, and they had all of this, plus bread and cereal. But no fruit or hot options.

We didn't use the restaurant. The problem with it was that they only served dinner between 7 and 8 which is very limited. Especially as this is the time sun sets and you get the best light for views and photographs.

Wi-fi was only in the lounge not in the rooms.
We didn't use the spa facilities.

I would recommend this place for somewhere comfortable to sleep and get a shower, and a good location. That's about it. Wi-fi in the rooms and an excellent breakfast might have bumped it up to 4.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the-rach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed here one night with my husband on our two-week trip around the ring road. It was both the most expensive and the worst hotel we stayed in. We had been lookin forward to it as a "splurge" because their website made it look fancy and relaxing. In reality, our room was tiny and non-descript (with construction going on right outside all day), the spa was adequate but not more, and the restaurant was TERRIBLE. I echo what other reviewers have said - I ordered the vegetarian option and got a mushy curry with a hair in it. When I told the waitress about the hair, she just shrugged and said she would tell the chef - and that meal was one of the most expensive we had in the country. Breakfast was equally disappointing. I am still angry enough about this place to write a review two months later!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sftraveler3186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hofn hotels

Rueil-Malmaison, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The first impression is some time wrong: this hotel is located in a beautiful place, there is a sauna and a hot pot, but:
there is no cold water to refresh after the sauna, and this is quite dangerous
the employees (or owner, i don´t know) are not very friendly
the breakfast is terrible, the worst we had in twelve days, like in a one star hotel in a suburb.
the dinner is very expensive, but we were wise enough to eat out of there.

The only good point is that it is quiet and the beds are confortables.

Room Tip: Choose another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khidarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

After 2 weeks on the road, we had looked very forward to Hof and Skaftafell. Called the place before our arrival and spoke to the owner. She informed us that there would be no grilling or cooking facilities as this was a proper hotel. Upon our arrival, we were asked to choose our menu ahead of time. Strangely for being a hotel, they had only 2 dinner options - fish or vegetable stew. Reluctantly but still hopeful we signed up for the fish at Kr 4500 per person. Having dined in Reykjavik and around the country side, we thought this was rather steep. This is definitely a canteen and not a full service restaurant as the prices indicated. Further more, when the food did arrive, it was absolutely over cooked and tasteless and to make things worse, the side order of vegetables we clearly from a frozen package!! When we complained we were told very politely that the owner would be in only at breakfast time and we should complain to her. We were told that she had been informed about our dissatisfaction.
To top it off, the following mornings breakfast was equally pathetic. The owner was in, but chose to ignore us and we left paying in full - expensive, tasteless, rude and ripped off.
I think that these kind of establishments are a perfect tourist trap - they have a good setting and believe in ripping people off as there are not many choices around this area. Stay away!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExpatinReykjavik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hofn
3.0 mi away
Fosshotel Glacier Lagoon
Fosshotel Glacier Lagoon
#1 of 3 in Vatnajokull National Park
456 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Skaftafell
Hotel Skaftafell
#1 of 1 in Skaftafell
355 reviews
53.4 mi away
Fosshotel Vatnajokull
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.8 mi away
Arnanes Country Hotel
25.9 mi away
Hali Country Hotel
Hali Country Hotel
#2 of 19 in Hofn
628 reviews
26.0 mi away
Gerdi Guesthouse
Gerdi Guesthouse
#9 of 19 in Hofn
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hof 1 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hof 1 Hotel

Property: Hof 1 Hotel
Address: Hof in Oraefi, Hofn 810, Iceland (Formerly Frost and Fire Guesthouse)
Region: Iceland > East Region > Hofn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hofn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hof 1 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frost And Fire Hotel
Hof 1 Hotel Iceland/Hofn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing