We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, well set up”
Review of G. G. Guesthouse

G. G. Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
G. G. Guesthouse
Ranked #18 of 20 Keflavik B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I stayed at this guesthouse with my husband for our first two nights in Iceland, as we were attending a music festival at the nearby airbase. Good location, near enough to the airport and close to the town centre if you fancy a walk. The room was huge and very warm, with a TV and good blinds to keep out the midnight sun, and the bed comfortable. For those who want it there are books, CDs and games on hand. Ample breakfast (bread, bagels, cereals, ham, cheese etc) is provded in the kitchen for guests to help themselves to whenever they liked. Very useful for us as we wanted a later start.

An added bonus was the fact that the guesthouse owner drives you to and from the airport. This was quite a feat for him as he had visitors arriving at all hours of the day and night, and was much appreciated. We were a bit worried that he would press us for cash immediately, as other reviews on here have said, as we had some trouble with the ATM originally. However, he did not even mention payment until we checked out, which gave us time to sort things out.

All in all we were very happy with this guesthouse - it was ideal for our needs and very good for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2012

We were rescued by owners who gladly stored our bike boxes (after we had stayed somewhere else) and organised booking for our return. Room was large, warm and good clean common facilities. Most of all the owners were relaxed and helpful organising lift back to airport with big boxes no problem. In comparative terms this was one of the best B&B's we had, more than just a one night stopover. Would have no hesitation recommending.

Room Tip: We had room nearest to common area. Noise minimal and good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mahestephane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I am not someone who generally writes bad reviews or point out small small mistakes but this time, I have to write.

Bed is too small. While booking we had mentioned 2 adults and 2 kids (below age 4yrs). But when we reached there after our tiring travel around midnight, we were shocked to see bed was hardly enough for 2 adults. I had to go upstairs to ask owner for extra mattress, which she did give with face keeping very unfriendly. My husband slept on floor and I somehow hanged in a side in the bed with my 2 kids.

Only one shower for all the rooms is bit a problem, if every one decides to take bath in the morning.

Kitchen was very nice however owner keeps coming to chk what we are cooking and even said clean it before we leave. Generally in all hostels, they say to keep the kitchen clean while giving the keys or the posters will be written in kitchen...but coming and telling to us while we are cooking, was somewhat rude.

We book through booking.com using Euro currency and when we had to pay, he put his own room rate in ISK(which was higher even after we convert our booking price in ISK). We had to then show our booking printout for the price confirmation. Obviously he had to correct his amount then. So if you are not alert and trust them, u may end up loosing some money too.

Overall I can say I will not stay there again, as there is other guesthouse near by where i stayed was cheaper and clean and owner was honest.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SmritiNarayana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We ended up in GG Guesthouse when B&B Guesthouse (a few blocks away) was overbooked. The manager/owner is a nice man but the first thing he had us do was to go to the ATM down the road to get cash - he doesn’t take credit cards. There is a dark sitting room/shared kitchen (no windows) with an adjoining shared bathroom. The bedrooms are small but clean and there’s a sink in the room. Breakfast is included and is self-serve. They also provide free transportation to the airport. I wouldn’t want to stay here more than one night, but for the night before our departure from Iceland, it was fine.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amlbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stopped at GG Guesthouse for one night after a late night flight into Iceland. Erikur was very helpful, picking us up from the airport despite the late hour. He also dropped us back there in the morning, for a small charge, to collect our hire car.
The guesthouse was very quiet - perhaps as we didn't see any other guests! There is one shared shower room with toilet, plus another toilet. Breakfast is a help yourself affair of cereals, bread, cheese and jams. There were cooking facilities which would be good if you were staying any longer. There was also a collection of DVDs, a TV, games and lots of books for entertainment. The whole building was very warm.
The bedroom was huge, with bed, desk, wardrobe and sink. The bed was a standard double size but very comfortable. It came with 2 duvets - one per person. Not sure if this is an icelandic thing as it was the same at our next hotel too. There were good blinds on the windows so little light came in.
We heard no noise from other people (but there weren't many!) or planes and very little traffic.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowpingu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Uncomplicated small private guesthouse, carpets everywhere so nice and quiet. Rooms had everything I needed, inclusive of comfortable mattresses and decent sized beds. Bathroom facilities are shared and it was a personal success to find the 2nd toilet inside the shower room after queing the 1st day outside the clearly identifiable one toilet.
Also good to know: the guest rooms are downstairs. No need to carry heavy suitcases up the stairs!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissOutdoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2009

This b&b is not very suitable for young children. very narrow walk to the room, carpet, only 2 bed bedrooms and the shuttle service was in a small car, not like a small bus, it was a personal car.
Breakfast was ok, self service breakfast, you take from the fridge, staff was good and the location wasn't so close to the centrum or the airport.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alyssaY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keflavik hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Berg
Hotel Berg
#1 of 9 in Keflavik
824 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Keflavik
Hotel Keflavik
#3 of 9 in Keflavik
963 reviews
2.2 mi away
Airport Hotel Aurora Star
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Keilir
Hotel Keilir
#7 of 9 in Keflavik
444 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alex Guesthouse
Alex Guesthouse
#2 of 14 in Keflavik
280 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ace Guesthouse
Ace Guesthouse
#3 of 20 in Keflavik
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G. G. Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G. G. Guesthouse

Address: Solvallagata 11, Keflavik, Reykjanesbaer 230, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Reykjanesbaer > Keflavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Keflavik
Hotel Class:3 star — G. G. Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guesthouse is located in Keflavik, Iceland, only few min. drive from our only international airport. We are offering a free pick up service or drop off at the airport terminal, a self service breakfast, high speed internet access and multi-channel TV. As we are not offering any EURO/VISA service, fee has to be paid in cash upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your G. G. Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing