We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in Keflavik , best value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Berg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Berg
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Keflavik
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Keflavik , best value”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I have to agree with most reviewers. Hotel Berg is very good & very good value. Great location overlooking the harbour and really well thought out interior. The rooms are what you would find in a 4 or 5 start hotel in a European city . Lots of really good touches such as the breakfast which I would describe as continental +++++ or the coffee/tea/sweets in the lounge for guests. And above all they have pitched price just right ...just good value. We stayed there a night on the way to the airport ....as many others do...a very good decision.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    529
    165
    25
    6
    7
See reviews for
120
440
39
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ATL
Level Contributor
185 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The Hotel Berg is located quite convenient to the Keflavik airport. There is one hotel on the parking lot of the airport which is closer but you are trapped there with no easy access to anything else. Hotel Berg, on the other hand, is literally a five minute drive to the airport and walking distance to the center of Keflavik. There is a restaurant across the small marina (which is quite good) and beyond that some other choices. The staff were friendly and the hotel provides free drive to/from the airport which is great. The rooms were not huge but given this is usually a stopover on the way in or out of Iceland, that is not a big deal. There is a nice enough self-serve breakfast with good variety of options. The living room sitting area is homey and one has access to tea/coffee at any time. Rooms have TV and free wifi. Not the hotel to stay at to explore Reykjavik itself but perfect for a near-airport place to stay.

Room Tip: Away from the entrance to the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilivetotravel_Raul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in May. The staff were extremely helpful, the included breakfast was perfect and our deluxe room was very nice and reasonably priced. It's a little way out from Rekjavik so we hired a car on the hotels recommendation. That was excellent as well. Roads are quiet and easy to drive. I must recommend a cafe right on the harbour front in Grindavik. Wonderful lobster soup. As much as you want and a reasonable price. Look for the sail makers. The fish Restuarant opposite the Berg is ok for a couple of nights not more and don't try the mussels.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrederickBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
187 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Very comfortable one storey hotel that does not look like nor feel like a hotel, with complimentary hot drinks and free shuttle to the nearby airport, which cannot be heard from the hotel.
Overlooks a small harbour and is a peaceful way to end a vacation before returning home.
Excellent choice.

Room Tip: The end rooms are susceptible to a bit of wind noise but nothing too serious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulinVence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Whilst we were picked up from the Airport after midnight (it worked well - called the dedicated number and went to the Red Meeting Point sign in the departures area away from the arriving crowds - picked up in 5-10 minutes) and departed 10am the next morning, it was a great short stay. Interesting public rooms, good breakfast and comfortable bedroom.

Room Tip: Book early - there are not many rooms and the hotel was full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We decided to stay near the airport on our last night in Iceland rather than returning to Reykjavik (which is 40 minutes from the airport). This hotel was perfect. It's 5 minutes from the airport but very quiet and charming. The rooms were nice and the breakfast was good. There is a restaurant very close by for dinner. I definitely recommend staying here on your way in or out of the airport. It's also very close to the Blue Lagoon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcs
Level Contributor
184 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

frankly we were not expecting too much,just a hotel before a flight the next morning.What we got ( for a price ) was the best hotel we stayed in in circling iceland and immediately opposite what we thought was an excellent restaurant just on the other side of the harbour that the hotel overlooks and a 3 min walk.the hotel is fairly new and exudes quality in every area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patbrownett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keflavik
0.7 mi away
Hotel Keflavik
Hotel Keflavik
#2 of 9 in Keflavik
846 reviews
2.5 mi away
Base Hotel
Base Hotel
#6 of 9 in Keflavik
70 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Keilir
Hotel Keilir
#7 of 9 in Keflavik
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Airport Hotel Aurora Star
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#3 of 9 in Keflavik
80 reviews
21.3 mi away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berg

Property: Hotel Berg
Address: Bakkavegur 17 | Bakkavegi 17, Keflavik 230, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Keflavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Keflavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Berg 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Berg is a brand new hotel beside the small boat harbour in Keflavík. It stands above the promenade, which is floodlit from 6 September each year then throughout the winter season.Our guests awake to the sound of birdsong. Fishermen sail colourful small vessels in and out of the harbour. The views from the hotel windows are magnificent, with stunning natural vistas in all directions. The sunsets over Garðskagi, just a short distance from the hotel, are one of the most delightful sights Iceland has to offer.At Hotel Berg, we do our very best to provide you with all the comforts of home. We will attend to your requests in a relaxed, personal manner as we seek to create a pleasant atmosphere, while at the same time meeting your requirements for high-quality furnishings and facilities. We run the hotel as a family – a mature couple and our grown-up children – and we live on the premises.Hotel Berg has eleven rooms with accommodation for 22 people. Every room has an en-suite bathroom, wireless Internet, a safe, high-quality bedding, a fridge, a hair-drier and other conveniences. You will find further information by clicking the Rooms link above.Enjoy a breakfast buffet between 07:00 and 10:00. Early breakfasts are available when ordered in advanced.A fire burns in the sitting room hearth, casting a warm glow over the elegant Icelandic furniture. The stunning view from the window looks over the harbour and the town to the ocean and distant mountains.Take a soothing dip in the hot tub outside on the patio. When the sky is clear on a crisp winter evening, you may even catch a glimpse of the Northern Lights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Berg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing