We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting spoiled in beautiful Iceland”
Review of Hotel Keflavik

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Keflavik
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Keflavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Hotel Keflavik in Iceland and really enjoyed our stay there. The breakfast was an abundance of all kinds of food: buns, eggs, fish, meats, cheese, jams,cakes, just anything you could wish or ask for. They also did not mind that you made sandwiches to take for your daytours, especially since food is very expensive in Iceland. The restaurant served excellent food as well, but was closed 2 nights even though the sign said that it was open. The rooms were nice and clean and we had a great time there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nuckigcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (918)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Keflavik
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

588 - 594 of 918 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

This hotel is an excellent choice when travelling from Iceland in the early hours. The breakfast was extremely tasty and I have never tasted "toasted bread with cheese and pinapple". Very taste. We kept the car free of charge for 10 days and picked it up and drove away very happy with the decision we had made to stay at Hotel Keflavik.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hunna2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel due to the close location to the airport. Our flight was early in the morning. Upon our arrival everything was perfectly organized and we received a friendly welcome. The room (junior suite) was very clean and enough space to repack our quite big suitcases. Good value for the price!
When checking out very early the breakfast was already prepared.
I can only recommend this place - a perfect place for the end of a perfect vacation!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chinese_96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We needed a room for a night near Keflavik Airport for an early flight. We weren't expecting too much based on other reviews, but selected the Hotel Keflavik as the best of several "just okay" alternatives. Instead of "just okay", we found the Keflavik Hotel to be a very friendly, family run place that cared about its guests. We opted for a family room that turned out to be two rooms, both with a great view over the sea. The rooms were very well sound insulated with triple pane windows -- a must when you're near an airport and some bars on a Saturday night in Iceland; we had no noise to interrupt our sleep. Our only regret was that our early morning departure meant an early to bed evening, preventing us from enjoying what appeared to be an excellent on site restaurant that didn't open until 7:00 p.m. We'll catch it on our next stay, because we plan to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terrymarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I came across this hotel shortly after its conception in the late 80's and my stay there, for whatever reason, captured a place in inside me. I had an opportunity to stay there again last week and noticed all the phenomenal improvements they've made to the interior and exterior of the hotel - remarkable elimination in the evening resembling the northern lights of this beautiful country. I did figure out why this place captured my heart from the beginning -- something no other hotel stay has done in my vast travels -- it is their selfless efforts in my regard and charisma. Thank you Steinthor and Co.

Room Tip: I prefer the ocean view (facing North).
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elvar O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Hotel Keflavik was one of the highlights of our travels in Iceland. The rooms are great - clean, tidy, comfortable. There is a restaurant in the hotel that serves excellent meals. A comfortable lobby provides a comfortable place to relax and chat with friends, and the staff is always available for assistance if needed 24 hours a day. We met the owner, Stenni, who enjoys meeting the guests. You can understand why the hotel is so well managed once meeting him. I look forward to staying at the Hotel Keflavik the next time I visit Iceland.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeETee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Really liked this hotel. Staff was friendly and my room looked new.
Very clean so I really enjoyed the stay. Will be back for sure.
Restaurant was also nice looking and the dinner the best I had in Iceland.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dejan91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keflavik
0.7 mi away
Hotel Berg
Hotel Berg
#1 of 9 in Keflavik
766 reviews
2.5 mi away
Airport Hotel Aurora Star
2.0 mi away
Base Hotel
Base Hotel
#6 of 9 in Keflavik
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Keilir
Hotel Keilir
#7 of 9 in Keflavik
419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#3 of 9 in Keflavik
124 reviews
22.1 mi away
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keflavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keflavik

Address: Vatnsnesvegur, Keflavik 230, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Keflavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Keflavik
Price Range: £110 - £885 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Keflavik 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Keflavik is positioned in the heart of Keflavik. It is only 5 minutes from the airport, but still with all the perks of an downtown hotel, close to restaurants, shops and museums. We hope you will enjoy your stay at Hotel Keflavik, we want to provide you with the warm feeling of a family-run establishment but still the quality and service of a 4 star hotel. Please note that from the 1st of May 2017 our complimentary transfer from the hotel to the airport will be available every 30 minutes from 04:00-10:00 and every 60 minutes from 11:00 – 14:00. Transfer needs to be booked the day before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Keflavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keflavik Hotel Keflavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing