We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much more than a airport hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Keflavik

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Keflavik
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Keflavik
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
“Much more than a airport hotel”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Hotel Keflavik is really a nice hotel. I stayed there with my wife on the way to New York and is hotel offer so much more than a regular airport hotel does. The receptionist was very helpful and friendly offering all the help you could ask for. He recommed the Blue Lagoon and it was was perfect. The hotel it self has a very cosy restaurant offering all kind of food. The room was good size, clean and modern.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor seaside and it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    267
    111
    26
    24
See reviews for
187
340
62
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I am a solo senior lady and I stayed at the hotel for one night on my way to Paris. I particularly choose this hotel as I wanted to spend one day/night in Iceland.
I arrived a little late for the breakfast hour, but the manager invited me to join the staff who were having breakfast. My room was on the 3rd floor facing the sea. The room was comfortable, nice duvet and linens, very clean and had a small fridge and safe. I enjoyed a nice lamb dinner in the Solarium that evening. The complimentary breakfast had an excellent assortment of meat, cheese, breads and desserts.
I felt very safe and during the morning walked along the shore front and then stopped in several shops. The hotel is situated only 4 kms. from the airport and provided complimentary taxi back to the airport in the morning. I paid $2250 kronas for the taxi from the airport, about $20. CDN. Expect to pay a little extra in Iceland for food and accommodations.

The staff are very accommodating, spoke excellent English and I enjoyed my short visit. I would recommend the hotel to other travellers.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 57Linda57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We arrived late at night, as the hotel we had originally booked turned out to be in Reykjavik city, and we had only a very short nightstop before our next flight. The receptionist was friendly and efficient, the room was nice and seemed very fresh and clean. We ordered a taxi for the trip to the airport the following morning.

Got up for breakfast and then went to get the taxi, which it turned out another family was about to board, and they would not let us have it despite the receptionist and assistant manager also telling them it was the one we had ordered the previous night.

The assistant manager then offered to drive ut to the airport in his own car, so we would not miss our flight! He would not even let us pay for this, and it was all don with a big smile and very efficiently. I have never experienced anything like this before, THANK YOU, no doubt this hotel will be my first choice if I am to have another stopover in Keflavik.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Hotel Keflavik in Iceland and really enjoyed our stay there. The breakfast was an abundance of all kinds of food: buns, eggs, fish, meats, cheese, jams,cakes, just anything you could wish or ask for. They also did not mind that you made sandwiches to take for your daytours, especially since food is very expensive in Iceland. The restaurant served excellent food as well, but was closed 2 nights even though the sign said that it was open. The rooms were nice and clean and we had a great time there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuckigcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This hotel is an excellent choice when travelling from Iceland in the early hours. The breakfast was extremely tasty and I have never tasted "toasted bread with cheese and pinapple". Very taste. We kept the car free of charge for 10 days and picked it up and drove away very happy with the decision we had made to stay at Hotel Keflavik.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hunna2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel due to the close location to the airport. Our flight was early in the morning. Upon our arrival everything was perfectly organized and we received a friendly welcome. The room (junior suite) was very clean and enough space to repack our quite big suitcases. Good value for the price!
When checking out very early the breakfast was already prepared.
I can only recommend this place - a perfect place for the end of a perfect vacation!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chinese_96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
115 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We needed a room for a night near Keflavik Airport for an early flight. We weren't expecting too much based on other reviews, but selected the Hotel Keflavik as the best of several "just okay" alternatives. Instead of "just okay", we found the Keflavik Hotel to be a very friendly, family run place that cared about its guests. We opted for a family room that turned out to be two rooms, both with a great view over the sea. The rooms were very well sound insulated with triple pane windows -- a must when you're near an airport and some bars on a Saturday night in Iceland; we had no noise to interrupt our sleep. Our only regret was that our early morning departure meant an early to bed evening, preventing us from enjoying what appeared to be an excellent on site restaurant that didn't open until 7:00 p.m. We'll catch it on our next stay, because we plan to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrymarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keflavik hotels
2.0 mi away
Base Hotel
Base Hotel
#6 of 9 in Keflavik
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Keilir
Hotel Keilir
#7 of 9 in Keflavik
379 reviews
2.5 mi away
Airport Hotel Aurora Star
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Berg
Hotel Berg
#1 of 9 in Keflavik
732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#3 of 9 in Keflavik
80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Reykjavik Keflavik Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keflavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keflavik

Property: Hotel Keflavik
Address: Vatnsnesvegur, Keflavik 230, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Keflavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Keflavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Keflavik 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Keflavik is positioned in the heart of Keflavik. It is only 5 minutes from the airport, but still with all the perks of an downtown hotel, close to restaurants, shops and museums. The hotel has been renovated on the exterior and interior during the last 8 months. Almost all of the rooms have been refurbished with a modern style but still with a rich and a homey character. The exterior has been tiled with granite tiles and a brand new led-lighting system on the outside. We hope you will enjoy your stay at Hotel Keflavik, we want to provide you with the warm feeling of a family-run establishment but still the quality and service of a 4 star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotelopia, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Keflavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keflavik Hotel Keflavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing