We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place with wonderful hosts!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A. Bernhard Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A. Bernhard Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 19 Keflavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
“Wonderful place with wonderful hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

My husband and I had a great stay at A. Bernhard Bed and Breakfast on our brief stopover between Barcelona and Washington, D.C. We arrived at 2am and they were very accommodating about waiting up for us. The room was clean, spacious, and attractively decorated. The hosts provided a carafe of ice water and nice fluffy robes to wear to and from the communal bath. Breakfast in the morning was delicious, and the owner even gave us a ride to the Blue Lagoon when it turned out we had missed the bus (it was Sunday and there were fewer). Very nice people and a highly recommended place to rest if you have an overnight layover in Iceland, as we did.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElisaBarq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    9
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
19
42
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We rented the studio apartment. It was attractively furnished and very clean. Lots of little extras like CDs and DVDs, fluffy bathrobes, black-out curtains, plenty of dishes in the kitchenette, and patio furniture outside. Loved how they'd stock our refrigerator with breakfast food each day so we could eat whenever we wanted in the morning. Separate building so very quiet and peaceful. Private bathroom, parking space, free wi-fi. Short drive from the international airport. Owner was even nice enough to give us a ride to the airport one morning to pick up our rental car.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Stayed here for three nights and was in the studio.
Suprisingly, the studio is in a small shed (converted from the garage) just beside the main house. Lots of privacy and it had a small kitchen with dining table, a double bed and a pullout bed.
The studio was well kept, clean and everything was modern and new.
A couple of things I was not happy about are
- The toilet lights detect motion and turn off several times when bathing, The detector is outside the showering compartment and you have to open it several times (when you are bathing to wave your hands to get the lights back on,
- Breakfast isn't any good. If you are staying in the Studio, Breakfast is not in the main house but left in the fridge and cupboard. We did not dare to eat as a lot of the items had been opened before (say for instance, the butter even had bread crumbs left in it from previous occupants). See picture.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bfbfbfbfbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

This hotel was our last stopover and it was sort of place to rest before flying back after two weeks in Iceland. The house was fantastic, modern, spotlessly clean. Very friendly and relaxed atmosphere. The owners live on a first floor where kitchen and lounge were but we were encouraged to feel at home and use lounge as well as our room. They kindly let us use laundry room. Very nice and helpfull people, proffesional hosts. Tasty breakfast buffet, tea/coffe facilities in a room. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ivonns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

We booked this B&B as we had an early flight and needed somewhere to stay the night before. It is conveniently located near the lake front with parking opposite.

Our room, a large double, was spotlessly cleaned and beautifully presented. We were given fresh water, teas and coffees, a wifi code and a list of nearby places to eat. We fully expected no breakfast due to our early start but our host served it from 5am! And a great spread it was too.

All this for 55 GBP. Excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pontypool1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

This guesthouse is only 15 min drive from Keflavik airport. Very convenient to get to the airport to catch a morning flight. Nice clean rooms. Excellent host and delicious breakfast. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nalini M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keflavik hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Keflavik
Hotel Keflavik
#2 of 9 in Keflavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
2.0 mi away
Base Hotel
Base Hotel
#6 of 9 in Keflavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#3 of 9 in Keflavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Keilir
Hotel Keilir
#7 of 9 in Keflavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nupan Deluxe
Nupan Deluxe
#10 of 19 in Keflavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kef Guesthouse
Kef Guesthouse
#3 of 19 in Keflavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A. Bernhard Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A. Bernhard Bed and Breakfast

Property: A. Bernhard Bed and Breakfast
Address: Vallargata 6, Keflavik 230, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Keflavik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Keflavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your A. Bernhard Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing