We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, if arrival at night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Airport Hotel Aurora Star
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Keflavik
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Normal but confortable hotel. Very useful if you arrive in a late flight, it was my case. Walking distance from terminal (just 300m) and just next to car rental offices.
A little expensive (173€ per night) for what it offers.
Unconfortable pillow. The only interest is the proximity to the terminal.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

317 - 323 of 526 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

Clean, comfortable rooms in very straight, simple and bright Scandinavian design. Friendly staff. This hotel has the usual basic features as well as free, no-hassle WiFi internet access. I slept very well and can't say that I heard any noise from the airport - but as others mentioned noise, maybe my windows were better, I don't know... Breakfast was simple, but okay. This is a hotel where you might wish to stay for one night if your plane arrives very late at Keflavík Airport, or if it leaves very early in the morning. However, it is by no means necessary, especially not for late arrivals - certainly a good option if after a long journey you just want to sleep in your hotel bed as soon as possible (as I did), but there are also always airport buses (Flybus) from Keflavík to the hotels in Reykjavík proper, even for late and delayed arrivals. And I can't imagine anyone wanting to stay there for more than the one night, as the airport is really the only interesting thing in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntoTheNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I travel around a bit. This place is one of the better airport hotels I've stayed at, even better than the Sheraton at Paris CDG Airport. Good service, nice breakfast, comfortable - clean rooms, walking distance to rental cars and the airport. I'm not sure what else to ask for in an airport hotel. This place hits all of my requirements with good marks - and free internet!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AgileDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

If you are late arrival or early departure, use this hotel, 200 meter from the terminal.
Roomy and modern nice rooms and good breakfast. The reception desk people, very freindly and helpfull.
Little overpriced.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nitzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This hotel is located right next to Reykjavik airport and the car rental companies. It is therefore a great place to stay if you want to stay close to the airport due to a late arrival or early departure.

The rooms are basic but comfortable and spacious with a comfortable bed. The hotel is modern and looks as if it is only a few years old.

Breakfast was very basic, but was served from very early so it was no issue to grab some breakfast before my 7am flight. There are also some snacks and drinks available 24/7.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for a short stay if you are looking for a place convenient to the airport. It is not the type of place you would want to stay for an extended stay when visiting Iceland.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Nice and friendly staff at the reception.
Rooms are very basic, no extra pillows or blankets in the room, no phone, no black-out curtains nor soundproof windows, quite noisy with jets from the runway.
OK breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Intothewild_AC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We had a long lay-over in Reykjavik and needed to sleep. The hotel is so close to the airport, you can easily pull your luggage across the parking lot to their front door. They had a room ready for us in the morning. The room was simple, very clean, somewhat sterile. The bed was very comfortable. The friendly lady from the front desk brought us a pizza and beer, and we were happy. Nice shower, and we slept all day. This was exactly what we had hoped to find.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nurseintheair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keflavik hotels
2.3 mi away
Base Hotel
Base Hotel
#6 of 9 in Keflavik
144 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Berg
Hotel Berg
#1 of 9 in Keflavik
775 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Keflavik
Hotel Keflavik
#2 of 9 in Keflavik
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Keilir
Hotel Keilir
#7 of 9 in Keflavik
422 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#3 of 9 in Keflavik
130 reviews
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Reykjavik Keflavik Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Hotel Aurora Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Hotel Aurora Star

Address: Blikavoellur 2, Keflavik 235, Iceland (Formerly Airport Hotel Smari)
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Keflavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Keflavik
Price Range: £111 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Hotel Aurora Star 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Airport Hotel Aurora Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing