We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite acceptable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Airport Hotel Aurora Star
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Keflavik
Ohio
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Quite acceptable”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The Smári is located a very short, easy walk from Keflavik Airport - just a few hundred feet. The rooms are clean and quiet, although somewhat stark. The beds are comfortable. English speakers will be glad to know that language will not be a problem. The desk clerk when I was there was Polish; she spoke English and Polish, but no Icelandic. Breakfast, which is included, is typical fare.

This is a great place to stay for a quick layover, but lacks both character and a good location for anyone who is visiting Iceland for a longer stay. Note bene: the airport is open overnight, so travelers with a few hour layover in the middle of the night need not get a hotel room.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EFFor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    208
    135
    21
    8
See reviews for
97
210
38
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burton Upon-Trent
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I have just spent the last five nights at this hotel and it couldn't have been better. The room was spacious, light, clean and quiet. The buffet breakfast, was good and available between 5 am and 10 am. However, by far and away it was the lovely helpful staff on Reception which made it so good.
Having booked the trip at the last minute we were not as prepared as we would have liked but Aneta was so helpful we made the most of everything. The Manager Stefan was also very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjanmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
94 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Normal but confortable hotel. Very useful if you arrive in a late flight, it was my case. Walking distance from terminal (just 300m) and just next to car rental offices.
A little expensive (173€ per night) for what it offers.
Unconfortable pillow. The only interest is the proximity to the terminal.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solothurn, Switzerland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Clean, comfortable rooms in very straight, simple and bright Scandinavian design. Friendly staff. This hotel has the usual basic features as well as free, no-hassle WiFi internet access. I slept very well and can't say that I heard any noise from the airport - but as others mentioned noise, maybe my windows were better, I don't know... Breakfast was simple, but okay. This is a hotel where you might wish to stay for one night if your plane arrives very late at Keflavík Airport, or if it leaves very early in the morning. However, it is by no means necessary, especially not for late arrivals - certainly a good option if after a long journey you just want to sleep in your hotel bed as soon as possible (as I did), but there are also always airport buses (Flybus) from Keflavík to the hotels in Reykjavík proper, even for late and delayed arrivals. And I can't imagine anyone wanting to stay there for more than the one night, as the airport is really the only interesting thing in the vicinity.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntoTheNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
195 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I travel around a bit. This place is one of the better airport hotels I've stayed at, even better than the Sheraton at Paris CDG Airport. Good service, nice breakfast, comfortable - clean rooms, walking distance to rental cars and the airport. I'm not sure what else to ask for in an airport hotel. This place hits all of my requirements with good marks - and free internet!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AgileDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level Contributor
188 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

If you are late arrival or early departure, use this hotel, 200 meter from the terminal.
Roomy and modern nice rooms and good breakfast. The reception desk people, very freindly and helpfull.
Little overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nitzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This hotel is located right next to Reykjavik airport and the car rental companies. It is therefore a great place to stay if you want to stay close to the airport due to a late arrival or early departure.

The rooms are basic but comfortable and spacious with a comfortable bed. The hotel is modern and looks as if it is only a few years old.

Breakfast was very basic, but was served from very early so it was no issue to grab some breakfast before my 7am flight. There are also some snacks and drinks available 24/7.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for a short stay if you are looking for a place convenient to the airport. It is not the type of place you would want to stay for an extended stay when visiting Iceland.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keflavik hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Keflavik
Hotel Keflavik
#2 of 9 in Keflavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
2.3 mi away
Base Hotel
Base Hotel
#7 of 9 in Keflavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Keilir
Hotel Keilir
#6 of 9 in Keflavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Berg
Hotel Berg
#1 of 9 in Keflavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Reykjavik Keflavik Airport
2.3 mi away
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#3 of 9 in Keflavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Hotel Aurora Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Hotel Aurora Star

Property: Airport Hotel Aurora Star
Address: Blikavoellur 2, Keflavik 235, Iceland (Formerly Airport Hotel Smari)
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Keflavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Keflavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Hotel Aurora Star 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Agoda, Hotelopia, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airport Hotel Aurora Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing