We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very functional.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Airport Hotel Aurora Star

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Airport Hotel Aurora Star
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Keflavik
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
153 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Very functional.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

The hotel is barely 200m away from the main departure terminal. Its location was brilliant. I returned my car to Thrifty car rental which is just behind the building and walked back to the hotel. The rooms are comfortable and minimal, very functional, everything works fine, just dont expect it to be a world class leading hotel. Its sole purpose is for early flights/late flights into or out of iceland.

We had room 302, it was facing the terminal, that night the wind was howling and we could hear the wind noise and aircraft noises from the airfield, it was noisy, but we werent too bothered by it, we slept through it. So for those light sleepers, pls ask them for another room that faces away from the airport, preferably rooms with odd numbers.

Breakfast was served from 5am onwards to 10am, which was good of them as our flight out was at 730am. We paid 99 Euros a night for the stay, it was well worth it considering how early our flight was and it took us to drag our lugggages across the road and we took 3-5 mins to walk to the departure terminal.

Good location, dont forget, dont expect more than a 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms faces the airfield which could be noisy for some light sleepers. Choose odd numb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank volvoc70m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    201
    131
    20
    7
See reviews for
93
202
36
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed here for one night in October. It's all very basic, Ikea furniture, neon lights in bathroom and really no frills. Breakfast very basic too. There don't seem to be any places to eat in the area - not even in the terminal - so ordered a burger which was fine.
It's very close to the terminal but it's not very evident which way to walk.
All in all, not in any way luxurious but it does the job.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

This is the most convenient hotel to the airport.

The hotel is clean. The decor is a little sterile. The WiFi on the 2nd floor wouldn't connect to our android devices but worked fine with the apple phones. We could connect to the 3rd floor WiFi but the signal was pretty weak.

The restaurant serves a small offering for dinner. Mainly snack items - we all had pizza. It worked for us. Pizza, beer and wine, and we didn't have to drive anywhere on our last night in Iceland.

The hotel is the perfect place to stay if you don't want to drive before or after your flight.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeInPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel doesn't promise you the moon,but it delivers what it promises. The room was basic but had all amenities,spacious , clean and functional . They are considerate enough to serve breakfast at 5 in the morning. And finally it couldn't be closer to the airport . Hardly 300 metres from the airport . Ideal if you have to catch a morning flight and saves you the 1 hour drive from Reyjkavik .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Walking distance from the airport terminal and the airport car hire headquarters, this is the most convenient choice of hotel for early or late connections. The hotel is clean and modern and of good quality, but you do pay a premium for the location.
Pros: close to airport, good bathroom with clean showers, good breakfast.
Cons: staff could not give clear directions for walking from the airport (it looks like you need to cart your luggage along a highway unless you find the pedestrian path by chance) and it is a long way on rough ground if you have a lot of luggage, the curtains do not block out light, expensive.
I give this an average rating because the price matches the location and quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eatfishcambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

This hotel is in a very convenient location if you need to hop on your plane early in the morning. You can almost throw your luggage to Keflavik Airport, so near is it to the airport building. That was also the reason why we chose this hotel; you can hand in your rental car the evening before and walk to the airport the following morning. The hotel is brand new and so everything is spotless and clean. I was pleased to see that unlike a lot of hotelrooms in Iceland these rooms come with curtains so you can have a good night's rest even if the midsummer sun is shining outside. The decoration is minimal, but that is also quite typical of Icelandic rooms. We even thought the rooms were, to Icelandic standards, quite lively. Although we asked for a queen bed, we got twins. However, the beds were most comfortable and we were not disturbed by the nearby airport. The staff at reception was very friendly and helphul. On the other hand, the guy who was in charge of the breakfast was fairly rude. We witnessed several people asking for things that were missing at the 'buffet' and he gave them very rude replies and made each of them wait "because first he wanted to finish something else". Most people left without the extra cup of coffee or juice because by the time this guy felt like getting it, their plane had already taken off. Not what I call professional behaviour. All in all, Hotel Smari is an acceptable deal: good bed, basic breakfast, close to the airport, but the room comes with a considerable price (we payed +/- 175 euro per night).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albert047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

The Smári is located a very short, easy walk from Keflavik Airport - just a few hundred feet. The rooms are clean and quiet, although somewhat stark. The beds are comfortable. English speakers will be glad to know that language will not be a problem. The desk clerk when I was there was Polish; she spoke English and Polish, but no Icelandic. Breakfast, which is included, is typical fare.

This is a great place to stay for a quick layover, but lacks both character and a good location for anyone who is visiting Iceland for a longer stay. Note bene: the airport is open overnight, so travelers with a few hour layover in the middle of the night need not get a hotel room.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EFFor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keflavik hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Keflavik
Hotel Keflavik
#2 of 9 in Keflavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Keilir
Hotel Keilir
#7 of 9 in Keflavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Berg
Hotel Berg
#1 of 9 in Keflavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Reykjavik Keflavik Airport
2.2 mi away
Bed and Breakfast, Keflavik Airport
1.3 mi away
Alex Guesthouse
Alex Guesthouse
#5 of 13 in Keflavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Hotel Aurora Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Hotel Aurora Star

Property: Airport Hotel Aurora Star
Address: Blikavoellur 2, Keflavik 235, Iceland (Formerly Airport Hotel Smari)
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Keflavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Keflavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Hotel Aurora Star 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Hotelopia and Agoda so you can book your Airport Hotel Aurora Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing