We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate”
Review of Hotel Isafjordur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Isafjordur
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Isafjordur
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Hotel is beautifully located in the centre of town. Room (in their new second building) was efficient and clean. Bed and bathroom were actually great and among the best I've had this trip. So why only 3 stars? Two reasons:
1) Breakfast was really too minimal. This is not a cheap hotel, so a little bit more variation in cheeses/meats/liver pate/dairy and perhaps some warm eggs and/or a local specialty would really be appreciated. In fact the choice was so limited that often items were all taken immediately after being served on the central table, so everyone had to keep an eye open to get something of their likings. Many people take hikes or do other outdoor activities so most of them need a good solid basis to start the day. (-1 star)
2) There's free wifi but it's hopelessly poor (I even tried switching rooms to get a better signal, but unfortunately the hotel was fully booked on my second day here). Downstairs the signal is OK and I saw that there's a tiny wifi router behind the counter there. On the 2nd and 3rd floors the signal almost completely disappears. My guess is that the tiny wifi router downstairs is the only one in the building (?!). My suggestion: buy 3 professional wifi routers (nowadays these are quite affordable) with strong signals and put one on every floor. And please configure them such that they don't all transmit on channel 6, but e.g. one on channel 1, one on channel 6 and one on channel 12 (you can use the same SSID to get a smooth handover). (-1 star)
So all in all 3 stars overall and only 2 stars for service. If these items are fixed my rating would easily become 4 stars or higher.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taqqie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Isafjordur
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our room was clean and comfortable, though not spacious, and had a nice view of the harbor. It is very conveniently located downtown, close to restaurants and shops. Our experience with staff was good - helpful and friendly. Breakfast is served in a large, light room on the main floor and was quite good. Like all lodging in Iceland, it is expensive, but on a relative scale, not too bad.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We were not overly impressed with the staff here, as every time we came or went, there was rarely someone at the desk, or if there was, they did three other things first, while ignoring you, then got to you. Normally this would probably be fine, but this is one of those places that wanted you to leave the key at the desk every time you leave, and we were there for two nights, so the first time we could shrug off, but it was every time. So if that doesn't bóth er you, this is án okay place to stay. The room was clean and comfortable with a view of the square, and everything was fine with that, although there was certainly nothing superb that jumped out at us. The breakfast was adequate, but did not wow us to the extent some of the other ones did. So while this is án okay place to sleep and the location is good right downtown on the pier, we're not sure if we would stay here again because of the service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nutsgoalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asa0609, Manager at Hotel Isafjordur, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Nutsogalie.

First of all I want to thank you for choosing Hótel Ísafjörður and thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We pride ourselves on our hospitality and providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission so we are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations.

What probably happened is that in April and May we were preparing for for the summer season, and training a lot of new staff as well as we are implementing a new computer system and in all this the customer has clearly been neglected. We have gone over this and reviewed our process along with our staff and hopefully prevent this happening again.

We really hope that you you will come back to the Westfjords and visit our Hótel and I wish you the very best.

Sincerely,
Ásgerður Þorleifsdóttir
Marketing and sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Very nice view of the fjords from the room. Located close to the pubs and eat outs. We did not have advance booking, but found a room quite easily. This is not the cheapest option available if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shishir R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

When you come to "isa" there is not so much choice on where to sleep hotelwise. The hotel is centrally located. rooms are clean even if the hotel is starting to show its age.
Price is higher than other hotels in iceland for not a real reason. Restaurant closes at 8:30pm (!!!) and there is no bar. Below expectations the breakfast as well.

Room Tip: Pick a room that overlooks the fjord.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sim0n_0n_the_r0ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Room was comfortable and spacious. Grand view of the fjord and harbour.
Breakfast was good.
We had an evening meal and it was one of the best we had in our 12 day tour.
Would definately return here again.
Staff very friendly - reception ran the restaurant also.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trollskagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stay 2 nights in a good sized room with great views over looking the Fjord. Isafjordur is a great little town and a must see when touring the area. The hotel is well maintained clean and has its own onsite parking. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast and evening meal were very good. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveHaxey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isafjordur hotels
0.4 mi away
Edda Hotel Isafjordur
Edda Hotel Isafjordur
#2 of 2 in Isafjordur
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Horn
Hotel Horn
#2 of 10 in Isafjordur
111 reviews
20.1 mi away
Heydalur Guesthouse
Heydalur Guesthouse
#1 of 10 in Isafjordur
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Hotel Reykjanes
Hotel Reykjanes
#6 of 10 in Isafjordur
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gamla Guesthouse
Gamla Guesthouse
#7 of 10 in Isafjordur
71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Managisting Guesthouse
Managisting Guesthouse
#9 of 10 in Isafjordur
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Isafjordur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isafjordur

Address: Silfurtorg 2, Isafjordur 400, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Westfjords Region > Isafjordur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Isafjordur
Price Range: £122 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Isafjordur 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Isafjordur is a three-star comfortable hotel in the center of Isafjordur. Thirty-five rooms are standard size and one deluxe. Restaurant Vid Pollinn is on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Isafjordur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isafjordur Hotel Isafjördur
Hotel Isafjordur Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing