We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid place for a meal.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Husid

Husid
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Isafjordur
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Chicago
Level Contributor
168 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Solid place for a meal.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

A decent and very casual place for a meal. Seemed like a lot of locals were eating there. They had one fish of the day and it was good. Nothing earth shattering here but a good, solid meal.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    81
    15
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great musicians late Friday nights and fantastic food during the day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

This place was recommended to us by a local as being great food for reasonable prices (keep in mind all food is expensive in Iceland, so you can't really judge places by American standards). I had a meat sandwich and my friend had the fish soup. Both were absolutely delicious, but if I had to recommend one or the other, I'd say go with the fish soup. Very creamy and rich, but not too thick. But the real attraction for me was when we went back on a Friday night for the runtur (pub crawl) and they had a couple guitarists come in and play. They were amazing! Played both Icelandic and American songs, and the whole atmosphere of the place was just warm and welcoming. It felt like half the town showed up and was singing along. It was especially awesome because in June, the sun barely sets, so at 2 AM you can run outside and just gaze at the golden glow of the fjord. Side note: alcohol is quite a bit more expensive (unless maybe you're used to drinking in fancy New York bars), so if you plan on being intoxicated without breaking your budget, I'd recommend pre-gaming before heading to the bar, unless you just want to try the local beers.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
179 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“One of the best meals for Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

It seems a bit like an Icelandic version of a gastropub, with not too much emphasis on the gastro. "It can't be that good given the prices are so good" we thought (and remember this is for Icelandic standards). However, my steak was fantastic, done to how I asked and really, really tender. It was way better than I was expecting.

So not a gourmet menu but you aren't paying gourmet prices. It is very good at what it does, as underlined by the number of locals eating there!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JGrant44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christmas Island, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“So good we came back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Nice atmosphere, great food and good service. Couldn't decide what to eat as all looked great so had to come back to try something else. Wasn't disappointed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank KazCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Good service, delicious food, reasonably priced. This restaurant is highly recommended. I had the salted cod which is caught locally, my son had a hamburger!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fi_B111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Husid also viewed

Isafjordur, Westfjords Region
Isafjordur, Westfjords Region
 
Isafjordur, Westfjords Region
Isafjordur, Westfjords Region
 

Been to Husid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing