We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The real Iceland”
Review of Hotel Laetrabjarg

Hotel Laetrabjarg
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Orlygshofn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Laetrabjarg
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orlygshofn
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The real Iceland”
Reviewed 2 July 2011

This is an old school house as so many of the hotels are in very remote locations. You need to get real and be realistic if you're going to come here. It's remote and breathtakingly beautiful. You get comfortable beds, good food, stunning views and washing and toilet facilities that are perfectly adequate unless you're spoilt. The couple who run the place work hard and it can't be easy for them. Be nice to them and they'll treat you well. If you're snotty don't expect any metaphorical Kleenex. If you've got a life you'll love this place and the Western Fjords. If you haven't then try to adapt, just a little. You'll feel better and the world will seem a friendlier place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnohp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    3
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

For this hotel we had booked a room. When we arrived the hotel was almost empty and we have given a bad room: very hot and no privacy because the large window was in front. All the rooms were empty and open so we saw that there were better rooms and we have asked for a change, but the response was negative, and the guy at reception told us that we should spend our time outdoors. So after a long trip we decided to leave the hotel to find another place to sleep, despite the reservation. I do not think is a good thing given the worst rooms to those who first come and first book.
I can't speak about the services offered, but the reception was not good.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

This hotel is very expensive for what you get. The hosts are friendly but the accommodation is in serious need of updating and rennovation. The shower room was very small and claustrophobic. There was only one shower for 18 people. The home cooking was good and the rooms were in need of updating, but the room did the job.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ali3smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

Our room left much to be desired. It lacked decor and had ugly red carpet and an ugly gold lamp. I know they have better rooms, lovely rooms -- the question is why weren't we given one?

We arrived at 10:30 pm after driving many, many hours. No one was there when we arrived, but the hotel was open so we snooped around a bit. All the rooms were open, so I peeked in one and it looked very plush. I was excited to stay the night.

We found an employee gardening in back, and he called the host who drove over and gave us a room. We were extremely grateful to be helped so late at night.

The room he gave us, though, was not pretty and it was facing a truck and a giant dirt pile in the back of the hotel. He told us himself that there was only one other couple staying the night, so our thought was -- why did we get shafted with the unattractive room when there were several awesome EMPTY rooms? We should have asked, but we didn't. We were just happy to have a bed.

The dining room was lovely, though, so having breakfast in there kinda smoothed over the whole thing. And the host was kind, even if my husband and I did joke to each other that he was punishing us for our late arrival by giving us an ugly room.

I'm clicking "yes" for recommend, but be sure you ask for a nice room.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hailish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walt Disney World, Florida
Level Contributor
147 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2009

I have been in Latrabjarg 1 night and i slept at Latrabjarg hotel.
It sets on a very reomote part of Iceland and the road to arrive in pretty complicated but very scenic.
the hotel is expensive,the services it offeres aren't so good as the price can suggest.
Rooms are very small,and i n my room,a twin accomodation ,there wasen't tv.
Breakfast was quite poor,but waiters were very kind.
I raccomand to book the dinner in the hotel restaurant because it's the (true)only one place to eat for kilomters.
And be carefully:there aren't petrol stations on Latrabjarg zone,the closest is in Patreksfjordur

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norvegiasara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2008

I have just returned from a nine day driving trip through Iceland. We visited the west, the West Fjords and the south. We took the Baldur Ferry from Stykkisholmur to the West Fjords and spent the night at Hotel Latrabjarg which is near the famous Latrabjarg bird cliffs. This hotel is not as close to the bird cliffs as I thought it would be. From the hotel it is still a 23km drive over a bumpy dirt road to the cliffs. However, the hotel has a beautiful location overlooking a sand beach and a picturesque village. Our room had a king bed with a private bath. The room was very clean although it was quite small. All we did was sleep there so we really didn't need any more space. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The bathroom was also very small and it did not have a mirror which seemed odd. They do not provide soap for in the shower. So, if you decide to stay there be sure to bring soap along.

We had dinner in a lovely dining room. The food was simple but very tasty. Our breakfast was the standard Iceland breakfast buffet which we actually came to enjoy very much.

Like all of the country hotels in Iceland the accommodations were very simple but we were comfortable and had everything we needed (except soap, next time we will know to pack some). Don't go there expecting luxury. Iceland is so beautiful and peaceful that you will get all of the ambiance you need from the natural surroundings.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — I needed soap
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LMNMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hotel Laetrabjarg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laetrabjarg

Property: Hotel Laetrabjarg
Address: Hvammur, Orlygshofn 451, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Westfjords Region > Orlygshofn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orlygshofn
Number of rooms: 349

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing