We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
16
22
5
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
22
5
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

On our trip arround Iceland we stopped at Hótel Nordurljos for dinner. When we arrived we didn't expect much but what a treat. Everything was fantastic. The raw lamb as a starter, the cod couldn't be better and the top was the chocolate mousse. Big thanks

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Baldvin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

The best fish (cod - fish) we had in hotel nordurljos. We only can recomend this restaurant in this lonely place in the north of iceland and we were really happy to stay in a warm place. Thank you very much.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Daniela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

Went there with a business group for lunch and it was great! Got the cod and it was fresh and nicely made. We got a great window view, saw the sea and boats on the fjord. They have a great balcony to sit on and enjoy the surroundings. I recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silja J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

We read so much about the outer non-hotel like appearance of this hotel so we were not in for a surprise when we found it. As so much was written in the reviews of this hotel about the proprietor, his knowledge of Iceland and especially his excellent cooking, we really looked forward to meeting him and an interesting overnight stay.

We were greeted by a very polite and helpful young man. We soon got to know that the hotel must have changed hands quite recently as the brother of this young man has taken over the hotel and the young man comes periodically all the way from Reykjavik to give occasional help.

We were the only couple for the night. The room and the bathroom were comfortable and very clean. We were rather bemused by a tiny TV set with no signals for any channels. The young man managed to provide us with inhouse internet.
The dining room was nicely layout and had a delightful view of the harbour where the occasional fish boats unloaded their catch.
We were offered the catch of the day which was cod for dinner. It was very good. We didnot ask for a dessert nor were we offered one. We wondered where the legendary proprietor had gone.
Anyway, we enjoyed the peace and tranquility of this near artic circle place.
We had a feeling that the new owner is still 'testing the water' so to speak and hope he can maintain the quirkiness and uniqueness of the hotel that many reviewers had experienced.
A pleasant experience overall.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 2ema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2015 via mobile

Like everyone else we were put off by the outside appearance of the hotel. Also by the lack of name other than "Hotel". The hardworking owners tried to explain this to us, something about the local committee refusing to let them put up the full name. However, the welcome was warm, the room warm and cosy and the food outstanding. The views over the harbour from the restaurant are delightful. The gentleman told us all about Arctic Henge, which he himself had designed, and should have been finished in 2007. With rocketing tourism, money is now being directed to the south to protect and maintain the major tourist sites there.
Chatting to him, it was wryly amusing to find that here on the northernmost, far flung tip of Iceland the locals were worrying about all the same things we do..unemployment, EU regulations, refugee quotas!
Back to the hotel...we asked for, and received second pillows, but there was no hairdryer in the room, which meant I didn't wash my long hair as I usually do, daily. Perhaps I should have asked for one. As we had the room next to the reception area, the WiFi worked for us in our bedroom.
We would be delighted to stay at this quirky hotel if we pass that way again.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Helrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews