We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rok rocks”
Review of ROK Restaurant

ROK Restaurant
Ranked #59 of 573 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Description: ROK is a fine casual restaurant focusing on serving high quality food in a friendly relaxed environment.
Restaurant details
Description: ROK is a fine casual restaurant focusing on serving high quality food in a friendly relaxed environment.
Reviewed 13 October 2017

We only had one night in Reykjavik and chose this cosy spot near the cathedral. It is casual style inside with a lively bar and pub type tables. We had excellent service from the staff member who told us it was her first ever day and she comes from Akureyi. She spoke excelllent English and was very patient with us.Cocktails were well crafted and flavourful. We ordered two dishes each plus a Rok salad. Standout dishes were the tender juicy lamb cutlets and the large tasty langoustines in a buttery sauce. The total bill was easily less than what we would pay in London. We ate well and were so cosy it was tough to leave.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank UnaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 242 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2017

We ate at ROK while in Reykjavik. There were 3 of us we all ordered different items from the menu and everything was very tasty. ROK is a small plate restaurant perfect for taking several dished and sharing. They have a lovely upstairs section for dining and a cute outdoor seating area as well.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank beachbumfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Tapas style restaurant. The cured lamb (reindeer was unavailable that night) and the steak were outstanding. Excellent scotch selection as well. Across the street from Hallgrimskirkja and next door to the Hótel Leifur Eiríksson. Wonderful mid-high end dinner. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Waimoku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

I have gone there twice - and both times the food has been amazing. It's a little on the expensive side, but not more than "Oh we need to treat ourselves" expensive. I can recommend you going there while visiting in Iceland. It gives you a chance to try many different typical Icelandic dishes without having to buy a whole big meal! :)
You get small tapas-like dishes so you can share 4-5 plates between 2 (so you get the opportunity to taste as much as possible!) You can always order more if you are still hungry. The 'perfect' experience depends on the waiter. The first time we went, we had two different and a (both) a little confused waiters, which made me feel like it wasn't the greatest place (but everything about it does scream "awesome" which made us come back again) and the second time we had the sweetest girl with blond hair who made the experience perfect! So I highly recommend it, even without a good waiter. The food is amazing!

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JoseNuuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

We were lured in by sunshine on the upper deck outside for a glass of wine in the middle of the afternoon. Only 2 tables, and we managed to score one. Had a delightful conversation with a local couple and then ended up returning later that evening for dinner. We took the server's recommendation for 2-3 plates per person and ended up with way too much food that came all at once with not enough room on the table for all of it. Our mistake for assuming that it would come out in courses. My suggestion is to order in stages, as it prevents you ordering an overabundance of food, spreads out your dining time and you have a break in between courses. We ordered tomato soup (very hearty), the salmon/avocado (ok, but salmon was a little lack lustre), the turkey breast (great) and the mushrooms on a nutty grain bread (superb!). The upstairs region is very ambient, and looks to be an ideal place for a nightcap

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JandKEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed ROK Restaurant also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to ROK Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing