We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (353)
Filter reviews
353 results
Traveller rating
68
152
90
32
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
152
90
32
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroombreadgreat locationthe busbudget accommodationfamous churchmain churchhamguest housebreakfast was includedseparate bedsminute walknice breakfastcity centretea and coffeedouble roomstayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
233 - 238 of 353 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2013

we stayed here with two triple rooms the first day of our trip and our last. The first night was in teh newer section around the corner- very nice, shared bathroom with two other rooms but had a nice kitchen area to 'spread out' a bit. The last night of our trip was in two triples right above the breakfast room- on the corner of the street- VERY noisy, oe room smelled so bad of smoke it was unbearable and shared bathroom with three other rooms wth no kitchen or common area. The breakfast room looks big enough until the guests arrive- 30 at one time in a very small congested area. The staff are not personable and seem only interested in getting you in and getting you out.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the renovated building and be sure it is a non smoking room- the rooms above the breakfast area is very noisy
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Guest house was clean; shared washroom/WC with shower; breakfast had a lot of variety; price was reasonable as everything in Iceland is expensive; Siggi, the owner was pleasant; wi-fi available. Overall, a good experience

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed here only for one night thankfully.
The place was very clean although very small, there was hardly room to move in reception & the breakfast area was so small you had to move from your seat to let people past.
At 17,500K for a room without ensuite, it is overpriced.
The receptionist never smiled once & was minimal in conversation with all guests.
i can't recommend this place at all. There are other places nearby that offer better value

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Martutd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed 3 nights here. This guesthouse is just a 5 minutes walk away from central Reykjavik boulevard and the church. The room was clean and the breakfast okay. The free WIFI network was reasonable fast and always working. The stuff was always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FRY2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

The guesthouse is located in the city center, close to the church and animated streets : perfect. But we have got 3 rooms, in fact cellars transformed into so called appartments !
low ceilings, small windows, and almost no way to get fresh air. Windows located at the level of the road, bringing much noise. No phonic isolation with upper flows ; this is what you can test when your neighbours come back at 2am. Sourroundings are not clean and bathrooms are far to be according to the islandic standard in term of cleanliness.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fabien l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sigurdur H, Owner at Aurora Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2011

Hello Fabien

I am so sorry that you didn’t like your stay in my house , you should have talked to me to tell me this.
If you come back to Iceland I would like to offer you free stay in my house and I hope that would change your opinion.

I have 1 problem regarding you review, that is the picture that you took in to closed and locked storages’ room and you call laundry room.(All laundry for the Guesthouses is washed and stored in Aurora)
That picture has nothing to do with guest staying in my house or your review, so I want to ask you to delete that picture.

Thanks in advance and hope to see you some day.

Best regards
Siggi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews