We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (368)
Filter reviews
368 results
Traveller rating
73
156
94
33
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
156
94
33
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shared bathroom bread the bus famous church budget accommodation large church guest house ham breakfast was included separate beds nice breakfast minute walk own meals tea and coffee city centre double room per night
Filter
Updating list...
232 - 237 of 368 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We were travelling on a budget (had been sleeping in our rented van as we travelled around Iceland), and were pleasantly surprised when we arrived here for our final night. It's extremely good value for money for Iceland - so we'd been expecting something quite downmarket. This certainly wasn't. The rooms are spacious, and all have sinks. The shared bathrooms are clean and showers etc all good. The location is great - a minute's walk to the church, and an easy stroll into town. The owner was also really helpful, and there's a good stash of information on the city/country. Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: April 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed on a trip to see the northern lights but would probably not choose this guesthouse again, despite its convenient location. A number of times we returned to find the front door unlocked, and check in consisted reading your name off a piece of paper left in the hallway and taking any keys that were there. Not very secure. There was only one bathroom per floor, which resulted in people going from floor to floor to find one to use.

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjtraveller23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We spent 3 nights here. The location is good and the main streets are just within minutes of walking. We had very warm welcome from the manager, Siggi. He had helped us a lot in our checking in, making breakfast for us, and helping us to arrange tours. The rooms are very clean. It's in a quiet neighborhood just next to the big church and the swimming pool is just around the corner. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 354tl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My husband visits Iceland every year for work and I every now and then and the only place we stay in Reykjavik is Aurora. Sigi, in his quintessentially Icleandic way, is a fabulous host who will make a plan if you need it. The rooms are small (that's to be expected in 101), but they're warm, clean and comfortable. We're not big on sharing bathrooms, but that has seldom been a problem at Aurora, where most of the affordable rooms share a bathroom on a landing. Accommodation includes breakfast which is always a noisy, friendly, continental affair with abundant amounts of coffee, tea, bread, ham, cheese, spreads and (thank goodness for Europeans) .... Nutella! Within walking distance of the main streets in Reykjavik, it's the prefect placeto stay to kick off or end a tour or to just spend the weekend, if you're able and so inclined. For those using the Flybus to get to and from the airport, it stops within metres of the Aurora reception and Sigi will book tickets for you.

Room tip: Request a ground floor room if you have a lot of luggage - the small, tight stairs can be hell with big bags.
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marabara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

As tour operator I often preffer to book hospitality in Aurora of very simple reason.
Personal and owner are kind, place is clean, location is downtown suitable for those traveling from capital in day trips or those staying in capital for a conference etc.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mercury G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews