We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good location”
Review of Aurora Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aurora Guesthouse
Ranked #29 of 109 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I stayed 3 nights i a single room at Aurora Guesthouse, the room was generously furnished with a closet, shelves, table and chair, and a very comfortable bed. The common kitchen was well equipped, the free Wi-Fi worked fine too. Nice and clean shared bathroom, but strangely it was often occupied though there weren't that many rooms to share it. Noisy guests disturbing when returning home middle of the night, but nothing the host can do about that of course. Someone left the outer door unlocked one afternoon, and there was a slight problem with the door to my room which only locked with difficulty. Location was very convenient.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SL P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

We were travelling on a budget (had been sleeping in our rented van as we travelled around Iceland), and were pleasantly surprised when we arrived here for our final night. It's extremely good value for money for Iceland - so we'd been expecting something quite downmarket. This certainly wasn't. The rooms are spacious, and all have sinks. The shared bathrooms are clean and showers etc all good. The location is great - a minute's walk to the church, and an easy stroll into town. The owner was also really helpful, and there's a good stash of information on the city/country. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed on a trip to see the northern lights but would probably not choose this guesthouse again, despite its convenient location. A number of times we returned to find the front door unlocked, and check in consisted reading your name off a piece of paper left in the hallway and taking any keys that were there. Not very secure. There was only one bathroom per floor, which resulted in people going from floor to floor to find one to use.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjtraveller23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We spent 3 nights here. The location is good and the main streets are just within minutes of walking. We had very warm welcome from the manager, Siggi. He had helped us a lot in our checking in, making breakfast for us, and helping us to arrange tours. The rooms are very clean. It's in a quiet neighborhood just next to the big church and the swimming pool is just around the corner. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My husband visits Iceland every year for work and I every now and then and the only place we stay in Reykjavik is Aurora. Sigi, in his quintessentially Icleandic way, is a fabulous host who will make a plan if you need it. The rooms are small (that's to be expected in 101), but they're warm, clean and comfortable. We're not big on sharing bathrooms, but that has seldom been a problem at Aurora, where most of the affordable rooms share a bathroom on a landing. Accommodation includes breakfast which is always a noisy, friendly, continental affair with abundant amounts of coffee, tea, bread, ham, cheese, spreads and (thank goodness for Europeans) .... Nutella! Within walking distance of the main streets in Reykjavik, it's the prefect placeto stay to kick off or end a tour or to just spend the weekend, if you're able and so inclined. For those using the Flybus to get to and from the airport, it stops within metres of the Aurora reception and Sigi will book tickets for you.

Room Tip: Request a ground floor room if you have a lot of luggage - the small, tight stairs can be hell with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marabara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

As tour operator I often preffer to book hospitality in Aurora of very simple reason.
Personal and owner are kind, place is clean, location is downtown suitable for those traveling from capital in day trips or those staying in capital for a conference etc.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mercury G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

I spent 4 nights at the Aurora and I can easily recommend it to everyone. The place is 5 mins walking from the centre and 10 from the main coach station. The manager is helpful and very welcoming. The room was clean and so the bathroom. No problems there. We were on the second floor (room 33) and we have a beautiful view of Reykjavik and the sea beyond it. Breakfast was plentiful and good: many types of fresh bread, toast, jam, chocolate, marmalade. ... cheese, ham, eggs, salad. ... the kitchen was open till late at night so we could eat in there.
The only downside (for my husband) no tv and coffee facilities in the room.
Lovely place, I would surely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Central Guesthouse Reykjavik
Central Guesthouse Reykjavik
#14 of 109 in Reykjavik
113 reviews
Miõborg
Guesthouse Sunna
Guesthouse Sunna
#5 of 109 in Reykjavik
489 reviews
Captain Reykjavik Guesthouse
#12 of 109 in Reykjavik
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blue House
#10 of 109 in Reykjavik
301 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik Rental Guesthouse
Reykjavik Rental Guesthouse
#55 of 109 in Reykjavik
37 reviews
Miõborg
Skolabru Guesthouse
Skolabru Guesthouse
#57 of 109 in Reykjavik
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Guesthouse

Address: Freyjugata 24, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range: £69 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Aurora Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aurora Guesthouse is family owned and offers you affordable and comfortable accommodation located in the old part of Reykjavik, Thingholt neighborhood, in a quiet street only minutes walk to some of the main tourist attractions and the heart of the cities cafes, galleries and clubs. Whether you are a solo traveller, a couple, with a group of friends or your family; we have the perfect accommodation for you. We have a variety of rooms in shared or private facilities with made up beds. All guests have access to kitchen facilities whether you are staying in our private or shared accommodation. Are you wanting to book a tour without lining up or getting lost in Tourist Information? Do you want to try an iconic Icelandic Hot Dog or some fabulous Lobster Soup? Come and meet our friendly team who can assist you with this and more; to help your enjoy your Icelandic adventure! A delicious continental breakfast is also included with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Aurora Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing