We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad - and good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
House of the Spirits
Ranked #55 of 109 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Our first trip to Iceland and doing a lot of recearch beforehand trough Tripadvisor. This hotel have lots of positive reviews and was our first choice.
But shame to you Tripadvisor, this hotel is not worthy of all the positivines!
The entrance is dirty, the rooms are NOT nice, the security is not there at all. There are open electrisity contacts, some covered with tape. If there is a fire, there are no escape possibillities.

But the location is very good, the people are so nice and helpful so we can't be all that negative either.

Would we recomend it to anyone else? We would like to say yes, but because of the fire security is so bad that we have to say no. Sorry Gunnar!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hagrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed in 4 different accomodations in my travels to Reykjavik and I can say this is the best one to go with friends, or in a more budget way. I wouldn't recommend for a romantic escapade, but othen than that is the perfect place. Basically for Gunnar and the staff, that makes all the difference. Rooms and locations are nice too, mb the only qualm would be the lack of a common room. Ah, and it's also awesome value for money! All in all, I will come back here next time I'm in Reykjavik

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thorrgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

House of Spirits is actually 2 back-to-back houses located the junction of Gardastraeti and Ranagarta, it's centrally located and a stone's throw away from the centre of the city, tourist information centre and the harbour. 10 minutes walk gets you to Fiskislóð, where you have big supermarkets like Bonus, Kronan and Netto to do some shopping.

We stayed in one house for 3 days and then the other house for another 3 after we returned to Reykjavik from our road trip.

Our host Gunnar is an extremely helpful and friendly guy who warmly welcomed us and gave us lots of useful information, such as where to shop and the best places to eat.

Our rooms were large, clean and self-contained, with a private bathroom, and a kitchenette comprising a microwave, stove, kettle, fridge and assorted plates and cutlery. There is no hotel buffet breakfast, but our pantry was nicely stocked with muesli, milk, coffee, tea, and yoghurt, amon other things. The beds were also nice and comfy.

The houses seem to be in the midst of renovations, so you might get a newly furnished room, or a slightly older one. We stayed in an older room on our first instance and in the new one after we returned to Reykjavik. Definitely choose the new rooms if possible :-)

Price for the location can't be beat, averaging around 10,000 isk per room per night, and there's a discount for longer stays.

Cons:
Relatively minor. The guesthouse doesn't run as smoothly as a 3 star hotel, but that is more than amply made up for by Gunnar's willingness to accommodate our requests. We only need ask. The older rooms had some slight problems: the kettle was broken, and the ventilation fan in the bathroom didn't work. But we just used the kettle in the extra kitchen outside our room, and shrugged off the other problem. Gunnar forgot to give us clean towels on our second stay, but he supplied us promptly when asked and was so apologetic about it that he even gave us a discount at the end of our stay.

The only other mild con I can think of is that you need to climb 2-3 flights of narrow stairs to the rooms. Might be a bit of a workout if you have heavy luggage!

Overall, it is excellent value for money, our host is excellent, and you just need to be a little flexible to adapt to the slight quirks of the place.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tempestblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My wife and I wanted to round out our honeymoon trip to Iceland with a stay in Reykjavik for a few days to shop and relax before we went back home. Though there was a mix up in our reservation, Gunnar handled it quite well. We were set up in our studio which was fully stocked with delicious breakfast items like AB mjolk (runny yogurt that goes well with museli), museli, regular milk and other delicious icelandic goodies. It was great having a washer and dryer in the building so we could clean up after a few days of camping. The bed was nice, the room was very clean, and it was centrally located. The only problem with the central location was people coming back from the bars, which wasn't so bad since we were there during the weekdays. Needless to say, when my wife and I return to Iceland, we'll stay at the House of the Spirits again. Thanks Gunnar and Thibault!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at House of Spirits. But not the last. It is clean and spacious, the location is nothing less than perfect, and the host....

He just went above and beyond to accommodate us and our every wish. Thank you SO much. We will return. Sometimes with the kids, sometimes on a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bostonmikkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I stayed with my husband in a studio at House of Spirits in the first week of July. Great location, just a couple of minutes from the old harbour and shopping streets.

The apartment was very spacious and we appreciated the well stocked fridge at breakfast time. The bed was the most comfortable I think I have ever slept in. There were a couple of items that needed work (one of the light fittings was broken) but our host Gunnar apologised and said that it would be fixed soon, as it was the height of summer the last thing we needed was light anyway! Other than that the apartment was spotless and modern.

Gunnar and the other member of staff, Thibault (sp?) were very welcoming and helpful. I hope that when we return to Iceland we will return.

All in all a great place to stay for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed in a two-bedroom with shared bathroom apartment. The apartment was newly renovated (still had a few more items pending), but was clean and well-appointed with more than we needed. A full kitchen, living room, and small balcony made it feel like our Icelandic home away from home. The location is perfectly situated a couple blocks from the main downtown drag of Laugavegur. The only drawback was the post-bar singing and shouting in the streets by locals stumbling home after a night of drinking; but can you really escape that in downtown Reykjavik?

Overall, I'd recommend House of Spirits in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Garðastræti 8 is the address of our 2-bedroom apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Skolabru Guesthouse
Skolabru Guesthouse
#62 of 109 in Reykjavik
137 reviews
Smaragata
#35 of 109 in Reykjavik
41 reviews
101 Down Town Guesthouse
#72 of 109 in Reykjavik
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aros Guesthouse
#18 of 109 in Reykjavik
51 reviews
Miõborg
Our House
Our House
#34 of 110 in Reykjavik
174 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Grimur
Hotel Grimur
#32 of 109 in Reykjavik
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of the Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of the Spirits

Address: Gardastraeti 8, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range: £105 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer elegant studio-apartments and bigger apartments for reasonable price in the centre of downtown Reykjavik. We also offer excursions with a private driver-guide, in a private vehicle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your House of the Spirits reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of The Spirits Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing