We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
House of the Spirits
Ranked #44 of 107 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Gunnar is an excellent host! If you need any advice he is there for you. The apartment is well located near the old harbor, pedestrian street, restaurants and tourist office but still on a quiet street. We slept well and appreciated the heating in chilly Reykjavik. Gunnar is providing the basics for your breakfast and there are washing machines and tumblers in the basement. Common areas of the building and the exterior could do with some paint but the rooms are fine. Bathrooms are tiny but we knew this.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    42
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
22
85
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We booked this through airbnb. Gunnar was a very helpful and friendly host. We arrived very late (at midnight) and he was staying up for us. He had also bought some milk and other breakfast stuff for us in the fridge. The locations is the best, just a corner away form the main street. Yet it is a very quiet area. The room (a studio) was clean and tidy and had everything we needed. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PauliinaHKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the 'House of the Spirits' during our week-long visit to Iceland and could not have been happier. The location is perfect: quiet and residential but only a 5 minute walk to the center of town.

The lovely owner, Gunnar, could not have been more helpful and welcoming. He had plenty of local insight about places to visit and gave us a fully stocked fridge for breakfast. There was a minor problem with our original booking (in no way Gunnar's fault) which resulted in us getting a free upgrade to the big 2 bedroom apartment at the top of the building. This was warm and cosy, with a huge kitchen which allowed us to cook meals most nights. We were very thankful for this considering how expensive it is to eat out in Iceland. It is also made us feel like we had a little 'home' which was a nice change after having stayed in hotels for the few weeks before arriving in Iceland.

This is not posh/luxury accommodation but we would not have expected that for the price (expensive by Australian standards but cheap by Icelandic standards). If we are lucky enough to return to Iceland one day, we will definitely stay here again.

Thank you Gunnar for helping to make our trip so enjoyable!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Treen2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Great location to be able to walk to everything, from the Old Harbour to downtown Reykjavik's restaurants and bars. Everything was very convenient. We did not meet our host but he left a series of post-it notes to help us find our way when we arrived, the wi-fi code clearly visible and a bag with juice and milk very kindly to go with our breakfast.

Now the negative stuff. The doorknob to our room was 80% broken and hanging off. Each time we closed the door on leaving we wondered if we would snap it off in our hands. The wi-fi was not always reliable. The bathroom was a little too small and it was difficult to shower with the shower curtain wrapped around your body because the shower is so small. The light in the bathroom took a long time to come to even half brightness, let alone full brightness and the attached fan was noisy beyond. Small things, I know, but small things matter.

A little more TLC would go a long way.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank OmbrettaMDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Overall, this is a great studio. It looked just like the pictures, with lots of windows and bright light. My sister and I stayed in the one on the third floor, left hand side (two twin beds). We stayed for 6 nights, so Gunnar gave us a discount on the price, which can't be beat! Such a deal, and it's located in an awesome neighborhood, walking distance to great restaurants, shopping, museums and city hall. We had no trouble falling asleep at night--I know Icelanders are known for carousing, but we weren't disturbed by any. There is a big wardrobe with hangers, and two small nightstands that are good for storing clothes also. We packed as light as we could, given we would be there in winter, but we had plenty of room.

The studio had some food in it, but we had to buy more, which we planned to do anyway, but we did think it would be stocked with more. There was coffee, muesli, milk, one small yogurt and one egg (why only one?). The kitchen had spices, coffee filters, and all basic things needed to make some meals, which we did, as food in the restaurants is expensive.

When we arrived, Gunnar was not there (which he told us in advance), and we could not find the wifi password, so we had to scrounge around in this area on the 2nd floor, which appeared to be a common area. We also found some butter down there and extra toilet paper. Our bathroom only had one roll in it.

Hotel Metropolitan is across the street from the blue portion of the house, and we used that as a convenient pickup point for some tours we did, rather than try to (mis)pronounce the street address, and that worked out great.

He had sent me directions for how to use the washer/dryer and also said his assistant Armin would be there if we had questions. I tried to find Armin two times on two different days and he was not there. Two women who seemed to live in the building helped me, and one also said Armin had stopped working for Gunnar a month earlier!

Overall, I would say our gripes were minor and I would recommend staying here. He also let us keep our stuff in the studio until we had to leave for the airport, which was 2pm, later than normal check-out. Gunnar answers emails promptly, and the studio/building are clean and safe and in a better location than most of the hotels in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ambrazee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
163 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The location of this guesthouse is perfect! The kitchen area allows for a place to enjoy a quick breakfast before heading out or relaxing with a hot beverage after a long day of activities. The studio was quite large, especially comparing it to European standards. Gunnar's advice before arriving was extremely helpful. The money saved in staying here went a long way towards taking 6 tours over an 8 day vacation. We could walk all over the downtown area from here or catch buses from the nearby Metropolitan for our tours.

Room Tip: We stayed in the yellow building in room #203.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sandtravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Loved this adorable spot and plan on returning! Super cute area of Reykjavik and very comfortable and affordable studio apt! Also greatly appreciated all the help host Gunnar provided us before arriving, it made our trip easy and stress-free!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Hilda
#42 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Captain Reykjavik Guesthouse
#10 of 107 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Embassy Luxury Apartments
#9 of 107 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Three Sisters Guesthouse
#30 of 100 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik Treasure B&B
Reykjavik Treasure B&B
#12 of 107 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Reykjavik Harbour Apartments
#39 of 100 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of the Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of the Spirits

Property: House of the Spirits
Address: Gardastraeti 8, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer elegant studio-apartments and bigger apartments for reasonable price in the centre of downtown Reykjavik. We also offer excursions with a private driver-guide, in a private vehicle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your House of the Spirits reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of The Spirits Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing