We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, nice host, well kept” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of House of the Spirits

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
House of the Spirits
Ranked #40 of 106 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good location, nice host, well kept”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

The House of the spirits is well situated in a quiet street, but nevertheless very close to the city centre. Everything you might need - bars, restaurants, supermarkets - are in easy alking distance. The rooms - we stayed in one of the studios with a kitchen - are well furnished and tidy, towels and linen were included and the host even offers free coffee, tea, jam and other essentials you might need when travelling around not being able to carry the whole lot. Gunnar lives on the top floor and is very friendly and helpful. We arrived in the evening and the door was open and signs put up for us to guide our way to the room. We payed the other day and there was absolutely no fuss about that. Prices were adequate taken into account the prices you pay here....

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    42
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
22
85
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just spent 6 nights at the house of spirit studios. My room (102) had 2 twin beds put together, a small kitchen, good side table for 2, an armoire and a private bathroom, small but nonetheless private, a big deal when looking at budget hotel. The room was very clean and comfortable. Gunnar the host is available if you need help or have questions and was kind enough to pick me up a few fresh essentials like milk/juice when I got in. You also have Ben who lives downstairs who is very nice and helpful. It's the perfect location, everything is within a 5 min walk, restaurants, shops, information center, bus station. Available for free are the fast wifi and laundry. Best value in town!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

This is a great place to stay! We booked the two bedroom apartment at the top of the blue house my friends and I absolutely love having space in a kitchen to sit down at the end of the day and play cards together. The apartment is centrally located to downtown and it's less than a minute to Stofan coffee shop. Gunnar is fantastic. He answered all of our questions by email and was there to greet us at 1 a.m. when we arrived and even helped us bring our luggage up. He helped us with tour booking and gave us a bag of museli for breakfast.
The beds and very comfortable and as mentioned before the shower is quite small but you can prevent flooding the bathroom by just taking the hand held shower head down and using it as a hand held.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrienne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Gunnar is an excellent host! If you need any advice he is there for you. The apartment is well located near the old harbor, pedestrian street, restaurants and tourist office but still on a quiet street. We slept well and appreciated the heating in chilly Reykjavik. Gunnar is providing the basics for your breakfast and there are washing machines and tumblers in the basement. Common areas of the building and the exterior could do with some paint but the rooms are fine. Bathrooms are tiny but we knew this.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We booked this through airbnb. Gunnar was a very helpful and friendly host. We arrived very late (at midnight) and he was staying up for us. He had also bought some milk and other breakfast stuff for us in the fridge. The locations is the best, just a corner away form the main street. Yet it is a very quiet area. The room (a studio) was clean and tidy and had everything we needed. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PauliinaHKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the 'House of the Spirits' during our week-long visit to Iceland and could not have been happier. The location is perfect: quiet and residential but only a 5 minute walk to the center of town.

The lovely owner, Gunnar, could not have been more helpful and welcoming. He had plenty of local insight about places to visit and gave us a fully stocked fridge for breakfast. There was a minor problem with our original booking (in no way Gunnar's fault) which resulted in us getting a free upgrade to the big 2 bedroom apartment at the top of the building. This was warm and cosy, with a huge kitchen which allowed us to cook meals most nights. We were very thankful for this considering how expensive it is to eat out in Iceland. It is also made us feel like we had a little 'home' which was a nice change after having stayed in hotels for the few weeks before arriving in Iceland.

This is not posh/luxury accommodation but we would not have expected that for the price (expensive by Australian standards but cheap by Icelandic standards). If we are lucky enough to return to Iceland one day, we will definitely stay here again.

Thank you Gunnar for helping to make our trip so enjoyable!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Treen2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Great location to be able to walk to everything, from the Old Harbour to downtown Reykjavik's restaurants and bars. Everything was very convenient. We did not meet our host but he left a series of post-it notes to help us find our way when we arrived, the wi-fi code clearly visible and a bag with juice and milk very kindly to go with our breakfast.

Now the negative stuff. The doorknob to our room was 80% broken and hanging off. Each time we closed the door on leaving we wondered if we would snap it off in our hands. The wi-fi was not always reliable. The bathroom was a little too small and it was difficult to shower with the shower curtain wrapped around your body because the shower is so small. The light in the bathroom took a long time to come to even half brightness, let alone full brightness and the attached fan was noisy beyond. Small things, I know, but small things matter.

A little more TLC would go a long way.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank OmbrettaMDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Hilda
#43 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Captain Reykjavik Guesthouse
#7 of 106 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik Treasure B&B
Reykjavik Treasure B&B
#11 of 106 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reykjavik Light Apartments
#76 of 98 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Centric Guesthouse
#39 of 106 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Lighthouse Apartments
#37 of 98 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of the Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of the Spirits

Property: House of the Spirits
Address: Gardastraeti 8, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer elegant studio-apartments and bigger apartments for reasonable price in the centre of downtown Reykjavik. We also offer excursions with a private driver-guide, in a private vehicle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your House of the Spirits reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of The Spirits Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing