We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Reykjavik
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Embassy Luxury Apartments
Ranked #6 of 109 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
VT
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

We couldn't get in on our arrival in Reykjavik, but that was the only downside. After dropping off our luggage we enjoyed downtown for several hours and appreciated our location close to everything. We got into the unit about 2:30 and were very pleased with the space, cleanliness, and comfort. We were in Apartment 100, which was wondergully laid out except that the bathroom was off the living room, as far from bedroom as it could be. We opted to get breakfast once for our three-day stay, and it was plenty of food for us for all three days - we bought only additional coffee and another banana. Everything in the unit worked perfectly. We had decent weather some sun and some rain every day. We even got to use the balcony a bit. Have to give a shout out to both Iceland and Reykjavik Excursions. They're both very professional, clean, punctual. We used IE for airport service and RE for the Golden Circle Tour. I wish all tour companies everywhere were this good. We hope to return to Iceland for longer than three days. We'll start in Reykjavik and rent a car to see the rest of the country. We will definitely try to start the trip in unit 100 at the Embassy Apartments.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank VTLongTimeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    50
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
68
116
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This was one of the best stay ever, unfortunately we could just got it for 1 night, it being over booked for next 2 days. Facilities/Location was just perfect. very well managed. Would really like to come back one day and book in advance this time. Kitchen was so well maintained and had all needed stuff. Its must have specially in Iceland where you would be going for whole day tours and would like to have packed lunch. We didnt felt like leaving the place and move to another hotel:-)

Room Tip: Try for Castle house, location is much better than embassy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaurav_sngl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Just stayed in Apartment 110 (Basement) for a few nights (I use that term loosely as there was actually no darkness at all!)
Overall - happy with service, communication, cleanliness and location. Free WiFi a real winner IMO.
A few small negatives -
Tiny Tardis-like shower with a real risk of burning your a*s on the super hot faucets if you are anything size XL or above.
Satellite TV but no channels actually unlocked except a few local Icelandic stations. Too bad if you don't speak Icelandic!
Odour of Hydrogen Sulphide pervades the apartment due to geothermal hot water and limited ventilation. Locals probably wouldn't notice it, but some people could find it offensive. Not a huge deal for us.
Needs proper block-out window shades for bedroom as midnight sun in summer can be disconcerting and create insomnia.
A few more rugs on the wooden floors wouldn't go astray.

A tip - at the end of the street, about 50m from the apartments is the Holavallagadur Cemetery.
This is an absolute must see when visiting Reykjavik even though it is probably not listed anywhere in the Travel Guides. Costs you nothing and you could spend hours there.
It's beautifully maintained for a 19th century graveyard, has lots of lovely trees planted in early 1900's and a real old world "spooky" feel to it - especially if you walk around under the midnight sun like I did. Do it, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Howard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingibergur T, Manager at Embassy Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you for your review.

The apartments have satellite TV with around 60 English channels plus a remote marked "satellite" You only need to turn it on for the channels to come on as explained in the guide
in the apartments.

We offer guests who do find our blinds dark enough free eye-shades, as is explained in the guide. And we have a 24/7 service for help and information.

Icelanders drill for hot water like some nations drill for oil. All buildings and the scores of open air swimming pools in Reykjavik are heated by this geothermal source with great benefits for the atmosphere which is clear and crisp! Sometimes you can even see clearly Snæfellsjökull glacier, 100 km. away!

The hot water does sometimes smell slightly of sulphur, but we think this is a small price to pay for all the benefits it provides.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Perfect spot in downtown. Greeted immediately and allowed to check in early. Loved the place because it was quaint and homey. It is an actual apartment ideal for staying for long periods of time. The staff was friendly and courteous. I can understand why they won a trip advisor award. We are already booked to stay at their sister apartments a few blocks away later in the week. Would definitely recommend this one.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NKAWTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed in apartment 80 which wasn't very big but was more than adequate for a couple. The apartment is modern and extremely clean. It is well equipped - everything you need in the kitchen as well as a dishwasher and microwave. There's also tea, coffee and sugar provided. There's an iron, mini ironing board and hair dryer. Free local phone calls, free view tv. The wi-fi only worked if you stand at the front door of the apartment which was a bit disappointing and there was no DVD/cd player but apart from that it was fab. The owners were great and even allowed us to loan towels for the blue lagoon after we'd checked out as well as storing our luggage for free. They couldn't have been more professional, attentive or helpful. Daily cleaning and fresh towels included.

Excellent location - 5 min walk to harbour, to main shopping and nightlife and 5 min walk to 24 hour supermarket.

The only problem we had was upon arriving in Reykjavik the coach company (iceland excursions) dropped us at the castle house luxury apartments by mistake - luckily it was only a 10 min walk to the embassy apartments and they did refund the fee.

Whale watching trip and blue lagoon was fab - free pick up and drop off at the apartments - the highlight though was the visit to Gullfoss and the Geyser - Gullfoss was amazing.

Prices for food was high so great to be able to make meals at the apartment.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingibergur T, Manager at Embassy Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for your review. Apt. 80 is the smallest and least expensive apartment at the Embassy.
It is very well equipped, as you point out. DVD players are available on request and we have a 24/7 service. This apartment now has it's own internet router plus the possibility of LAN (wired) connection.

I am sorry to hear Iceland Excursions dropped you off in the wrong location. They are usually very good and they pick up from the Embassy for tours etc. as do all the other tour operators. For buses from the airport we do reccomend airportexpress.is since they always stop at the smaller hotels while the FlyBus usually stops only at the large hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed in Apartment 70 (3 bedroom unit) during our 3 day/2 night visit to Reykjavik. There were a total of 5 of us and one toddler. The hotel was perfect for us. The rooms were spacious and very clean. There was a fully equipped kitchen which was very helpful for our friends who had the toddler. The only drawback was there was only 1 bathroom. The service was great. In-room free Wi-Fi was available but somewhat slow. The hotel was a short 5 minute walk to the heart of Reykjavik. We took a private taxi from the airport to the hotel upon our arrival, which was a big mistake. WHen booking, the hotel offers to arrange for a transfer service which in retrospect we should have done. The price of the hotel was very reasonable. All in all a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wahoowa97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Stayed in Apartment 80. Absolutely spotless and well maintained by friendly, informative staff who were a good souce of info and advice about the city. We payed for the breakfast option which was a great decision allowing a relaxed start to our mornings there. Bread, cheese, meats, fruit, yogurts, milk and fresh coffee kept us going for most of the day.
The location on the apartment is unbeatable in a quiet, residential and diplomatic area and yet just a few minutes walk from the city lake, harbour,and the pedestrianised bar/restaurant/shopping streets. Literally around the corner is the superb Settlement Museum and the oldest street (Adalstraeti) in the city.
Local prices are high but I would also highly recommend Sea Baron Rest. in the fishing harbour area for great and reasonably priced kebabs of whale, scallops, salmon, cod, prawns etc and the house speciality of lobster soup. Iceland Horizons were excellent for the Golden Circle Tour. The best bar by far if you want to try Icelandic microbrews was the nearby Micro Bar in the City Centre Hotel. Top quality draught beers for under £3 a half litre during happy hour (4-7pm with 2 for 1 offers on Sat. nights).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilliandurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#19 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,748 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Miõborg
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Luxury Apartments

Property: Embassy Luxury Apartments
Address: Gardastraeti 40, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing