We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class Apartments!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Reykjavik
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Embassy Luxury Apartments
Ranked #8 of 109 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, MD
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Top Class Apartments!”
Reviewed 25 February 2010

These apartments are a great choice for staying in the city centre of Reykjavik! They are about 300 metres from the city centre, and located in the peaceful Embassy District. A short 2 minute walk will take you to many pubs, bars and shops in the city centre. The apartment was small, but very well equipped - hairdryer, toaster, kettle, pots and pans and all the implements one would need to cook most meals. The cleaning staff are friendly and wash all of your dishes! We stayed in apartment 80, and was clean and well decorated. It had satellite tv, a small dining table with two chairs and a small double bed. The bathroom is particularly small, but you can get by easily. All in all, these apartments are a gem!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hwylfawrcariad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    50
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
68
116
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2010

We stayed at apartment 80, at the Embassy Apartments (note the Castle Apartments are linked to the Embassy Apartments but they are located elsewhere: so ensure that you read the correct reviews.)

Apartment 80 is not a luxury apartment.

It is, in our opinion of a 3 star standard: clean, cosy and in a great location for everything.

There is no bath and the shower (with a curtain) is small.

The room is of medium size, with a TV (BBC). There is very little wardrobe space and the bed is smaller than those described as ‘Queen size’ in the USA. The kitchen has everything that you could need.

Whilst not luxury, it is a nice apartment and the location is hard to beat.

The staff (we never saw them but they are contacted easily) are very helpful.

If you want a nice room with the advantage of a kitchen then go for these apartments: maybe try for a room with a better bathroom.

The location is great for restaurants and bars but a few minutes away from the Friday / Saturday noise.

Having said that, at this time of year (Feb) there was no noise at night! The center was very quiet: the restaurants and bars were empty and the center is very small. The ‘downtown’ area is very close to the apartment: it then stretches away along one main road: all very walkable.

Reykjavik can be ‘done’ in a day.
Most visitors seem to use it as a base for touring.
We used Go Iceland for our tours: they were very efficient and helpful. They pick you up at your apartment.
Tours: Blue Lagoon, Golden Circle, South Coast Drive and the Northern lights were all great.
Note that the museum was closed on a Monday.
Restaurants: everyone we tried was good: the food was good / excellent, wine expensive (£5 a glass for house, from £24 a bottle), beer OK (about £4 a pint): service always of a good standard.

Flybus: pre booked on Internet: booth just near arrivals: coach took 50 minutes: then onto a minibus for quick transfer to Hotel Reykjavik Centrum (just 4 min walk around corner). East transfer to and from hotel.

Weather was very cold (it's the wind!): there was no snow: we were informed that Iceland has only had 2.5 inches of snow this winter, lowest ever recorded. Also informed that Snow Mobiling took place on rubber mats!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FieldofClothofGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbassyReyjavik, Manager at Embassy Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 23 February 2010
We appreciate all the reviews we receive. Partly because we like to read good things about ourselves but also because we often get important information on how to improve. In this case I just want to say that apt. 80 is the only studio apt. at the Embassy, the other apartments are one or two bedroom apartments, have much better bathrooms and bigger beds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2010

Just returned from 5 nights at the Embassy Luxury Apartments. You may not call it luxury if you prefer staying in hotels but it fitted our requirements perfectly. Getting the key on a arrival was no problem, you just buzzed reception from the door and they let you in and keys were waiting inside. We'd asked for some food shopping and we had the basics for breakfast, bread, butter, orange juice and milk and tea and coffee was complimentary. The apartment was spacious and warm with lashings of very hot water and very conveniently a short walk from the centre. Travelling with a teenager it's sometimes difficult to find suitable places to eat and as it's quite expensive to eat out we were pleased to be able to shop at the local supermarket just round the corner and prepare some of our own food which not only saved money but meant my son had what he wanted to eat. Clean towels and cleaning most days, including washing up! Wifi worked perfectly, again is good for teenagers who like to keep in touch with their friends when away. All in all the perfect base for a trip to Reykjavik esp. as the tour companies pick up and drop off right outside the door.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonita28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2010

A well located apartment (Embassy Apartments) just outside the very centre of Reykjavik.
The apartments were easy to find and just a very short walk from the centre - easily within reach of everything you'd want.
The apartments are clean and reasonably equipped - good value for money for the low price, but not quite enough to justify the claim of luxury. Cheaper than a hotel, but offering everything you need. Had some minor problems with noise from other apartments and a blocked drain in the shower. However, the staff dealt with the blocked drain very rapidly - even offering to come out at 11pm!
Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MayesTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2009

Stayed at the Embassy Luxury Apartments for a weekend break during Decemeber, thoroughly enjoyed stay and are considering returning to the city, and the hotel, same time next year. Conviniently located, the hotel is a short walk from the city centre and the main shopping streets, aswell as the main bus terminals for hotel transfers and day trips. Situated in a beautiful residential area, the hotel is well designed and always feels safe. Rooms were spacious and fully equipt with everything you could need for a comfortable stay, in particular, the kitchen which came in very handy. Upon arrival, we felt slightly confused at the lack of reception, about what to do, but there are lots of notes and information left for guests that you quickly gain confidence about how to go about things. Would definately recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Red_Army1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2009

I just stayed at the Embassy Luxury Apts. last week (Oct'09) . Like it was said earlier , this place is in a great location . It's a short walk to Ingolfstorg, which is a nice start to the downtown area. It's close to the fishermans wharf where there are some good restaurants (Hamborgara bullan aka burger joint &, Sea baron )
The apt is across the street from the russian embassy . I happened to be there during the Airwaves music festival , which packs the town , and you would have never known it . it is a very quiet block . They are very helpful , and will store your luggage if you arrive early (or let you in if the place is available ) and will store your luggage if you have a late flight and want to look around before you leave without carrying all your stuff .
Getting access to the apt. worked well. There was an intercom that you press and goes right to the main office . They buzz you in and on a counter inside is an envelope with your name on it and keys inside . I stayed in Apt 80 which is a studio. i think it would have been good for two people. The bathroom is small but fine for 1 person .The kitchen is a nice size and has all the amenities to make anything should you want to cook .The living area has a full table and two chairs and a comfortable bed (full size). They clean everyday and even take care of any dishes that are left in the sink . There are enough tv options to keep you occupied . I felt secure leaving my stuff there and i think a woman travelling alone would feel very safe there as well . I mention this because I have a friend who travels by herself a lot , and asks me where I stayed when I travel . I cant;t think of anything else. The free wireless worked very well. If I do I'll add it on if I can

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shagggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2009

Stayed at the Embassy Apts, as well as their twin - Castle House - several times. Liked Embassy Apts even more than Castle House. It is just slightly further away from night-life hub of Reykajvik downtown, which means that all pubs and the lake with birds are still within easy reach, but you can still stay away from the noise if you prefer are quite lie-down, since there are no actaul pubs on Gardastraeti, just embassies! Rooms are very spacious, well enough equipped for those who want to cater for themselves. When I stayed there, I needed to attend conference at Hotel Saga, and found that I did not actually need the car I rented (except for a day when the weather was very nasty) to drive there, could easily walk over. Recomment it wholeheartedly!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stasmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#19 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,748 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Miõborg
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Luxury Apartments

Property: Embassy Luxury Apartments
Address: Gardastraeti 40, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing