We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Embassy Luxury Apartments
Ranked #8 of 109 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed 13 September 2007

We had an absolutely wonderful stay in the Embassy Luxury Apartments. Everything was clean and in working order. The rooms were spacious. The location could not have been better! I will certainly recommend this place to others traveling to Iceland.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gerie74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    50
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
65
115
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, ca
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2007

This apt is great. It's so spacious and gosh... it's so roomy and nice that I wish that's my real home in the USA.

The floor plan is nice and it's very quiet and very neat/clean. We were there with our in laws and the 5 of us were all pleased. The only thing that we wish different is that we wish there are 2 bathrooms instead of 1. This floorplan really gives alot of privacy and if there is another bathroom by the kitchen/living room, it would've been even better.

I would recommend this apartment to everyone that goes to Iceland.

Oh, forgot to mention about the staff. I had a few emails back and forth and the staff were so nice to answer my endless questions that it's really unbelievable!

As everything is very expensive in Iceland, I am not sure when I will be visiting again but yet... i know if I do, i would not consider any other hotels at all except Castle House & Embassy apts for sure =)

  • Liked — Roomy!
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Magtse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2007

We stayed in apartment 70 for 5 nights. It is in a fabulous location- near the centre of town and the harbour. We had parking which was a bonus. The apartment was beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and very well equipped. Free internet access too. As a family of 5 with 3 teenage sons we appreciated the space and it was great to have a kitchen and have the option to prepare meals (eating out in Iceland does not come cheap!)

  • Liked — decor and cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing we didn't like
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank montymax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2007

My family LOVED staying at the Embassy Apartments this June and we highly recommend these apartments to anyone headed to Reykjavik. This was our first trip to Iceland and we didn't know what to expect. Since my husband and I were traveling with our 12-year old son and my father, we would have needed to book 2 hotel rooms. Instead, we opted for Apt. 70 which has 2 bedrooms - one with a queen bed and one with 2 twin beds (and a pull-out couch bed in the living area). It was actually slightly less expensive than the 2 hotel rooms would have cost in the hotels we were considering. A common theme running through most Iceland reviews is the expense. While Iceland is not a cheap place to vacation, we felt it was well worth the money. Plus, the nicely equipped kitchen in our apartment made it easy to have meals there since we could store groceries from a nearby store and pastries we picked up at a bakery. By eating breakfasts and some lunches at the apartment, we could splurge for nice dinners out on the town. Overall, we could not have been happier with our choice of accomodations. We easily could have fit 1 or 2 more people comfortably in the apartment (although that may be too much competition for the 1 bathroom for some people). It is a great choice for families or two couples. The living areas are spacious and well-appointed. In addition to casual dishes and flatware in the kitchen, there is also nicer china, glassware, silverware and linens in the dining room for more elegant meals. The kitchen has all of the appliances and cookware that you would need even for a complicated meal. There is also a nice deck and garden outside the apartment. The artwork, the small library of books and the furnishings in the apartment give you the feeling of borrowing an apartment from a close friend instead of staying at an impersonal hotel. We took a few photos which don't really do justice to the apartment, but we'll include them anyway. One of the best features of the apartment is the location, which is absolutely brilliant. It is a short (about 3-4 blocks) walk to the city center, but you are in a quiet residential area so when you are ready to head home, it is peaceful and you can get some sleep away from the commotion of town. Although, if you travel in June, as we did, don't forget to bring comfortable eye shades. The sun just doesn't really go down here in the summer and if you wake at 2am, it's tough to convince your body to go back to sleep. The reservations process for the apartments was simple and the property owner promptly responded to all of my many e-mail requests for confirmations and various miscellaneous questions about the apartment and about Iceland - he could not have been more gracious. The staff was also exceptional. We arrived in Keflavik after an overseas plane trip at about 6am. After a taxi ride to Reykjavik, we were able to reach the staff around 8am via an outside buzzer in order for them to unlock the outside security door and let us leave our luggage inside the entry for the building. This way, even though the previous occupants were still inside the apartment and we were hours away from our scheduled check-in, we had the ability to walk around town unencumbered - what a relief! Since we were fairly tired after overnight traveling, we checked back at the apartment after the check-out time for the former residents to see if we could get into the apartment early. The staff were still working, but they were so accomodating and they let us relax in the living room (several hours prior to our actual check-in) while they finished cleaning the rest of the apartment. The staff was also great about keeping the place clean and stocked for our entire visit. We only had 4 nights in Reykjavik since we were actually on our way to another destination, but we managed to fit alot in during our short stay. Our absolute favorite excursion was a private tour that we booked with Mountain Taxi. Our guide showed up at the apartment in an incredibly souped-up 4x4 and took us on a different version of the Golden Circle tour than you would get from the bus tours, going off-road to ford rivers and including a ride up into the middle of a glacier (in winter you get to snowmobile at this part of the tour we were told). We were also able to spend as much (or little) time as we wanted at Gulfoss waterfall, Geysir and Thingvellir National Park and other stops. We also had the ability to make other unscheduled stops along the way. While it was quite a bit more expensive than the bus tours - this MADE our trip! This is not the place to economize on your Iceland trip, so just go for the extra expense - you will be very glad that you did. We also spent 2 days walking around Reykjavik, including museum visits to the Saga Museum and the National Museum of Iceland. Both were great introductions to the history of the country. Reykjavik is a wonderful walking city - clean, nice sidewalks and paths, fun shopping and friendly people. Plus, you have so much daylight for exploring in the summer. We also enjoyed a combination horse ride / Blue Lagoon trip. The Icelandic horses were very gentle and easy to ride and the 2-hour ride was just the right amount of time. Afterwards, the coach takes you to the Blue Lagoon for a relaxing afternoon in the mineral water where you can coat your face with their famous silica mud and float in the almost eerie blue-green water. It was a great ending for the day. The only regret we had is that we didn't have sufficient time to explore areas that were further away from Reykjavik.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — We liked everything
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank jkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2007

We came to Reykjavik with our four year old and two year old, and selected the Embassy Luxury Apartments because it gave us more space and the ability to cook. The location is great- a nice neighborhood a few hundred meters from the center of town. Our apartment (#70) was spacious - two bedrooms, a kitchen, a dining room and a living room. Everything very well maintained. Furnishings are a bit like stepping into an Ikea store- simple, practical, clean lines (although most of the books are in Icelandic rather than Swedish).

There were a couple of quirks. The shower is apparently geothermally heated- it has a bit of a sulfur smell and the water is pretty hard. The kitchen doesn't have any spices or other basics beyond pots and pans and salt/pepper - given Iceland's prices it would be nice not to be buying this sort of stuff . A washing machine would be handy, though the staff is willing to do your laundry if you ask.

If your budget allows it it, it's a great place to stay.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Kikuchiyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2007

My husband, teenage daughter and I just returned from a three day stopover in Reykjavik. We loved everything about our visit - the city, the scenery, the museums, the food and the people, and our stay was greatly enhanced by our accomodation in apt. 90 at the Embassy. Making the arrangements was very convenient given the property owner's quick and helpful email responses to my inquiries. The apartment was as promised - all necessary amenities, extremely clean, and in an exceptional location just a few minutes from downtown, but on a quiet side street. We had plenty of space to spread out, appreciated the complimentary internet access, and were able to save money on breakfasts by eating at 'home'. The king bed in the bedroom was very comfortable, and the pullout sofa was fine for our daughter. As expected, while the owner was not on the premises on our arrival, we had no trouble ringing to be buzzed in, and the staff was easy to reach and provided many helpful bits of information and recommendations when we called. A few things not to miss, especially if you are on a short stopover as we were: 1. take the Flybus directly to the Blue Lagoon on arrival; 2. take the Golden circle tour - a local we met at Laugardalslaug, one of the city swimming pools, referred to it as the 'Golden Money' tour, but still the sights are well worth it; 3. Take the bus to Laugardalslaug and enjoy swimming and chatting with the locals (the 1, 2 or 3 day Reykjavik tourist card provides access to the pools, busses and many museums at a reasonable price. Visit the Tourist info office for details); 4. Eat at the Seafood Cellar - without question it was worth every penny; 4. For more affordable grub, try a lamb hotdog with the works at Baejarins Bestu, the lobster soup at Saegreifinn and if you need a burger fix, go next door to Hamborgarabúllan; 5. Absolutely don't miss the National Museum of Iceland and both the view of the city and the Saga Museum at the Perlan. Reykjavik is well worth a visit, and the Embassy Luxury Apartments provides the perfect home base from which to launch your explorations.

  • Liked — location, cleanliness
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank travelmomNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2007

We stayed here for 5 nights at the end of March, in Embassy Apartment 90. It was absolutely perfect - the apartment was on the 1st (top) floor, which I prefer, and it was absolutely enormous - huge lounge / dining room, with large leather sofa, TV, etc, and dining table. Bedroom also huge, with big fitted wardrobes. bed was 2 large twins pushed together. Kitchen facilities were perfectly adequate and had all the equipment one would need. Same with the bathroom. Apartment was serviced daily. Location-wise, couldn't have asked for better - 2 mins walk to main sqare, but we were never disturbed, even on Fri / Sat nights.
I had been tempted to try for the Castle House ones instead, as they are by the lake, but to be honest, the lake is so unattractive, this isn't a selling point!! Oh, and don't be put off by the outside of the buildings - architecture is not Reykjavik's strong point!! Fabulous inside though - neutral decor, spotlessly clean, etc.
One tip - make sure you hire a car, preferably a 4x4 (as we had a Yaris and had to keep turning back on some of our journeys as the roads were so bad), and get out into the wilderness - it's amazing. Reykjavik itself is a little dull, but the countryside more than makes up for it!
Oh, and yes it's all very expensive - don't order wine in restaurants!! This is why a self-catering apartment is so great!

  • Liked — Location and size
  • Disliked — The sulphurous smell of the water - but that's Iceland for you!!
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank KHBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
987 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
545 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Reykjavik Downtown HI Hostel
#3 of 102 in Reykjavik
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Luxury Apartments

Property: Embassy Luxury Apartments
Address: Gardastraeti 40, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing