We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not real sushi” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of OSUSHI The Train

OSUSHI The Train
Ranked #225 of 454 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$40
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Miõborg
Description: Be sure to enjoy the fun dining experience of a Japanese style restaurant with fresh Icelandic seafood and various meat plates. OSUSHI is located in the heart of Reykjavik, actually right next door to the historical Althingi. Be prepared to be mesmerized by the desirable selection of dishes on the conveyor belt. OSUSHI is a restaurant which combines the unique atmosphere and casualness of sitting at a bar. Be sure you don't miss The Volacano while in Iceland! That is our most famous and popular sushi plate. We also offer a nice selection of sashimi and sushi rolls, as well as tempting tempura, salads, nigir and desserts.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“not real sushi”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

the windows were dirty and I thought of leaving but decided to give it a chance. But the sushi is bland and the service very average.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sylvía M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    30
    24
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unique and relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

First time going to a conveyor belt style sushi restaurant! What I loved about it was how "hands off" the staff were. We could relax and slowly pick the sushi at our own pace. For Iceland, the prices are normal. I would expect to spend about $20/person to walk away full. Good atmosphere, sushi and prices.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
100 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good and quiet sushi”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

If you´re in for a snach or a more light dinner, visit this place for good sushi. It is good quality and affordable but if you´re looking to spend serious money on sushi and raise the bar some additional notches, try and find some of the other top seafood restaurant. Wil definately go here again for lunch or a light dinner.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bigasstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Really good sushi, good location, nice atmo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Been going to this sushi restaurant for years and it never fails.
To be able to choose your pieces as you like - I LIKE :)
Fresh ingredience, quick service, good wine and sushi beer.
Its easy eating, fun for kids to watch "the Train", noting fance just relaxed and excelent sushi.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Food-lover-and-more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quick, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

If we are in the mood for eating out, but do not fancy waiting, we often go to OSUSHI. They have good sushi, and you do not have to wait at all.

When I worked close by, it was also a favorite for lunch takeaway.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Klaus J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed OSUSHI The Train also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to OSUSHI The Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing