We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff, excellent value for money, free Wi-Fi”
Review of Einholt Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Einholt Apartments
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Four of us stayed for 5 nights. Do shop around for prices as the website we booked from was substantially cheaper than others. Hence we had a great deal. You could also book direct as the owner is very responsive to emails.

We arrived on the last flight and booked the Flybus online prior to leaving the UK. It is the preferred transport from the airport, unless you wish to hire a car. The Flybus will take you directly to the apartments. For the return journey, you will need to inform Flybus of the time to pick you up, the day before you leave.

Prior to you arriving, you will get an email from Halldor, the owner, informing you the access code to the building. The keys will be at the small reception area waiting. There is plenty of information there, maps of the city, info on tours etc and a free phone (local calls) where you would ring for assistance, to book local tours or the Flybus for the return journey.

There is also a local area map on the reception wall and you will find the locations of 3 of the nearest supermarkets, all about 3-5 minutes’ walk. We went for our main groceries at Noatun which had everything we needed. If you wish to consume alcohol, buy them at the airport as it is much cheaper.

We booked all our tours online before we left the UK, through Travel Republic. They organised it with the local company Reykjavik Excursions. All the paperwork was sent via email which we printed before we left the UK. The other local company is Gray Line. You can book the tours online directly with the companies but we paid Travel Republic GBP so did not have to worry about and exchange rate.

If you prefer you can book the tours using the phone at the apartments’ reception area which is free. We just felt it was easier to organise everything beforehand. There are also some smaller specialist tour companies in the centre of Reykjavik. The tour company we used was very efficient and punctual with pick up and drop off at the apartments for every tour, usually 30 minutes before the start of any tour.

The location of the apartments was convenient about 10-15 minutes’ walk into the centre of Reykjavik. The surroundings are a little drab around the apartments, more vibrant in the centre and the harbour areas where there are some nice restaurants and bars but quite a few restaurants close at 21:00.

We booked a 2 rooms apartment for 4 but when we arrived we were allocated 2 x 2 bed apartments. As we arrived past midnight and did not see anyone, we were only told afterwards, the next day that there was a problem with a leak in the 2 rooms apartment originally reserved for us. We were happy to continue to stay in the apartments allocated but it was not ideal, a little inconvenient as we had expected to share toiletries and it also made it a little awkward with trying to cook using utensils stocked for 2. Our rooms were on street level but we didn’t hear much noise from outside traffic although the room walls are quite thin.

You could compare the standard of the apartments to Premier Inns/Travel Lodges/motels in the UK with a kitchenette and dining area but without sofas or a sitting area. The apartments were basically clean (perhaps needing a little sweep under the beds) and warm with easy to control radiators. The beds were comfortable. Towels were changed every couple of days. The kitchenette was all electric with 2 rings for cooking and unfortunately only one plug point which you would have to swap your kettle, toaster and microwave with. A chopping board was missing in one of the apartments, the cooker extractor didn’t work but most things were there and unexpectedly equipped with washing up liquid, sponge, tea towel and rubbish bags which were a bonus! One room had curtains but another had blinds which unfortunately didn’t work very well. We had ‘Eagle’ come over to take a look at it and had a makeshift solution.

The Wi-Fi was OK, a little sketchy depending on where you were in the apartment. The Wi-Fi access code was on a clip on the window ledge inside the apartment. The TV had English channels but initially the sound on some channels was not working but once reset by ‘Eagle’, it was fine. No bath, only shower and hand held but the water pressure was OK. There is a hairdryer available as well as an iron and ironing board. There are also free laundry facilities in a common area.

The minimal of staff, very efficient running – use reception phone or email to correspond. Despite some minor niggles, it was excellent value for money. Both ‘Eagle’ and Halldor the owner were very relaxed guys, helpful and we thank them for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chuich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2013

I stayed at Einholt Apartments a few years ago with my roommate. It was our first trip to Iceland. We wanted a place close to downtown that was affordable. If you are a self sufficient, low maintenance kind of traveler then this is the place for you. We had a typical guestroom on the first floor. This room was an efficiency suite (I believe they all are) with a kitchen, dining area and separate washroom. When we got back to our room every night we would find our fridge stocked with the basics (bread, meat, yogurt, milk, cheese) and there was cereal and other canned foods in the pantry. The staff was very friendly and always were able to answer questions and help with booking excursions. The room was always cleaned and we felt very safe in this area of the city. Great area for walking around and sightseeing. Also a very quiet part of the downtown area. Great for sleeping at night. If you visit Reykajavik, Iceland please consider Einholt for your accommodations. You'll be pleased you did.

Room Tip: Ask for a newer renovated room. The first floor is very convenient for going in and out. We had the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

If and when I return to Iceland I will gladly stay here again without question. I stayed at their location across the street in the one bedroom. Place consists of two buildings. I always like to compile the good, the bad, and the ugly in a list form.

The Good:
1) Location is excellent with plenty of parking in the lot and on the street.
2) Heating was excellent and able to be controlled well.
3) Owner is accessible by phone as I had to call him in the morning because of some confusion with where the apartment was. He was extremely helpful and friendly.
4) Appliances and furniture where more than adequate for a rental and worked great.
5) Apartment was spotless.
6) Plenty of privacy with blinds and very thick curtains that shut out the sunlight.
7) Beds were comfortable.
8) WiFi signal is excellent.
9) Apartment had tons of space.
10) Apartment building itself was very quiet inside.

The Bad:
1) Street was occasionally noisy and carried up into the room. Busy hotel across the street. Lots of bus tours coming and going. Random drunks passing by singing. (Noise was not obnoxious just noticeable) I was able to sleep fine.
2) Curtains hang over the radiators. (Easy solution is to place the curtain on the window sill by folding the bottom to the outside and close any gap you see)
3) Some confusion getting the WiFi to work with username and password. I don't remember the specific problem now, but I know it was a little challenging. We ended up getting it to work.
4) Elevator is small. You will need to make two trips if you have three or more people.
5) Carpet leading to the room door is a little worn and not clean looking.

The Ugly:
1) Horrendous smell of sulfur coming from the bathroom sink, toilet, and especially the shower. Kitchen sink only had an occasional very faint smell that would disappear after running the water 10 seconds or so. The water in the bathroom however, was continuous. The hot water smelled worse than the cold probably from sitting in a tank. I personally wasn't bothered too much by this but the women had some issues with it.

Overall, I would come back to this place. The smell of the water was only a minor thing when you compare all of the positives this place has to offer. I would imagine in the busy season the water moves more through the pipes and probably doesn't smell as bad if at all.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soulprovider915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

It is a good choice for a couple who are on a budget, and for people who are planning to not stay in the room at all, only for sleeping.Luckily we kept ourselves very busy...
I stayed here over the Xmas period with my boyfriend. Unfortunately when we arrived after midnight the keys were not prepared in the lobby as i was expecting, so i had to call the manager , so we sorted all out promptly through phone.We have got the room 104 which is on the ground floor , so it was quite dark, and my bf was allergic to be on street level.
Another minus was that i couldn't cook as the fire alarm went on , or I had to stay with the window open, so all the people could see me passing on the street, although they have this lovely small kitchenettes, with coffe machine, toaster, hobs, microwave, kettle, fridge.
the studio is much more smaller than expected.
No cleaning was done during our stay, which was from 22 to 27(i was expecting at least towel changing)
The WI-fi didn't come on straight away, so I had to call the manager again.
Positive points are that it is a great location, every concern is promptly sorted, they help you a lot with advices, emails.

Room Tip: Street level quite depressing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eritzi85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Stayed here in November for Iceland Airwaves Festival - Good location, great price, helpful staff, rooms cleaned and towels replaced regularly. The rooms are warm and comfortable and have kitchenettes. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Visited in November '12 . apartments look shabby from outside but don't judge a book by its cover as we found our one bed apartment to be modern, warm, clean and cosy with a fully equipt kitchen and excellent shower in bathroom .

Fantastic value and great location , we walked into Reykjavik and saw the main sites on foot also , there is a shop 2 mins walk to stock up the fridge open til late.

Only downsides was that we got 2 single beds pushed together instead of a double and the blinds in the room didn't keep out all of the streetlight, but apart from that we were very happy with our stay and the value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mswain15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

Checked us in early at 12 and upgraded us to an apartment with two bedrooms. It was very spacious with a nice balcony. Location was great - quick walk into center, lots of free parking. Only complaint is that cleaner only came in once to change towels in a week. Owner is very nice and accommodating. We plan to come back and would defo stay here again. Nice cafe at bottom of street with great breakfast specials and free refills on coffee.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hippyhoppym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Stay Bolholt Apartments
#32 of 109 in Reykjavik
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hlemmur Square
#9 of 110 in Reykjavik
1,145 reviews
Kerno Apartments
#7 of 110 in Reykjavik
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Einholt Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Einholt Apartments

Address: Einholt 2, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 110 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: £83 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Einholt Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Einholt Apartments. Einholt is a modern apartment hotel located in Reykjavik city center. Einholt Apartments is the perfect choice for the independent traveller wishing for the comfort of a hotel and the privacy of a home. Einholt is a modern designed apartment hotel offering 23 practical and comfortable fully equipped self-catering apartments from studio to three bedroom apartments. All apartments include a fully equipped kitchen and a shower bathroom. Interior is newly renovated from top to bottom. Towels and linen is provided. Non-smoking apartments only. Flat screen TV. Free high-speed wireless internet connection in all apartments. Free telephone and computer in the lobby. Plenty free parking spaces in front of hotel. Ideal for long or short stays. Einholt Apartments have 14 double studio apartments, 3 family studio apartments 4 one bedroom apartments, 4 two bedroom apartments, all with twin / double bed and 1 three bedroom apartment. In order to offer low prices lobby staff is almost none existent but any necessary information is conveniently located in the lobby. We use modern technology to check guests in and you can use the free telephone in the lobby to contact us at anytime. Free wireless internet in all rooms. Plenty of free parking spaces. We will send you email with very simply check in instructions after booking along with other useful information. Location/located near: Einholt is located in a quiet area just a few steps away from the busy shopping street Laugavegur. A 10-minute stroll down Laugavegur takes you to the lively part of down town with stores, restaurants, cafes and bars. The street then takes you to the heart of Reykjavik. Hlemmur, the bus main terminal is also within 50 meters away, where you can catch a bus to anywhere within Reykjavik.Also within walking distance you will find Laugardalur, Reykjavik's biggest activity park offering a large swimming pool and hot tubs, Iceland's largest fitness center and spa (World Class), the Botanical Garden of Reykjavik, the Family Park, the Domestic Animal Zoo and the indoor ice-skating ring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Einholt Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Einholt Apartments Hotel
Einholt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing