We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value and High Standard”
Review of Einholt Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Einholt Apartments
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Einholt for 4 nights and paid extra for a late checkout. We were thoroughly impressed with the cleanliness of the apartment and the quality of provisions. The location was fine - about 10 mins walk from the main shopping area of the city. All the tours / trips we did picked us up from our door, including our bus to and from the airport.

Our towels were changed 3 times and our bin emptied every day - really impressive for a self catering apartment!

I would highly recommend Einholt and hope to be back!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stayowner, Guest Relations Manager at Einholt Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear guest. Thank you for taking them time to review our apartments. When we receive these types of compliments it means that our efforts are being rewarded and it makes us want to keep going and do even better.
Thank you and we hope to see you again in Reykjavík.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Being a civil trained engineer. There are some basic necessities in building a house and designing it which I believe needed to be relooked into.

But first the good stuff. Good working heaters in all the rooms. Kitchenette quite well equipped. Stove top, microwave oven, fridge, kettle, dishwasher, all working fine. Consider replacing the toaster with a different type. It's filthy with crumbs from god knows when. Did not try the coffee maker and conventional oven.

Place was advertised as equipped with cable TV. Was quite exciting to see a huge list of exciting channels but none of them work. Check with the management, they said it was still yet to be completed. Should be up on a few weeks. I hope so.

The bathroom came with a tub, but did not have a stopper for the drainage. I've asked for it since day 1, but nothing was done till even checkout. So I improvised and used the stopper at the kitchen sink.

Weird design of the layout had the toilet door facing the main door. Bad idea. I don't want to ever get caught pants down. What's weirder is the gradient in the toilet. Water does not flow to the drainage. It flows to the door and stays there. Ponding there is going to rot the door and frame soon.

Bedroom came with a full size cabinet. Bed was facing the door. Door is at a corner. The room felt cramp and not very comfortable. Even though the mattress felt alright.

I liked the concept of self served check in and check out. No fuss.
Wifi connection is good but has a download limit of 500mb per device per day. Downloading can continue by at a lower speed. Irritating but still acceptable.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank KelunOfSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stayowner, Guest Relations Manager at Einholt Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear guest. Thank you for taking the time to review our apartments in such a precise manner. We appreciate your candidness and honesty.I will be forwarding all your thoughts to our designer and our handy men and we will take all this under consideration. . Regarding the fact that you did not receive a response about the stopper for the tub, I would like to apologise, this was because of a communication error between management and housekeeping, well done to use the kitchen stopper :)

We hope to see you again in Reykjavík in the future and would love to accommodate you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Good location to main shopping street, it is a bit of a walk down to the harbour but wasnt a problem.
Nice to not have the staff fussing around all the time.
Great concept of holiday apartments and would recommend to others.
Apartment was clean and spacious and a great base for a lovely holiday in iceland.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank CharleyP50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stayowner, General Manager at Einholt Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our apartments and our concept, knowing that guests are responding positively to our hard work gives us great pleasure.
We hope that you will visit us again in the future,
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Overall, these apartments were really quiet, clean, well located (with good parking) and superb value for money. We stayed in these apartments (Einholt) for a total of 4 nights. When we arrived, we had been told that our keys would be waiting for us. There were indeed other keys for other guests, but none for us. We phoned the owner who informed us that due to a late booking (despite the fact that we had booked 4 months in advance), we had been moved to another apartment (Grettisgata). As it was closer to the centre of town, we were told that this was an "upgrade". However, it was most certainly a downgrade. The apartment was in an old converted house, which was very noisy both from inside and outside of the house. After very little sleep, we called the owner the next morning and asked to be moved back to Einholt. Fortunately, there was space and we spent the next 4 nights in a very pleasant environment. There was no direct contact with the staff but this was clear from the off.

Room Tip: Do not go to Grettisgata apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dec1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayownerIceland, General Manager at Einholt Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear guest. Thank you for your honest opinion of our apartments.
First of I would like to apologise for the fact that you were relocated and that you were not notified beforehand. This is something that we have had to do on occasion when we receive over bookings, however during the last few months we have changed many of our practises to prevent these from happening. This will hopefully be non existent come this summer.
We are sad to hear that you felt that Grettisgata was not to your standards, we are so proud of our little house in "Old Reykjavík" that is so close to all the buzz of the city centre but still in a quiet and comfortable street. But of course you had different expectations having booked Einholt which are more open and newer. I am glad that we were able to fit you back in to Einholt and that you were comfortable for the rest of your stay with us.
We will welcome you back anytime, best regard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The photos look beautiful and our room might have been but we were in the building across the street. At first I thought it was just ok, nothing special but as the stay went on I felt happier to be leaving. The good point is the location, very quick walk into the town centre and there is free parking too which is good. Currently there are apartments being built right across from it though so if you are thinking of staying in the next few months -don't. They started at about 7am, when you are on holiday this is not what you want. We never saw anyone to do with the accommodation which is what we expected but it was weird and although on the whole the place was nice ,things were a bit dirty or in need of being fixed. It just wasn't as good as we were hoping for and I think there are similar places for the same money which are far superior.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparklie_em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StayownerIceland, General Manager at Einholt Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to review our property. We value our guests opinions and always strive to do better. We are very happy that you were satisfied with the location of our apartments and the free parking we provide.
We do agree with you that the construction taking place close by is a bit of a nuisance, they should not start until 8 am however and I will speak to the construction workers about that. But this area is going to be even better because of it so while we are happy about that it bothers us that some of our guests find it a bit unpleasant.
If you found the apartment to be dirty, I would like to apologise for that, that is of course not acceptable and I will mention this to our housekeeping department for review.
Our "Home away from Home" concept is clearly working, we try to be ´hidden away´ so that guests can feel more flexible and free during their holiday, but if anything is needed we are always just a phone call away.
If you come back to Reykjavík in the future we would love to accommodate you again and prove to you that the works happening now, around us and within our apartments will have been worth it. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Great location, main street is just around a corner, parking right in front of the building.
We've been in two apartments, both spacious and bright. Kitchen well equipped and a hair dryer in bathrooms.
I only had a problem with cleanliness - no bathroom or kitchen were very clean - sink, shower and washbasin were all covered with scale, somewhere even with black fungus. On the other side bed linen and towels were clean. Towels ere changed every two days.
Have been reading here some people here were bothered by the noise from the construction site across the street - in both apartments all bedrooms overlooked the inner courtyard, and we were leaving the apartment till 9,30 am so didn't even noticed that.
All in all a great place to stay when in Reykjavik, but if you have a you have a little higher standards of cleanliness, bring/buy something for a quick disinfection :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariMzg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Do not stay here. Facilities were poor and badly maintained. Room not as description or picture. Dirty towels and sheets provided. Contacted staff by phone in the unstaffed reception to be told he was sleeping and didn't care. Would not touch again even if paid to stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sam287938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Stay Bolholt Apartments
#30 of 108 in Reykjavik
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hlemmur Square
#9 of 110 in Reykjavik
1,137 reviews
Miõborg
Alfred's Apartments
Alfred's Apartments
#29 of 110 in Reykjavik
133 reviews
Nordurey Guesthouse
#37 of 110 in Reykjavik
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Einholt Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Einholt Apartments

Address: Einholt 2, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 110 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: £86 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Einholt Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Einholt Apartments. Einholt is a modern apartment hotel located in Reykjavik city center. Einholt Apartments is the perfect choice for the independent traveller wishing for the comfort of a hotel and the privacy of a home. Einholt is a modern designed apartment hotel offering 23 practical and comfortable fully equipped self-catering apartments from studio to three bedroom apartments. All apartments include a fully equipped kitchen and a shower bathroom. Interior is newly renovated from top to bottom. Towels and linen is provided. Non-smoking apartments only. Flat screen TV. Free high-speed wireless internet connection in all apartments. Free telephone and computer in the lobby. Plenty free parking spaces in front of hotel. Ideal for long or short stays. Einholt Apartments have 14 double studio apartments, 3 family studio apartments 4 one bedroom apartments, 4 two bedroom apartments, all with twin / double bed and 1 three bedroom apartment. In order to offer low prices lobby staff is almost none existent but any necessary information is conveniently located in the lobby. We use modern technology to check guests in and you can use the free telephone in the lobby to contact us at anytime. Free wireless internet in all rooms. Plenty of free parking spaces. We will send you email with very simply check in instructions after booking along with other useful information. Location/located near: Einholt is located in a quiet area just a few steps away from the busy shopping street Laugavegur. A 10-minute stroll down Laugavegur takes you to the lively part of down town with stores, restaurants, cafes and bars. The street then takes you to the heart of Reykjavik. Hlemmur, the bus main terminal is also within 50 meters away, where you can catch a bus to anywhere within Reykjavik.Also within walking distance you will find Laugardalur, Reykjavik's biggest activity park offering a large swimming pool and hot tubs, Iceland's largest fitness center and spa (World Class), the Botanical Garden of Reykjavik, the Family Park, the Domestic Animal Zoo and the indoor ice-skating ring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Einholt Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Einholt Apartments Hotel
Einholt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing