We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we needed”
Review of Einholt Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Einholt Apartments
Taunton, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything we needed”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The apartment had everything we needed (including tea, coffee etc) and there was plenty of useful information available. The free phone in the lobby was good for booking trips etc. The apartment was clean, towels changed every other day, good shower, beds very comfortable and overall excellent value for our week in Reykjavik.
The location was good - no distance to the sea or to the main shopping street. Two supermarkets nearby as well, so we cooked most days to keep our costs down.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    140
    72
    23
    13
See reviews for
82
146
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is a youth hostel with no management and no amenities. The room smelled horribly and all of the dishes and sheets were so dirty that we could not use them. We lost our deposit to find another place

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubydaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed here for 6 days in April 2014 paying £257 for use of the modern attractive decently sized apartment.

This was clearly very good value for money and represents a very good choice particularly if you want to visit Iceland without spending a fortune. You can self cater by buying supplies at one of the Bonus shops for a more than reasonable price by Icelandic standards.

The apartments are situated about a 10 minute walk from the centre – certainly convenient enough. You can park outside for free. The building has no reception but has a system to communicate to those who run the place. Your room is serviced every two days. Our apartment was on the lower ground floor. It has a small modern TV – only two English channels – Film 4 and E4. No news channels. We had a double bed, a smallish shower room and toilet, a table and chair seating area plus a kitchen area. The latter had a toaster, kettle, coffee maker, fridge (no freezer compartment) and microwave, together with the usual plates, cups, pans, knives, etc. There was also some tea, coffee, sugar and oil that others had left.

We slept well, liked the décor and the modern facilities. There was some building work taking place bit this did not disturb us. A net curtain might be useful as one person stared through our ground floor window.

Buy your booze duty free before you depart at the duty free in England. My wife and I paid £13 each or so for a litre of whiskey and one of Vodka (duty free for these in Iceland is £21). We added two bottles of wine for £10. Finally at the duty free in the Iceland airport you can buy up to 12 cans each of 5% lager at a reasonable price - around £1+ a can – booze is expensive in Iceland. We also hired a car for 6 days for about £146 through Economomycarrentals.com using faircar rentals. By the way… get a small amount of local cash and use your credit card to pay for everything… I used a Post Office card which has no commission charges .. great… and got 186 krona to the pound (the local bank for English cash.. a pathetic 160 isk for £1!).

Overall I was very pleased with our stay and would recommend this accommodation and stay there again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the key code to the door before you travel as there is no reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nothernman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We began our journey very pleasantly and arrived to our apartment at roughly 10pm. Upon arrival there happened to be a large pile of sick......that was still there when we went out at about 11am the next day! (Talk about first impressions) With there being no memeber of staff to greet you when you arrive, you push a small buzzer and they let you in. You then venture through the block until you get to your apartment. The beds in the apartment are solid, iv seen this before though...... im sure it was called concrete! The 'bed' then had 1 hard pillow each and 2 single duvets on a double! The Fridge/Freezer was without a freezer! You only get 3 channels on your TV, 1 which is E4 (could watch whenever at home), 2 was Film4 (without sound) and 3 was an adult chat programme (great if you've got small children!) We were also told that there were washing/drying facilities available and once needed, it just so happened that they were not working. We were told we could use the 'staff' facilities but only after 6pm, 8pm both were still being used by 'staff'. Once the machines were free we also had to fold the apartments sheets and towels so that they were not left on the floor! This meant that after washing and drying our clothes it was just after 11pm!

Good Luck to you if you wish to attempt to stay here! Please bring a back brace, enough clothes, your own dvd collection and a portable freezer.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sootie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stayowner, Guest Relations Manager at Einholt Apartments, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to evaluate our apartments. We are sad to hear that we did not meet your expectations where it comes to design, cleanliness and amenities. We are a self service apartment hotel and like to give our guests space to enjoy their holidays in peace and therefore at certain times of night when no staff is around we cant know how the state of some areas in the hotel are. Because of this we of course urge our guests to contact us if there is something wrong, if something is needed or corrected. The mattresses in our beds are firm to accommodate most guests, we understand that everybody is different and like different types of mattresses, we would love to accommodate each and every guests specific needs but unfortunately that is not feasible. We have been proud to offer free use of laundry rooms to our guests for many years, unfortunately because of constant use they tend to brake, we then offer our guests to use the staff facilities, it is unfortunate that we were so busy at the time that you needed your washing done. Regarding the fridge/freezer, in our experience a fridge is more than enough for guests staying 4-7 days during their holidays, usually it is only used for storing breakfast, drinks and snacks. We have been working towards getting more TV channels in our hotels, this will be ready in the near future, we however hope that guests wont use the TV´s too much because Iceland is so beautiful and much more interesting than the TV :)
We hope that you will visit Iceland again in the future and we would love to accommodate you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

I was a little worried before our stay having read reviews about double booking but we need not have worried. Everything went smoothly. Apartments are ideally located for main shopping areas, harbour and bus stations. They are clean, comfortable, warm and come with enough crockery, cutlery required. Providing tea bags coffee sugar cooking oil and wash up liquid nice touch. Having access to computer and free telephone to book trips was also really useful. All in all a home from home and excellent value. Can't fault these appts if you looking for centrally located self catering accommodation.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stayowner, Guest Relations Manager at Einholt Apartments, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear guest. Thank you for your lovely review of our apartments, we are so glad that we were able to exceed your expectations. We hope to see you again in the future.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Einholt for 4 nights and paid extra for a late checkout. We were thoroughly impressed with the cleanliness of the apartment and the quality of provisions. The location was fine - about 10 mins walk from the main shopping area of the city. All the tours / trips we did picked us up from our door, including our bus to and from the airport.

Our towels were changed 3 times and our bin emptied every day - really impressive for a self catering apartment!

I would highly recommend Einholt and hope to be back!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stayowner, Guest Relations Manager at Einholt Apartments, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear guest. Thank you for taking them time to review our apartments. When we receive these types of compliments it means that our efforts are being rewarded and it makes us want to keep going and do even better.
Thank you and we hope to see you again in Reykjavík.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Being a civil trained engineer. There are some basic necessities in building a house and designing it which I believe needed to be relooked into.

But first the good stuff. Good working heaters in all the rooms. Kitchenette quite well equipped. Stove top, microwave oven, fridge, kettle, dishwasher, all working fine. Consider replacing the toaster with a different type. It's filthy with crumbs from god knows when. Did not try the coffee maker and conventional oven.

Place was advertised as equipped with cable TV. Was quite exciting to see a huge list of exciting channels but none of them work. Check with the management, they said it was still yet to be completed. Should be up on a few weeks. I hope so.

The bathroom came with a tub, but did not have a stopper for the drainage. I've asked for it since day 1, but nothing was done till even checkout. So I improvised and used the stopper at the kitchen sink.

Weird design of the layout had the toilet door facing the main door. Bad idea. I don't want to ever get caught pants down. What's weirder is the gradient in the toilet. Water does not flow to the drainage. It flows to the door and stays there. Ponding there is going to rot the door and frame soon.

Bedroom came with a full size cabinet. Bed was facing the door. Door is at a corner. The room felt cramp and not very comfortable. Even though the mattress felt alright.

I liked the concept of self served check in and check out. No fuss.
Wifi connection is good but has a download limit of 500mb per device per day. Downloading can continue by at a lower speed. Irritating but still acceptable.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KelunOfSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stayowner, Guest Relations Manager at Einholt Apartments, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear guest. Thank you for taking the time to review our apartments in such a precise manner. We appreciate your candidness and honesty.I will be forwarding all your thoughts to our designer and our handy men and we will take all this under consideration. . Regarding the fact that you did not receive a response about the stopper for the tub, I would like to apologise, this was because of a communication error between management and housekeeping, well done to use the kitchen stopper :)

We hope to see you again in Reykjavík in the future and would love to accommodate you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#34 of 52 in Reykjavik
906 reviews
Stay Bolholt Apartments
#31 of 109 in Reykjavik
159 reviews
Miõborg
Stay Apartments Grettisgata
Stay Apartments Grettisgata
#45 of 102 in Reykjavik
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hlemmur Square
#9 of 102 in Reykjavik
1,081 reviews
Miõborg
Alfred's Apartments
Alfred's Apartments
#24 of 102 in Reykjavik
123 reviews
Apartment K
#14 of 102 in Reykjavik
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Einholt Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Einholt Apartments

Property: Einholt Apartments
Address: Einholt 2, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 102 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Einholt Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Einholt Apartments. Einholt is a modern apartment hotel located in Reykjavik city center. Einholt Apartments is the perfect choice for the independent traveller wishing for the comfort of a hotel and the privacy of a home. Einholt is a modern designed apartment hotel offering 23 practical and comfortable fully equipped self-catering apartments from studio to three bedroom apartments. All apartments include a fully equipped kitchen and a shower bathroom. Interior is newly renovated from top to bottom. Towels and linen is provided. Non-smoking apartments only. Flat screen TV. Free high-speed wireless internet connection in all apartments. Free telephone and computer in the lobby. Plenty free parking spaces in front of hotel. Ideal for long or short stays. Einholt Apartments have 14 double studio apartments, 3 family studio apartments 4 one bedroom apartments, 4 two bedroom apartments, all with twin / double bed and 1 three bedroom apartment. In order to offer low prices lobby staff is almost none existent but any necessary information is conveniently located in the lobby. We use modern technology to check guests in and you can use the free telephone in the lobby to contact us at anytime. Free wireless internet in all rooms. Plenty of free parking spaces. We will send you email with very simply check in instructions after booking along with other useful information. Location/located near: Einholt is located in a quiet area just a few steps away from the busy shopping street Laugavegur. A 10-minute stroll down Laugavegur takes you to the lively part of down town with stores, restaurants, cafes and bars. The street then takes you to the heart of Reykjavik. Hlemmur, the bus main terminal is also within 50 meters away, where you can catch a bus to anywhere within Reykjavik.Also within walking distance you will find Laugardalur, Reykjavik's biggest activity park offering a large swimming pool and hot tubs, Iceland's largest fitness center and spa (World Class), the Botanical Garden of Reykjavik, the Family Park, the Domestic Animal Zoo and the indoor ice-skating ring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Einholt Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Einholt Apartments Hotel
Einholt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing