We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to stay”
Review of Einholt Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Einholt Apartments
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My partner and I visited Iceland for the first time this April for one week. We stayed at Einholt which is located about a 15 minute walk from the centre (really easy to find) and is part of the pick-up circuit for many of the tours on offer.
Shortly after booking, I received a very pleasant and helpful welcome email with all the information we needed for our stay. The only things missing from this were the check-out time, as well as the fact that each kitchenette is stocked with free sugar, tea and coffee. This is a minor detail though!
Our apartment was lovely. Plenty of space, lovely comfy bed, well equipped kitchen and a TV and it was immaculately clean. The free use of laundry facilities was a huge bonus too. Other reviews complain about there only being 4 channels on the TV. This is true, but who goes on holiday to sit and watch TV?!!
On the first night, we noticed our room was very warm, even with heater off and window open. It was located directly above the laundry room which may have been the problem, what with 2 tumble dryers on the go etc. When we called the number (on the free-to-use phone at reception), someone was with us within an hour. The lady who came to meet us was extremely polite, helpful and understanding and did not hesitate to move us across the corridor to a larger room which was perfect. We were very grateful for this. I don't normally make a fuss, but it was just too warm for us to bare for a week. Even though there is rarely anyone on reception, the helpful staff are only a phonecall away.
I would recommend Einholt to anyone who is on a budget and looking for something located centrally. We usually stay in Travelodges etc which are fine and I would say the standard of Einholt was a step up from this, with the added bonus of an equipped kitchen (saves a fortune on having to buy breakfast etc and you can eat in if you wish - Iceland prices are very expensive!!) as well as the free laundry facilities.
Thank you so much for such a pleasant stay. If we ever return to Iceland we will definitely be booking into here again.

Room Tip: You can't pick your room, but the location is quiet. Rooms on level 2 are street level, which i...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
There are newer reviews for Einholt Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed 3 nights April 21- 24 and was my second time to Reykjavik, and first time at Einholt Apartments. Apartments are clean and well stocked, a mini supermarket is under 5 minutes walk away, and it's an EASY 10 minute stroll into town. Yes it's un-manned, but cleaners are around in the morning, and they are polite and helpful if you need them. A great place to stay, and very good value for money, not big apartments, but more than enough space for a couple (I went on my own), and the owner Halldor easily contactable on the free reception phone and professional and friendly also. They are not 5 star, but the beds are, I was really impressed. Helpful booklet inside telling you everything you need to know, and the recommendations really help, and it feels safe. Plus I did my washing and drying in the complex for free before I returned, so have nothing to do when I get home.
Yep, I would certainly come back, and by saving my money staying here, I took myself out on more tours than I expected. Do it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lukeskarbek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The apartment had everything we needed (including tea, coffee etc) and there was plenty of useful information available. The free phone in the lobby was good for booking trips etc. The apartment was clean, towels changed every other day, good shower, beds very comfortable and overall excellent value for our week in Reykjavik.
The location was good - no distance to the sea or to the main shopping street. Two supermarkets nearby as well, so we cooked most days to keep our costs down.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is a youth hostel with no management and no amenities. The room smelled horribly and all of the dishes and sheets were so dirty that we could not use them. We lost our deposit to find another place

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rubydaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed here for 6 days in April 2014 paying £257 for use of the modern attractive decently sized apartment.

This was clearly very good value for money and represents a very good choice particularly if you want to visit Iceland without spending a fortune. You can self cater by buying supplies at one of the Bonus shops for a more than reasonable price by Icelandic standards.

The apartments are situated about a 10 minute walk from the centre – certainly convenient enough. You can park outside for free. The building has no reception but has a system to communicate to those who run the place. Your room is serviced every two days. Our apartment was on the lower ground floor. It has a small modern TV – only two English channels – Film 4 and E4. No news channels. We had a double bed, a smallish shower room and toilet, a table and chair seating area plus a kitchen area. The latter had a toaster, kettle, coffee maker, fridge (no freezer compartment) and microwave, together with the usual plates, cups, pans, knives, etc. There was also some tea, coffee, sugar and oil that others had left.

We slept well, liked the décor and the modern facilities. There was some building work taking place bit this did not disturb us. A net curtain might be useful as one person stared through our ground floor window.

Buy your booze duty free before you depart at the duty free in England. My wife and I paid £13 each or so for a litre of whiskey and one of Vodka (duty free for these in Iceland is £21). We added two bottles of wine for £10. Finally at the duty free in the Iceland airport you can buy up to 12 cans each of 5% lager at a reasonable price - around £1+ a can – booze is expensive in Iceland. We also hired a car for 6 days for about £146 through Economomycarrentals.com using faircar rentals. By the way… get a small amount of local cash and use your credit card to pay for everything… I used a Post Office card which has no commission charges .. great… and got 186 krona to the pound (the local bank for English cash.. a pathetic 160 isk for £1!).

Overall I was very pleased with our stay and would recommend this accommodation and stay there again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the key code to the door before you travel as there is no reception.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nothernman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We began our journey very pleasantly and arrived to our apartment at roughly 10pm. Upon arrival there happened to be a large pile of sick......that was still there when we went out at about 11am the next day! (Talk about first impressions) With there being no memeber of staff to greet you when you arrive, you push a small buzzer and they let you in. You then venture through the block until you get to your apartment. The beds in the apartment are solid, iv seen this before though...... im sure it was called concrete! The 'bed' then had 1 hard pillow each and 2 single duvets on a double! The Fridge/Freezer was without a freezer! You only get 3 channels on your TV, 1 which is E4 (could watch whenever at home), 2 was Film4 (without sound) and 3 was an adult chat programme (great if you've got small children!) We were also told that there were washing/drying facilities available and once needed, it just so happened that they were not working. We were told we could use the 'staff' facilities but only after 6pm, 8pm both were still being used by 'staff'. Once the machines were free we also had to fold the apartments sheets and towels so that they were not left on the floor! This meant that after washing and drying our clothes it was just after 11pm!

Good Luck to you if you wish to attempt to stay here! Please bring a back brace, enough clothes, your own dvd collection and a portable freezer.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Sootie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stayowner, Guest Relations Manager at Einholt Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to evaluate our apartments. We are sad to hear that we did not meet your expectations where it comes to design, cleanliness and amenities. We are a self service apartment hotel and like to give our guests space to enjoy their holidays in peace and therefore at certain times of night when no staff is around we cant know how the state of some areas in the hotel are. Because of this we of course urge our guests to contact us if there is something wrong, if something is needed or corrected. The mattresses in our beds are firm to accommodate most guests, we understand that everybody is different and like different types of mattresses, we would love to accommodate each and every guests specific needs but unfortunately that is not feasible. We have been proud to offer free use of laundry rooms to our guests for many years, unfortunately because of constant use they tend to brake, we then offer our guests to use the staff facilities, it is unfortunate that we were so busy at the time that you needed your washing done. Regarding the fridge/freezer, in our experience a fridge is more than enough for guests staying 4-7 days during their holidays, usually it is only used for storing breakfast, drinks and snacks. We have been working towards getting more TV channels in our hotels, this will be ready in the near future, we however hope that guests wont use the TV´s too much because Iceland is so beautiful and much more interesting than the TV :)
We hope that you will visit Iceland again in the future and we would love to accommodate you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

I was a little worried before our stay having read reviews about double booking but we need not have worried. Everything went smoothly. Apartments are ideally located for main shopping areas, harbour and bus stations. They are clean, comfortable, warm and come with enough crockery, cutlery required. Providing tea bags coffee sugar cooking oil and wash up liquid nice touch. Having access to computer and free telephone to book trips was also really useful. All in all a home from home and excellent value. Can't fault these appts if you looking for centrally located self catering accommodation.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stayowner, Guest Relations Manager at Einholt Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear guest. Thank you for your lovely review of our apartments, we are so glad that we were able to exceed your expectations. We hope to see you again in the future.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Raudara
#38 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,120 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#39 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,681 reviews
Stay Bolholt Apartments
#29 of 108 in Reykjavik
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Stay Apartments Grettisgata
Stay Apartments Grettisgata
#45 of 109 in Reykjavik
129 reviews
Miõborg
Alfred's Apartments
Alfred's Apartments
#32 of 109 in Reykjavik
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Einholt Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Einholt Apartments

Address: Einholt 2, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 109 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: £110 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Einholt Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Einholt Apartments. Einholt is a modern apartment hotel located in Reykjavik city center. Einholt Apartments is the perfect choice for the independent traveller wishing for the comfort of a hotel and the privacy of a home. Einholt is a modern designed apartment hotel offering 23 practical and comfortable fully equipped self-catering apartments from studio to three bedroom apartments. All apartments include a fully equipped kitchen and a shower bathroom. Interior is newly renovated from top to bottom. Towels and linen is provided. Non-smoking apartments only. Flat screen TV. Free high-speed wireless internet connection in all apartments. Free telephone and computer in the lobby. Plenty free parking spaces in front of hotel. Ideal for long or short stays. Einholt Apartments have 14 double studio apartments, 3 family studio apartments 4 one bedroom apartments, 4 two bedroom apartments, all with twin / double bed and 1 three bedroom apartment. In order to offer low prices lobby staff is almost none existent but any necessary information is conveniently located in the lobby. We use modern technology to check guests in and you can use the free telephone in the lobby to contact us at anytime. Free wireless internet in all rooms. Plenty of free parking spaces. We will send you email with very simply check in instructions after booking along with other useful information. Location/located near: Einholt is located in a quiet area just a few steps away from the busy shopping street Laugavegur. A 10-minute stroll down Laugavegur takes you to the lively part of down town with stores, restaurants, cafes and bars. The street then takes you to the heart of Reykjavik. Hlemmur, the bus main terminal is also within 50 meters away, where you can catch a bus to anywhere within Reykjavik.Also within walking distance you will find Laugardalur, Reykjavik's biggest activity park offering a large swimming pool and hot tubs, Iceland's largest fitness center and spa (World Class), the Botanical Garden of Reykjavik, the Family Park, the Domestic Animal Zoo and the indoor ice-skating ring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Einholt Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Einholt Apartments Hotel
Einholt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing