We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveller rating
118
45
8
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
45
8
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sandholt bakery small luxury hotel amazingly comfortable bed fabulous bakery arranging transportation bar offers bus stop wonderful shower charming hotel within short walking distance booked a junior suite front desk staff gluten free bread nespresso machine rooms are small but clean harpa concert hall central location
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 174 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

Just wanted to post to make sure you don’t miss out. This is laid back lounge feel bar with 64 Gin selections. Bartenders know what they are doing and design is perfect for the atmosphere. Location is perfect, close to everything you need for a great nigt out.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception S, General Manager at Sandhotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you for your feedback Stefan and we welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

This hotel was the first stop on our Iceland tour. It’s a very decent small luxury hotel. Lobby and restaurant are pretty nice. Rooms were rather small but comfortable. Views from the room give a nice small town feeling. Staff is friendly. But the main selling point is the location in the middle of the capital’s main shopping street. All sights are within walking distance and there are plenty of restaurants nearby. Also: parking is available within short walking distance at a reasonable price. As such, probably one of the best combinations of luxury and location one can find in the city. Breakfast is good, but limited. For hot dishes, one has to pay additionally. That’s in my opinion a bit harsh at this price point. Nevertheless: I would most likely book again when going back to Reykjavík.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank beograd72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception S, Front Office Manager at Sandhotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Dear guest,

We really appreciate your beautiful feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and you found our location that convenient. Our guest's opinions are important for us since we are always trying to improve our services. As an example, we have recently changed our breakfast into a buffet that we hope make our guest's stay even better.

We would really love to welcome you back to Sandhotel in the near future.

All the best,

Clara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018 via mobile

A really great hotel!

Friendly staff specially Carla at the front desk, she was amazing, very helpful. She planned our whole stay in a very successful way. Thank you sooo much!
Cleanliness is very good, rooms are big enough, the overall experience is very good.
It's like a home away from home or at least that's how the staff makes you feel. Especially the young man in charge of breakfast, he remembers each one of your previous requests and make sure you have them all without asking again. Hats off!
Breakfast is not your regular buffet though it's either a continental tray or a skýr bowl (icelandic low fat, high protein yoghurt). They're both yummy but a wider choice would be a plus..
Location is perfect: 5min walking from the biggest church in Reykjavik, 10min walking to the lake,15min walking to the old harbour. And on the main street of Reykjavik.
Excellent choice to stay!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Caline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception S, Front Office Manager at Sandhotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Dear Caline,

Thank you so much for giving us such a good rate. It was a pleasure meeting you and helping you with your tours. We are really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to Sandhotel.

All the best,

Clara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

Located on the main shopping street in Reykjavik this newish boutique hotel offers comfortable accommodations. As others have mentioned the basic rooms though attractively furnished are snug with limited space for storage and no shelf in the shower for the soap or shampoo. The staff is helpful, and we would like to compliment Clara who helped us with our departure plans. Breakfast if included was a continental tray with orange juice and tea. The hotel was in walking distance of the restaurants and sites worth patronizing.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edgemont2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception S, Director de Recepción at Sandhotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Dear Edgemont,

Thank you so much for your kind review. All the staff members are trying their best to make the guests' stay memorable. We are glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

All the best,

Clara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

Sandhotel is well located in the heart of Reykjavik and within walking distance to many sites, bars, restaurants, stores, and Shuttle stop. While the rooms are small, the bed is most definitely the highlight and was the most comfortable bed my husband and I have ever slept on. Breakfast is offered every morning and is usually the same but you can order a la carte items if you are in the mood for something different. The bar and bakery on premises serve delicious food and drinks. Staff is helpful, welcoming and very friendly. We recommend Sandhotel and hope to come back in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception S, Director de Recepción at Sandhotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Dear Joanna,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. It means a lot to us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards.

Clara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews