We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in central Reykjavik”
Review of Kalli's Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalli's Apartments
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely stay in central Reykjavik”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed here in September2013 and it was a great location and lovely accommodation. Systa was so helpful in picking us up and guiding us in- thank-you! The apartment is well located for a supermarket, the bus to local baths, an amazing vinyl record store, a guerrilla garden in the car-park across the road and of course a walk along the wonderful Laugavegur. Highly recommended if you want comfy beds and peace and quiet. Keith and Dawn Edinburgh

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
41
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Kallisapartments is one of the best choice for who wants to have a nice stay in Reykjavik.
The location is close to Laugavegur, in the city center. Rooms have all the facilities you need: private bathroom, kitchen corner, comfortable bed, very nice furnishing.
Systa is simply amazing, kind and likeable. She picks up her guests from BSI, the Bus terminal in Reykjavik. This is very usefull for who doesnt know how to reach the apartments.
We will always have a good memory of our vacation, thanks to Systa too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank andrear0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We booked this last minute and were looking for something cheap and cheerful. Kalli's seemed to fit the bill and the reviews were fantastic, so we went for it. As soon as we booked we had a friendly email from Systa, which surprised us as it was after midnight. She offered to pick us up from the airport bus, which seemed like excellent service. On arrival the experience didn't disappoint. Systa is kind, friendly and fun, and gave us some invaluable advice about where to eat and shop, and which excursions to choose. She also told us some great anecdotes about her family and the area, and talked us through the fantastic artwork in the flat, much of which is by Systa herself. As for the apartment, it was spacious, comfortable and clean, and perfectly located for exploring the city: in a tourist-free corner but just on the edge of the main centre and near to the sea. There's a great Thai restaurant very close by as well, which Systa pointed us towards. Also ask her about her son's riding stables: we went there one evening and had a really fun ride out on some lovely horses, with an authentic Icelandic picnic halfway round! In the four days we stayed here it became home and we were sorry to leave.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lalan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skien
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Top service from Systa and her husband
Very close to everywhere - walking distance from the main street, supermarket and good restaurants.
No noise during night - excellent sleep.
Good kitchen and nice rooms and a lot of books for reading or changing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vetikke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balloch, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at these apartments in July of this year. Systa was fantastic (she speaks amazing English) and picked us up at the bus station to take us to our apartment. The apartment itself was lovely, nice and clean and in an ideal location. Nice and quiet but only a 5 minute walk from the main street in Reykyavik where all the shops and nightlife were available. We would both thoroughly recommend these apartments.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irvouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We booked with Systa who owns Kalli's apartments and she offered us one of her new ones in a different building she has recently renovated. When we arrived the outside of the building was being painted but it was perfect inside and a really comfortable, quiet room with character - nice amount of space with kitchenette and little table, storage, mirrors and hooks in handy places, nice en-suite and a fabulous antique bed with very comfy mattress. Location was perfect - a 30 second walk to a corner shop selling basic groceries (ie bits for breakfast!) plus coffee. The centre of town was a 3 minute walk away to the edge of Tjornin. We've stayed in Reykjavik before at a hotel a trek from the centre but this was so much better being central, and worked out cheaper than hotels too. Systa was very friendly and it was nice to see some of her artwork too in the Nordic House! We are hoping to come back in the future to Iceland and we will definitely stay here again! Takk Systa!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lotan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

It was really lovely walking into the apartment, because it did not feel commercial, but with a mixture of modern and old furniture (a sensational and very comfortable 1920's bed!) and lovely art work, we immediately felt we were somewhere unique. The apartment was spotless, light and airy. There is a view to the cathedral.The kitchenette was fully equipped and the shower mighty powerful with endless hot water. Control of the very efficient central heating is given to the guest. We were collected from the bus station and because there was a slight delay before we could check in, we were given a tour of Reykjavik and a discount on our bill! The location is excellent, just a few minutes walk to the main shopping street and a further five to ten minutes interesting walk to the centre of the old town. We will certainly stay there again on our next trip, which we fully intend to take, because Iceland is awesome. The apartment is very quiet, although at the time we were there there was some building work locally, but this did not impede our enjoyment and anyway the noise stopped early evening. Systa is a wonderful host and bends over backwards to make the stay as good as it possibly can be. Thank you Systa, we look forward to seeing you again!

Room Tip: The apartment on the top floor is up three flights of stairs, so not for guests who have difficulty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesleylj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Eyja Guldsmeden Hotel
#5 of 52 in Reykjavik
210 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Hotel Klettur
#31 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#9 of 52 in Reykjavik
662 reviews
Stay Apartments Njalsgata
#71 of 107 in Reykjavik
12 reviews
Einholt Apartments
#34 of 107 in Reykjavik
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalli's Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalli's Apartments

Property: Kalli's Apartments
Address: Storholt 1, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kalli's Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalli's apartments are located in a quiet street in the center of Reykjavik, only a few minutes walk from the Municipal Art Gallery, the main shopping street, the bus terminal and the National Theater. There are a number of restaurants, bars and supermarkets within walking distance. There is wireless Internet access. The apartments are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kalli's Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing