We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant City Tour”
Review of Gateway to Iceland

Gateway to Iceland
Book In Advance
More Info
US$99.00*
and up
6-Hour Trip to Reykjanes by Minibus from Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gateway to Iceland operates Day Tours, Northern Lights tours and arrange Holiday Packages for travelers to Iceland. We are a tour operator and inbound travel agent. We plan complete tour packages for groups and individuals to the country. This includes all ground transportation, hotels, and activities. All ground packages are personally planned and arranged for individuals, couples, families or any type of group. No packages are "standard", all tours are designed individually. We welcome your query to us at any time should you be contemplating a trip to Iceland.
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Brilliant tour of the city with Gummi - only two of us so not sure if the trip was going to go ahead but had our own personal tour which was great.
Saw all the sights and got a lot of information about them along with facts about Iceland itself.
Unfortunately the Northern Lights tour did not go ahead but appreciated the honesty/updates from Gateway to Iceland that they would not be seen anyway - and they werent as we heard from another group that had taken time and expense to go out
Would highly recommend this smaller company - up to you to seek them out as hotels tend to direct you to the larger bus companies - email communicaton before we went was excellent.
Thank you Gateway to Iceland - if we come back will definitely come on you for Northern Lights tour.

Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
truth1011, Director of Sales at Gateway to Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for your review. Glad you could experience Reykjavík with Gummi but sad that mother nature didn't cooperate with us. Hopefully you got the chance to enjoy your night in a warm coffee house or a restaurant instead. We look forward having you with us when you come back to Iceland :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"hot golden circle"
in 315 reviews
"secret lagoon"
in 263 reviews
"small group"
in 116 reviews
"northern lights tour"
in 142 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 119 reviews
"the bus"
in 128 reviews
"blue lagoon"
in 109 reviews
"national park"
in 69 reviews
"glacier lagoon tour"
in 32 reviews
"south shore adventure"
in 34 reviews
"other companies"
in 38 reviews
"great tour"
in 54 reviews
"small bus"
in 30 reviews
"icelandic horses"
in 44 reviews
"small tour"
in 17 reviews
"first night"
in 38 reviews
"extra stops"
in 23 reviews
Filter

931 - 935 of 1,269 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

On November 2013, we made a lot of tours with GTI: Northern lights, Golden circle and Southern coast.

On 9 November, we were very lucky. The sky was clear and the solar activity was level 6-7. Thanks to Gummi we have seen lovely lights. He send us his pictures which were great ! He was very helpful with our camera too !

Then the next day we begin the Golden circle with Jacob. We were a small group of 6. Due to very bad weather conditions, we decided together to cancel the tour after Thingvellir and do it again on the next day.

Jacob is a fantastic guide. To our demand, he dropped us off in the center of Reykjavik after having done a guided tour of the center to show us the best places to eat and things to see (expositions, etc).

The next day was again the Golden circle with the same people and another couple.
The group was really friendly so we were glad to visit, talk and eat together, sharing biscuits and Belgian chocolates.

We enjoyed again the company of Jacob and it was really a pleasant tour. Jacob is really passionate and has always good stories to tell, he is never boring.

On the last day, we made the South Coast tour. I really loved that tour too. The landscape, waterfalls, glaciers, beaches are wonderful but we were a bit disappointed by the guide (we forgot his name). He was nice but compared to Jacob, he was not interesting. He just tell facts...
We were 6 in the bus without any cohesion.

Hopefully we had learn so much with Jacob and it was our second trip to Iceland so we had a good time on our four days thanks to GTI !!!!

So we highly recommend GTI to everybody !

2  Thank Sookyroch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
truth1011, Director of Sales at Gateway to Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We are always glad to hear stories from our customers. Jakob is a really good guide and we are glad to have him on our team. It can be hard to fill the footsteps of others when the steps are big ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

we used GTI for two tours, the golden circle and south coast. Both were full day tours. Both tours featured excellent guides and itineraries. The first tour had 9 passengers and we were comfortable in the van. The second trip had 7 passengers and although the van seemed large the seats were very cramped and you could not adjust the pitch. If you use GTI you may wish to inquire what type of vehicle they are using. You are in the van for 9+ hours. The quality of the guide made up for the cramped van.

1  Thank LMC_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
truth1011, Director of Sales at Gateway to Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for your review. We are in the process of renewing our vehicles but we are happy to hear that your enjoyed our tours. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Didn't realise that getting to see the Northern Lights was so rare, but Bob and the team of spotters and drivers at Gateway to Iceland did a fantastic job on our recent visit. Small minibuses instead of the big coaches, remote locations based on expert knowledge rather than parking for lots of buses, and very friendly atmosphere. Can't recommend highly enough...thanks guys

Thank Flemingos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
truth1011, Director of Sales at Gateway to Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thnak you for your review. You are very welcome :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Had the most unforgettable tour of the South Coast with "Gummi!" He is so passionate and knowledgeable about his homeland, and spends the time to fill you on everything. What was supposed to be an 8 hour tour ended up being 12 because he took us to places not officially on the tour, and did not rush us from one place to another. I have to say, this was the highlight of my trip to Iceland! Can not even imagine why anyone would want to go with one of those monster tour groups, when you can have the intimacy and personalized attention of the smaller groups that GTI offers. We will be using GTI again when we return to Iceland!! Thanks Gummi!

1  Thank SwissMs70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
truth1011, Director of Sales at Gateway to Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for your kind review, Gummi really loves his job and telling people about this beautiful country. We look forward to having you back with us someday :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gateway to Iceland also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Gateway to Iceland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing