We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for exploring Reykjavik...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Loki 101 Guesthouse
Ranked #41 of 107 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We stayed here for one night in a double room paying £60 in summer, the location I ideal for exploring Reykjavik– located directly opposite from the Hallgrímskirkja church which acts a good point of reference for getting your bearings. The guesthouse is located on a quiet residential street and we didn’t hear any noise, even from the church bells. It is in easy walking distance to the bars/restaurants and main shopping area (10 minutes’ walk, 20 mins from harbour area) and it is really easy to navigate back to the main ring road for onward travel, there is also free on-street parking right outside the guesthouse which is a benefit if you have a hire car.

The lady that welcomed us was welcoming and friendly. The room itself was really nice and spotlessly clean with a large comfortable bed and pleasantly decorated (it reminded me of being near the seaside). The shared bathroom was really clean with a strong powerful shower and we never had to wait to use the facilities, perfect after spending the last week in a tent! There was also free reliable internet in the room and the room included breakfast which we unfortunately missed due to sleeping late.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this guesthouse for its ideal location and competitive price, especially if renting a car as the parking is an added bonus.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ClaireLouEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

I don't give 5 stars very often but this guesthouse ticked all the boxes. The rooms are simple but comfortably appointed, either looking over a courtyard or a quiet sidestreet. Location is central, with everything easily within walking distance. Breakfast is good, and the kitchen facilities are available 24 hrs if you want to refridgerate your own food or make a midnight snack. The owners were accomodating and a pleasure to chat with. I'd recommend it to my mom.

Room Tip: I stayed on the courtyard side and it was dead quiet - the church bells stop around 22:00
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Breal604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This guesthouse is ideally located. Clean, great breakfast, the owner was excellent to deal with. The guesthouse is just around the corner of the Loki cafe which I would highly recommend. Reykjavik's famous church is 2 mins away. The rooms are small for a single but luck out and got a double. Beds are very comfortable. Shared bath is convenient -- five rooms per floor with one bathroom per floor.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canada236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

The guesthouse is in a convenient location - close to the Hallgrímskirkja Church - but was very peaceful. The owner was very accommodating, waiting up for us even though we only arrived at 1am. Breakfast is simple but tasty (bread, cheese, ham, eggs and cereal). our room was clean and tidy with a nice view over the garden.

Considering the prices of hotels in Reykjavik, this is a great value option.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Loki 101 Guesthouse has a very good location and it's cost-effective. Reykjavik's accommodations are quite pricey so this nice, cozy place was a great delight. We stayed at the top level, there was three bedrooms and a shared bathroom. Rooms and shared bathroom was very clean and the whole guesthouse was quiet. It was easy to get back to the guesthouse as the tallest building(Hallgrimskirkja) in Reykjavik is located right next to the guesthouse.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatyerFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I slept there during my last stay in Reykjavik. The housekeeper very kind and friendly. The guesthouse clean and cosy. The common kitchen nice and big. All facilities in the guesthouse clean and comfortable.
The location just great, ca. 100m from the Hallgrímskirkja (Hallgrim's Church) which became not only the symbol of Reykjavik but it's very near to the city center.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaZielinska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

I spent 6 nights in the beginning of September here. The place is located in the city center, 100 m from Hallgrimskirkja which is a perfect reference-point anywhere you are, and within walking distance from the museums, nightlife, Harpa concert hall etc, including the Intercity bus terminal where the Flybus from Keflyavik arrives (just 10 minutes away) and the domestic airport (20 - 25 minutes). I had a small but functional, cozy, quiet, sparklingly clean room with a view of the clock-bell tower of the church. The breakfast was good and satisfying. The owner Sigridur is a very helpful and warm person. The kitchen was a good place to interact with other guests which I enjoyed and never felt isolated (being a solo traveler). The small convenience shop around the corner on the next street is well stoked but the real gem is the "Mama Steina" home-cooking eatery further down - your choice of very tasty food is weighted and reasonably priced, probably the best place to eat on a budget in the overly expensive town and country. I would stay again at Loki 101 Guesthouse with joy!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Zagora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Igdlo Guesthouse
#31 of 107 in Reykjavik
209 reviews
Heida's Home Center
#18 of 107 in Reykjavik
88 reviews
Miõborg
Central Guesthouse Reykjavik
Central Guesthouse Reykjavik
#16 of 107 in Reykjavik
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arcturus Guesthouse Reykjavik
#32 of 107 in Reykjavik
45 reviews
Miõborg
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Miõborg
Aurora Guesthouse
Aurora Guesthouse
#27 of 107 in Reykjavik
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loki 101 Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loki 101 Guesthouse

Address: Lokastigur 24a, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range: £68 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Loki 101 Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only few steps away from the landmark church Hallgrímskirkja, this guesthouse provides you with all the basics. We're low cost bed&breakfast guesthouse with clean facilities, clean sheets and beds and shared bathrooms. We have breakfast every morning, from June-August, which is excluded in the price. Deskhours are limited which enables us to have this place low cost. All customers receive an e-mail upon booking with a key-code on how to enter the building. We also have a doorbell which calls us so we can open the doors for you if the customer didn't catch or read their e-mails in time. There's free (but limited) parking right outside, worst case scenario is to park one walking minute away near the church. We also offer popular tourist attractions and fares to & from the airport on loki.tourdesk.is We're locals and we help you with everything we can help you with so if you have any questions at all, feel free and ask away :) Kindest of regards Loki 101 Guesthouse Staff Birna, Daníel & Jun ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Loki 101 Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing