We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Hotel - Good Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Centric Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Centric Guesthouse
Ranked #39 of 107 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Average Hotel - Good Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Firstly we did our bookings pretty late and Reykjavik was mostly booked due peak season. We were not getting anything near city centre and had to go for PISA Guesthouse which fits the bill best. Considering the facilities hotel is providing price was very high. Room was not bad but there was lot of noise whole night, it being in centre of high street and next to a bar. There was no housekeeping done for the next day, even the towels werent changed. To add to that, there werent any toiletries in bathroom, which is a basic necessity for even a basic hotel. Owner was least interested in guests or their comfort. Apart from sleeping there is nothing else you can do in the room tehy gave us, TV was antic model and placed on top of an Almirah where you cna only have a good view if you are standing. but we didnt bothered to on it anyhow:-). Given a chance we might not like to go back to this hotel with such high price.

Room Tip: Only go for it, if you dont have an option
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaurav_sngl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    36
    14
    11
    4
See reviews for
8
37
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

We stayed at the Pisa Guesthouse just one night but we arrived just before midnight. The manager arranged for us to be able to get into our room which was clean and inexpensive. We met Ollie, the manager, the next morning and he was so helpful in caring for our luggage while we went sightseeing for a few hours before we had to head back to the airport. He also helped us to figure out exchange rates and answered lots of questions.

The location was perfect - so close to shopping and restaurants.

We had lunch at the restaurant and it was DELICIOUS! One of the best meals of our entire trip!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

The room I had at Pisa was not any of the ones you can see in their photos or video. Far from it. Spartan is a way of putting it. The window opened onto a roof where people took cigarette breaks and there was a loud lounge singer in the afternoon.

In sum, it wasn't worth the money (twice what I payed at a hostel right down the street.) It's not that there was any one particular thing wrong with it, but in sum it was disappointing after seeing their web pictures, and I paid more than I should have. Other guesthouses with single rooms can be had cheaper and can't be any plainer than the room I had. Some with kitchens, which Pisa does not have.

The people were friendly and the breakfast was generous and good. Yes, it's in a great location. Absolutely where I'd want to stay if and when I visit Reykjavik again. But there are a couple hundred other guesthouses, hostels and hotels in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank velostricken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Reykjavik hotels

Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

The Pisa is in a great location, near the main shopping street, bars, restaurants and less than 15 min walk from the BSI coach station. It sits on a main road and is easy to find, above the Pisa pizza restaurant. However, I arrived on Easter Sunday and the place was deserted, all locked up. I was ready to book somewhere else, as using free wifi would be cheaper than making a phone call to iceland, however I did the latter and someone appeared within 5 minutes to open up and sort the room.

Sorting the room took an unusual amount of time, I suspect the room I had been allocated hadn't been cleaned, so I was "upgraded" - booked en-suite single, got en suite double.

It was more than adequate for my needs but people who object to dust o n the top of wardrobes, around radiators etc may object. Television was rubbish, only about 3 channels. Shower was good.

Being above a restaurant also no-one to check out with so left the keys in the bedroom door. They haven't called so I assume that worked!

If breakfast was included I knew nothing about it. Single rooms probably overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n37077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranst, belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

The guesthouse is situated above the pisa pizza restaurant.

Really perfectly located (on walking distance of the bus station and 5min's walk of the city centre).

The rooms are clean and we got a room with triple room instead of the reserved double room.

Only drawback is that you don't have any contact with the hotel staff.

Room Tip: We got the triple room of the highest floor at the street-side. Had some street-noise, but nothing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herman_dailybits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

stayed there for four nights in Aug 2011 - nice and cozy - really good location. Amazing Value for money

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MorMit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

My friend and I stayed at the Pisa Guesthouse for eight nights in June, and we had a great stay. We paid 90 euros (15,000 kronor) per night for a twin room with ensuite bathroom. I think this rate was discounted because we were staying there for more than three nights. The room was plain but very clean and comfortable with freshly laundered down comforters. The bathroom had been modernized and had a great shower, although the shower curtain didn’t do a very good job of trapping the water, and we had to mop it up with towels a few times. That said, the staff were more than happy to clean up as needed and provide dry towels and mats. I’m sure the issue will be resolved in future.

The guesthouse is wonderfully central--close to the harbour, the excursion-booking centre, the main shopping and dining areas, etc. Our room had a nice view of one of the main streets, but be warned: the windows are single-paned, so you might want to bring earplugs to shut out the street noise. If you’re sensitive to light when you sleep, you might also consider bringing an eye mask, since the daylight never fades in the summer months, and despite a good rolling blind, light still seeped into our room.

The guesthouse now serves a light breakfast (included in the price of your room) in the restaurant on the main floor. It’s a nice spread: rolls, butter, jam, cold cuts, cheese, fruit, yogurt, muesli and so on, as well as a coffee machine that dispenses a great Americano coffee. Even in the mornings, there are tea-light candles on the tables, which is a nice touch, and the restaurant is a lovely space with interesting art on the walls and a skylight with antique teacups and beaded ornaments hanging from it.

Free WiFi is not available in the rooms, but you can go down to the restaurant to get Internet access.

Room Tip: Back-facing rooms will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaydenJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Central Guesthouse Reykjavik
Central Guesthouse Reykjavik
#23 of 107 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Miõborg
Skolabru Guesthouse
Skolabru Guesthouse
#49 of 107 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Captain Reykjavik Guesthouse
#9 of 107 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
House of the Spirits
#41 of 107 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Miõborg
Loki 101 Guesthouse
Loki 101 Guesthouse
#29 of 107 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Miõborg
Grettir Guesthouse
Grettir Guesthouse
#37 of 107 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centric Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centric Guesthouse

Property: Centric Guesthouse
Address: Laekjargata 6B, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Formerly Pisa Guesthouse)
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Centric Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Centric Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing