We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seattlite Says: This Is Where the Coffee Is” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Haiti

Cafe Haiti
Ranked #43 of 455 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cafe Haiti is a small cafe by Reykjavik's Old harbor. We buy our coffee from farmers in Haiti. We roast the coffee in the shop and serve quality coffee as espresso, macciato, cappuccino, latte, Arabic and Turkish coffee as well as tea and hot chocolate. Soups, pies and croissants as well as our fumes breast so if you are coming from the flight in the morning the stop and see oss for breakfast and we also have good lunch. We also have food to go if you are going on the whale watching. We have sometime live music so be in touch and hope you are in town when we have live music.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Seattlite Says: This Is Where the Coffee Is”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

This coffeehouse near the water is where you should go if you're missing that perfect cup while in Iceland. We bought a pound to take back to the States and wished we'd taken two!

The ambiance is cozy and warm, and the people are quite friendly. Even if you don't have business in the harbor area, it's worth the walk and the wind.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenfir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    202
    49
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
246 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great Place when the winds start blowing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We were waiting for the start of our Elding Whale Watching tour. The winds were blowing quite hard and we were cold and looking for a warm place to hang out. This place is great. The smell of their roasting coffee beans will bring you in. It was wam and invinting and they even made us Chai Tea, their own recipe. It was delicious. Prices were reasonable, with a clean toilet to boot. Free Wifi, what more could you ask for.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relax over a great cup of coffee and an awesome brownie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

My husband and I stumbled on this coffee haus after taking the last puffin fishing boat tour of the year on Sept 1st - Cafe Haiti is in a cool old repurposed building on the harbor ... Love the ambiance - totally chill, wifi, gorgeous photographs for sale on the walls, and looks like they must offer live music ... We even met a local writer and had a nice conversation. The coffee is excellent - best we've had in Reykjavik and we've already been to at least five other coffee places already! The writer says she thinks it's the best coffee in town & could see her happiness when she breathed in the aroma of the ground coffee she was taking home. Tried the chocolate coconut brownie with light creme and the chocolate cake - yum! they are both wonderful! Good prices for Reykjavik, too. Definitely recommend!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I followed the aroma...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

If you visit the harbour area, you'll find this place easily if you take a good sniff of air in - the coffee is very good, and the cakes equally so.

Our table rocked more than the whale-watching boat we went out on, however!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very nice cakes and excellent staff and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We just sat down to have something to eat and a coffee. We had a lovely fish soup, home made, as well as very nice cakes and coffee. The cakes are also home made and delicious!

The staff is nice and friendly, mostly the Cuban guy working there. There was some live music that evening and we enjoyed mixing with the locals.

Unfortunately we left the next day, but we will go back on our next visit to reykiavik!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anto_Seb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Haiti also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Cafe Haiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing