We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and very central yet quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2011

OK so Reykjavik is expensive, you've booked your flights and now your looking for somewhere to stay. These apartments are very good. The website is realistic and shows the apartments as they are. We booked for 6 nights in a studio which I believe is the smallest available. Our thinking was that staying in the same hotel room for a week could get a little tiresome, equally we were planning on going on lots of day trips and thought that we might want to kick back on an evening, make some dinner and relax whilst watching a film. Obviously you can also take or purchase some 'basics' with you which can be costly in hotels (tea, coffee, toast, cereals for breakfast etc).
 
The apartment was warm, beds comfortable with quits/sheets/additional pillows and stacks of fresh towels. I can't think of anything not available in the apartment. You get a hairdryer, iron and ironing board, pots, pans, glasses, plates......you get the idea......oh and even a DVD player, iPod dock and radio next to the flat screen TV,  A word of warning, the hot water smells of sulphur, which is quite strong to begin with but you get used to it and the smell is everywhere you go...  
 
There is a great bakery across the road so you can pop over and get some fresh bread / croissants for breakfast and a local supermarket up the street (first turning on your left). 
 
Along with the apartments is an additional building where the office is situated. The team are very helpful and they will help you with maps, booking buses and trips etc and getting you orientated when you arrive. Personally I would book some trips before going but do leave time to explore Reykjavik. They even offer a large selection of DVD's to borrow on top of the one's you'll find in your apartment
 
To get to the apartments you need to book the flybus+. The flybus will take you from the airport to Reykjavik bus terminal and you catch the bus literally outside the terminal building. If you pay a little more and buy the flybus+ ticket then when you arrive at Reykjavik bus terminal you can get off the coach and jump on a mini bus which will take you to the apartments. It's a bit to far to walk from the bus terminal so I would strongly suggest purchasing the flybus+ ticket and not just the flybus. 
 
In terms of location, it doesn't get much better. The apartments are situated on a quiet street just off one of the main shopping streets. We went on lots of trips and on the way back were dropping people off at their hotels. It soon dawns on you that staying outside the city is not such a great idea as you could pay a lot in taxi charges to get in and out of the city. I believe the Hilton offers city drop off's but this finishes quite early in the evening. 
 
The only couple of down sides were the lack of ventilation on the ground floor and the odd bit of noise from people walking home but this wouldn't stop us staying again. All in all highly recommended - hope this helps    

Room Tip: Ground floor has great access but limited ventilation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (818)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

717 - 723 of 818 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2011

The apartments are wonderful and everyone was very helpful. There is an excellent bakery over the road. Get the Icelandic bread warm for breakfast. The nearest supermarket is less than 3 minutes walk away, but note that it closes around 18.30. 24 hour stores are only 15 min away, but carry a limited range of stuff. Unlike many apartments they do not remove useful stuff left by previous guests which can be a great help.

A Flybus + ticket from the airport gives slick transfer by mini bus from the BMI bus station to Reykjavik4you and is a good service.

While the street is quiet and probably as good as it gets in Reykjavik, it can still get noise from passing drunks. We stayed from Friday to Sunday night and were disturbed each night. They passed between about 3 am and 5 am. On early Saturday morning the main Street in Reykjavik was strewn with broken bottles that had been cleaned up by 9.30, so they were ready for. I would still return to the apartments, but it is a significant downside. If you want to stay in downtown Reykjavik you will get nothing better and during the day it is the place to be.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 26tannahil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We booked the deluxe apartments. The prices are low compared to the hotels. Nice design and excellent service.
The reception and the apartments are not at the same address. The staff will drive you to the apartments when you have checked in. If you are planning to take the bus to the Blue Lagoon, please make sure that the bus picks you up outside the apartments and not the reception.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarianneB66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We looked at many of the Reykjavik Hotels and came across Reykjavik4you. Forget staying in a hotel, this place is great for a weekend or a week. It is in a great spot in the city and handy to everything. There is also a bakery across the road and a Bonus supermarket around the corner.
The rooms are a really comfortable, clean and contemporary - very cool and chic.
We were travelling with a new born and they management (particularly Mikey) went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed from a crib to a baby bath.
Mikey and his team also know the city and country back to front and gave truly independent tourist advice, making really useful recommendations. I would say even better than a concierge at a 5-Star chain hotel.
Overall this is really a hidden gem of Reykjavik and Iceland, forget the hotels and stay here! We'll be back - and a few of our friends have stayed there since we have on our recommendation. 11/10!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The Reykjavick4you apartments are right at the heart of the city, and within easy walking distance to Laugavegur Street, where all the action seems to take place. It is also far enough away that all that action won't keep you awake if you turn in early (but why would you?)

The apartment itself is very clean and secure, and the staff couldn't have been any more helpful. They opened their office especially for us, knowing we would be arriving very early in the morning (~1:00am), provided us with a cell phone that we could use to contact them at any hour of the day, and helped us with directions and restaurant recommendations. The next day, we decided to rent a car, and the owners graciously allowed us to use one of their limited spots free of charge.

We rented a two-bedroom unit, which included a small kitchen area and a livingroom with a couch, a TV, DVD and stereo. There is free wifi access by request, and dishes and glasses are provided in the kitchen area. The bedrooms are VERY small -- barely large enough to fit a double bed -- but comfortable.

Room Tip: Taking the bus from Keflavick airport to this hotel took us approx. 1.5 hours. In retrospect, I wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlanderFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We just returned (couple with 8 yr old) from a terrific stay at these apartments. We do not usually write reviews, but in this case it is really imperative. This operation in really first rate as apartments go. Every need is anticipated from wonderfully helpful kitchen utensils, usually not provided, to lovely robes and slippers, to ipod recharger and free to borrow DVDs. There are several locations, and each has it's benefits. The reception assistance is bar-none, gentle and kind, both the husband and wife helped us get around with ease. Definitely a great place to stay. Thanks for the wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Reykjavik4You Apartments was great! My husband and I traveled with two of our friends so we got 2 studio apartments. The booking process with the hotel was very easy - as was checking in when we arrived. The apartments were really nice - very clean; nicely furnished; the kitchen was fully stocked with dishes, glasses, pots, pans, etc; and they provided at least 30 dvds per room. I specifically requested a ground-floor room, and the only downside was that the window was directly on the street, so at times, it was a bit noisy. But it wasn't on the main (loudest) street, so that really wasn't a problem. The location was perfect - it was a 10 minute walk from the bus station (where the airport bus drops you off), and it was a 2 minute walk to the main streets. There is a bakery directly across the street and a Bonus supermarket (a must!) around the corner. I would highly recommend this to anyone who isn't looking for a real hotel (no room service, breakfast, etc.) and would definitely stay here again myself.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sommer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,884 reviews
Miõborg
Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
662 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel

Address: Bergstadastraeti 12, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: £143 - £676 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reykjavik4you Apartments offer great accommodation in Iceland in twenty new apartments in city center of Reykjavik. The apartments are fully furnished with fully equipped kitchen, with towels, bathrobes, slippers and linens. All the apartments have flat screen TV, DVD and iPod dock and hi-fi internet connection. Reykjavik4you Apartments is a small family company with personal service. If you need to rent a car in Iceland, we can offer you a comfortable car rental service that car will waiting for you in the free parking area at the hotel. We offer also our guests free booking service for Day Tour in Iceland. All our guests will have the option of the services to be picked-up at the hotel in start of the trip and returned there in end of the trip. If you are looking for a hotel in Reykjavik or home away from home in Iceland, Reykjavik4you Apartments is the perfect choice for you and you family on your journey to Reykjavik. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing