We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT place to stay in Reykjavik!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
174 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“PERFECT place to stay in Reykjavik!”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We will absolutely stay here again if we return to Reykjavik! We were a group of 3 (a married couple and a friend) so we didn't want to unnecessarily get two rooms in pricey Reykjavik. Our solution was to rent a 1 bedroom apartment here because the sofa couch could sleep the third person. It worked out perfectly! We actually stayed in two different apartments since we stayed here at the beginning and then again at the end of our trip. Both apartments were excellently equipped with the basics we needed to feel at home (kitchen utensils, power converters, a phone for local calls, bathroom stuff, DVDs, etc.)! The apartments were also cutely decorated and each had a personal touch to them which I liked. It was a very affordable stay (I think it worked out to $50 a person/per night which is awesome) and I highly recommend it for groups and families that don't want to book multiple hotel rooms somewhere.

Also, something should be said about the location. It was SUPER convenient to many of the highly rated restaurants in Reykjavik including Sjavargrillid (Seafood Grill), which was absolutely fantastic. It's also a 5 minute walk to Hallgrimskirkja which is convenient and a 15-20 minute walk to the waterfront. Most importantly, it's across the street from Bernhöftsbakarí, a bakery that's been around since 1834. Let's just say they know what's up. BEST chocolate donuts EVER and their breads, sandwiches, and other pastries aren't too shabby. AMAZING!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsSmarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    134
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
204
324
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I stayed in these apartments during my trip in August 2012. It was clean and so close to the main city. It was literally a few blocks away from Caffe Barrin, which is a popular cafe/night club. The apartment was very modern and the bed was comfortable. It was spacious for two people. I can imagine college kids fitting 4 or 5 people in the room if they wanted! The bakery across the street was also very convenient for pre touring breakfast. It's also highly rated on TripAdvior (Bernshardt's Bakery?). Although we spent most of our time out and about it was nice that they had a selection of DVDs we could pick from on nights when we were too exhausted to go out to do anything. Next time I visit Reykjavik I would like to stay here again. I've also told friends and family members about the place!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GPradhandle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We stayed in a 2-bd apartment with 2 adults and 4 kids (aged 10 months to 8 years) and it was perfect both in its interior space, its cleanliness, its comfort AND its location within the city center. Everything was just blocks away -- the church, the main shopping street, a market, the main drag. Service was perfect, as well. Our flight arrived at 6:35a and we were worried we'd have to tool around town, jetlagged with 4 tired kids for hours. But when we stopped by the hotel, just to see if we could drop off our luggage, the room was ready! That was a glorious gift in and of itself. They even had DVDs to watch and a cell phone for our use for local calls, which came in handy on a daily basis. The street on which the hotel is located is quiet at night yet close to all the action. And there's a bakery across the street that's decent as well.

We've been to Reykjavik 2 times and plan to visit again often. Reykjavik4You will be the ONLY place we will stay from here on our. We could not have asked for a better appointed and clean room, a better location and better service!

Don't forget to try the Sandholt Bakery on the main shopping drag and Tapashusid. Also, use Eskimos for your daytour bookings. Best ever!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JB2plus4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

My wife and I started our honeymoon in Iceland and spent three nights at reykjavik4you. We stayed in the studio apartment off of Bergstaðastræti. They have one studio on the fourth floor that has a jacuzzi instead of a shower. Some of the walls in the living room and bathroom are diagonal though as the room is blended into the roof.

Location is excellent and there are tons of shops, restaurants and bars in walking distance...Bernhofts Bakari is across the street and opens early if you want some breakfast. Snaps Bistro Bar just a short walk around the corner from the bakery.

Service was excellent. The guy at the front desk (Bjarne?) carried all of our luggage up to the fourth floor and did it very quickly. He also offered to show us around but we were too tired after lack of sleep. The provided cell phone came in handy when planning our activities and also scheduling the airport bus pickup.

Value was also excellent at 225 euros total for 3 nights for us which was the cheapest daily rate we paid during our trip through Iceland/Norway/Denmark/Sweden.

Noise was pretty quiet. There was a little the first night but one of the windows wasn't shut so it was better after we closed it.

We had a great time in Reykjavik and the apartment and would definitely come back.

Things to note: If you reserve a deluxe 2 bedroom the website says it is located at Laugavegi 85. The hot water in Iceland does have the smell of sulfur, but you don't smell it after you shower. If you bring an appliance such as a hair straightener you should look into a voltage converter for it. We rented a car the first day from Budget Car Rental at Keflavik. They have a drop off at Vatnsmýrarvegur which is less than a mile away from reykjavik4you. They close at 6pm and can also drop you off back at the hotel if you are thinking of renting a car.

Room Tip: request the jacuzzi studio if you prefer a jacuzzi over a shower, it is higher up on the 4th floor t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaun s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham
Level Contributor
101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment with friends and, for the most part, I agree with what everyone else has said. The apartments are in a terrific location, within a ten to fifteen minute walk of almost everywhere you would wish to visit in central Reykjavik, They are spotlessly clean and have almost all you would need to fully self-cater. Our only annoyances were, firstly, the lack of a strainer or colander which meant that dishing up rice or vegetables was a tedious task using a slotted spoon. The other problem in the unit we stayed in was the fact that the second bedroom was really only suitable for one person. A double bed pushed up against one wall with only a metal filing cabinet as storage in the room was inadequate, even though there was a wardrobe outside in the hallway for clothes. A better selection of TV channels would have been nice. Finding that nearly all were scrambled was an aggravation, especially for free ones like CNN. Apart from that we were absolutely delighted with the place. There is also free parking. There was no noise at all at any time so sleeping was easy too. A highlight was Bjarne in the office, who could not have been more helpful either on email or in person. He is a real gem and I'd like to thank him here again for all his help.

As others have said, the apartments are opposite the best bakery in town (the bread is fabulous and the cakes are fatal for the waistline!) and the Bonus supermarket, which is just round the corner, has most things you need to self-cater. I would definitely stay here again if we go back to Iceland. This was a real find.

Room Tip: Make sure how big the second bedroom is if there are 4 of you in the 2 bedroom apartments. They have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachluvver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Very close to major restaurants and the main shopping street, about a minute walk or so. It was also directly opposite a bakery shop which to our surprise, served delicious local Icelandic & Danish pastries. We had a studio apartment on the top floor and the view were pretty amazing. The room was cosy with contemporary furnishing, a cosy armchair and DVDs for cloudy nights (when northern light tours get cancelled).

The kitchenette I would say, was decent. There were basics you would need for basic breakfast cooking and a nice cup of tea. There was even a little coffeepot to brew your own cuppa. The only thing I'd say is, the tap water does smell strongly of Sulphur, but I suppose that is the same everywhere.

There were two receptionist that we particularly want to thank, Bjarni (Weekdays) & Linda (Weekends) who made the effort to make our stay all the more pleasant with regular calls to touring companies and patiently explaining the location and the 'what-to-dos' in Reykjavik.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have a pretty view, but would best be avoided if you have heavy luggages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jammiedodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We visited for a long weekend during the Iceland Airwaves music festival and our little one-bedroomed apartment was the perfect base. We were within easy walking distance of all the venues, plus shops, restaurants, swimming pool and of course the lovely bakery across the road. Even though the location is so central there was never any problem with noise, which I had been a little concerned about during such a full-on partying event.
The flat was warm, the bed was very comfortable and the kitchen was well equipped for making basic meals. There was also a great sound and TV system. Also the staff were charming and helpful.
Would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spiggiewiggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
986 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
545 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel

Property: Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Address: Bergstadastraeti 12, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reykjavik4you Apartments offer great accommodation in Iceland in twenty new apartments in city center of Reykjavik. The apartments are fully furnished with fully equipped kitchen, with towels, bathrobes, slippers and linens. All the apartments have flat screen TV, DVD and iPod dock and hi-fi internet connection. Reykjavik4you Apartments is a small family company with personal service. If you need to rent a car in Iceland, we can offer you a comfortable car rental service that car will waiting for you in the free parking area at the hotel. We offer also our guests free booking service for Day Tour in Iceland. All our guests will have the option of the services to be picked-up at the hotel in start of the trip and returned there in end of the trip. If you are looking for a hotel in Reykjavik or home away from home in Iceland, Reykjavik4you Apartments is the perfect choice for you and you family on your journey to Reykjavik. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing