We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location better than expected”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Preliminary note: my family (4 of us) stayed at the deluxe 2-bedroom apartments at Laugavegur 85 - not at the main location. Google maps mislabels the location of Laugavegur 85 as east of Noatun - the apartments are located near Baronsstigur (much closer to downtown - nice treat).

We spent two nights here on a stopover back from Norway. Late plane meant we didn't get to check in until 1am. The proprietor was responsive and drove us to the apartments as soon as he returned from another guest delivery. That was the extent of our interactions - the satellite location of the apartments means you are very much on your own. That was fine with us - we weren't looking for concierge services or late night front desk assistance.

The apartments really are deluxe - something that would probably go for over $3000/month in San Francisco. The WiFi was specific to our apartment (quite fast) and the inclusion of an Iceland cell phone was a very nice touch - turned out to be critical for resolving our airport return problems. The bedrooms were at the back of the unit and were blessedly quiet (I'm a terrible sleeper, so this is one of my top 5 factors). The beds are comfy, though the second bedroom is a bit narrow (accommodating only the bed in its width - so no nightstands - but the window sill a fine substitute).

The hot water has a very high sulfur content and we couldn't use the water for tea/coffee on the first morning (which made me think there should be some starter water in the refrigerator) but then we learned that all of Iceland gets separately piped hot and cold water by the local utility. The cold water is delicious.

The 11am checkout time is reasonable (though I think a bit early for Europe) but complicates airport transfers because checkout is accomplished by locking the door and dropping the key in a drop box - but then you have no place to put your baggage (as you would in a normal hotel) while you wait for your transport. Also, nothing in Reykjavik opens before 9am and few things are open before 10am, so take advantage of the nearby grocery store if you eat breakfast reasonably early.

Room Tip: Deluxe 2-bedroom apartments are exceptionally quiet, have blackout curtains (midnight sun anyone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    141
    20
    2
    1
See reviews for
218
331
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Location alone would make a good reason to stay here. Outstanding proximity to everything. Throw in accomodative staff, clean apartments with every conceivable amenity, and you have several other good reasons to jump all over that ''book now'' button. We had the apartment above the reception office. It was light and airy, quiet (as set back from the street) and had everything we needed. Everything that was except Wifi which for some reason we couldn't get to work. Gvien we both work in the wifi industry it wasn't through lack of knowledge either ! Our two nights there were a delight and we wouldn't hesitate a moment in re-booking.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nw05250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Booked our stay online, as these apartments had good reviews. We weren't disappointed.

The location is excellent, very central in Reykjavik, walking distance from all sites. It is close to a lot of restaurants, across the street from a bakery and a block away from Bonus a cheap supermarket.

Rooms are modern, clean and fully worth the price. They have a clean and modern kitchen and bathroom, a flat screen tv with a dvd player (loads of dvds available at the reception). A mobile phone, charged with some credit is also included in the price.

Finally the staff is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alkis_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flintshire
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Had 4 nights here late June and they are good.i can only endorse previous reviewers excellent comments.location,reception,bathroom,bedroom,lounge all lovely,bakery across,supermarket around the corner,lots of bars,restaurants,pizza take away close by.reception staff so helpful.We arrived from uk at 9am so took flybus to Bluelagoon and stayed there till 3pm.fab experience and a must do even if a little expensive.Buy your ticket online it will save you loads of time as you have a separate queue and get thro quickly.jumped on the next flybus into town and they quickly transferred us to the apartments.We booked 2 all day tours thro reception both on the small coaches.we did the golden circle and South Island tours.both excellent and much preferred the intimacy of these small groups.we also did whale watching but only saw porpoises.The sea was very rough but we really enjoyed it and wetproofs were provided which kept us lovely and warm so we were able to stay outside the whole time.there were only 30 of is on the 1pm trip but there had been 130 on the 9am trip and i think that would have been cramped and made it difficult to get a good viewing spot.Great holiday and great apartments .Iceland is an all action break as the trips are longish as there is a fair bit of travelling to do but it had to be one of the best holidays ever.thank you easyjet for starting direct flights.To be picky would have liked some satellite channels on the tv and a safe for the passports would be nice .still giving 10 out of 10 though.Be aware Iceland is not cheap but it's well worth it.

Room Tip: We had the one bedroom appartment for 2 of us .well worth it for the separate bedroom.no lift so if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ritchieFlintshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed at one of the apartments for one friday night to explore the city.
The apartment was in incredible condition and very, very nice (I wish I could own a place like this)
The location is amazing all important places in Reykjavik are in walking distance. The APT is lofty and has minimal 'nordic' interior. Everything felt brand new. You have an elevator and 24/hour mart down the block.

I'd go there again anytime.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeShouldGoNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khan.anisha@yahoo.com
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Stayed at this very centrally located studio apartment in downtown Reykjavik. Everything was within walking distance - excellent bakery across the road, convenient stores on Laugavegar Rd, few halal restaurants, etc. Great stay and will highly recommend.

Room Tip: Opt for 4th floor apartment - less noisy. But no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fabulosity73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Had a wonderful stay at the Reyjkavik4you apartments. The rooms were very clean, fully furnished with everything you could possibly need, including pots/pans/silverware etc. They even gave us a cell phone to make local calls! It really felt like a home away from home. One of the nights we didn't wanna walk to get dinner since it was cold, and the guy at the front desk (I apologize, don't remember his name) happily offered to give us a ride to the restaurant. We tried to say no since he was the only one at the reception, and he wouldn't have it. He LEFT the front desk unmanned, just to drop us off. I mean who does that anymore! I have absolutely so hesitation is recommending this place. My husband and I travel a lot, and this was probably the most hospitable stay we've ever had. Also, there's an amazing bakery across the street, and the apartments are walking distance from awesome restaurants and bars. Iceland was probably our favorite vacation, despite the cold. And I HATE the cold!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
573 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,660 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel

Property: Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Address: Bergstadastraeti 12, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reykjavik4you Apartments offer great accommodation in Iceland in twenty new apartments in city center of Reykjavik. The apartments are fully furnished with fully equipped kitchen, with towels, bathrobes, slippers and linens. All the apartments have flat screen TV, DVD and iPod dock and hi-fi internet connection. Reykjavik4you Apartments is a small family company with personal service. If you need to rent a car in Iceland, we can offer you a comfortable car rental service that car will waiting for you in the free parking area at the hotel. We offer also our guests free booking service for Day Tour in Iceland. All our guests will have the option of the services to be picked-up at the hotel in start of the trip and returned there in end of the trip. If you are looking for a hotel in Reykjavik or home away from home in Iceland, Reykjavik4you Apartments is the perfect choice for you and you family on your journey to Reykjavik. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing